We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Reviewing 'Baan Phu Lae' Lanta, Thailand.”
Review of Baan Phu Lae

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Baan Phu Lae
Ranked #31 of 146 Ko Lanta B&B and Inns
Phuket, Thailand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Reviewing 'Baan Phu Lae' Lanta, Thailand.”
Reviewed January 14, 2012

Never have I stayed at a hotel quite like Baan Phulae, the staff are very friendly, and you are Going To come to know them by name in no time. The rooms are a few steps from the beach, to Give you a feeling of being away from civilization. And I must say, that when staying at Phu Lae, You are quite literally away from civilization. The only ambient noises to be heard are the birds Up in the mountains, chirping away in the morning. And lets not forget the very loud insects, I've Never heard anything quite like it, it is annoying at night without doubt, however you're not Going To hear it from the confines of your thatched room. It may sound unappealing, but don't Let that cloud your judgement. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone.

Room Tip: If you want air conditioning, then opt for one of the mountain suites. If you want to feel a little...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

172 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    95
    41
    16
    7
    13
See reviews for
30
100
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed December 16, 2011

This resort was so lovely that instead of staying for our intended couple of days we extended it to 8 days. It really is hard to leave here, the staff are so friendly, the food excellent, our accomodation was a few steps from the beach (great bed), and the setting is just beautiful.

It's a quiet and relaxing atmosphere, lots of space on the beach as there are only 3 quiet resorts here. Watch the amazing sunsets from the comfortable decking after having eaten a delicious meal... Bliss.

We definately want to come back here!!

Room Tip: If you don't mind not having air conditioning (i prefer a fan) then stay in the lovely bungalows...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RimaLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macclesfield, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed December 6, 2011

Overall a marvelous place to relax. The food was outstanding. Service informal, helpful and very friendly. Setting spectacular. The only negative was the accommodation which could do with some internal basic maintenance and TLC.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roger S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2011

We thoroughly loved our stay at this beautiful location! They offer a free transfer to/from the ferry terminal and after arriving just looking at the reception and dining area was enough to relax us! The beach that Baan Phu Lae is on is stunning, it's right on the southern tip of Lanta so is very chilled and sometimes you have the beach almost to yourself. The food is lovely and offers a host of thai & european options to suit all palettes, awesome fruit shakes & amazing fish top the bill. Our room was basic but catered perfectly for our needs. The staff were friendly and very helpful providing local knowledge on things to do & see. For the price this destination offers everything you want and need from koh lanta. A chilled and relaxed atmosphere, great location, food (specials of sizzling wipping tiger beef & whole white snapper in red curry sauce) and friendly staff on a beautiful beach at a reasonable price (the neighbouring resorts on the same beach are double). The decking area overlooking the beach is the perfect space to enjoy cocktails looking out at the sunset!

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SlaterFloyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
1 review
Reviewed November 14, 2011

I was really desapointed with this hotel. It is clean, and looks nice but it is really overpriced. Allthought it is located at the last south beach in Ko Lanta, and there is nothing more apart 2 other resorts, there is no possibility to get anything else as the producta and service from the bar and restaueant. Drinks and food, are good but overpriced. Here everything costs 3 to 4 times more than a notmql price in Thailand. There isn't even a small fridge in none of the bungalows. I thinl this should be a minimum service for a room that costs over 25 €.
Bungalows at beach don't have hot water. They just make and clean your room one day out of three. I think a room for this price should be done every day.
Staff is friendly just first day you arrive. If you want to leave the resort you have to rent a moto. Just don't rent a moto from them. We payed 300 Baht/day when you normally can get a motorbike for 100 Bath/day.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VSB_1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
43 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2011

We had searched and searched in and around Krabi for a place to enjoy the true Thai island experience -of beach, sun, relaxation, snorkelling, swimming, delicious Thai cooking, fresh fish and seafood, friendly service and clean and inexpensive accommodation -and we struck GOLD with Baan Phu Lae Resort on Koh Lanta Yai. We had stayed on the island 14 years earlier, at a remote hideaway -which turned out to be the next beach to ours, towards Baan Sala Dan. That quaint and rustic spot is now a bustling luxury resort, and where there were bamboo huts there are now concrete bunkers -and where we enjoyed the catch of the day straight from the fishermen's boats, there was a gigantic dining pavilion. But back at our delightful Baan Phu Lae, we got all of what we loved from our earlier visit -and more! There are the requisite thatch huts close to the beach, and 4 A/C deluxe bungalows in 2 semi-detached buildings a few steps up the hill from the Main building. Everything was clean and well-attended to, and we enjoyed relaxing on our porch whenever we weren't in the restaurant marvelling at the food and drinks! The manager (and Head Chef) Panop -'Pop' and his fantastic staff -to name the ones we remember: Moti, Kan, Musa, Poon, Joop, and the incredible chef Aan -are all so much fun -and the FOOD is fantastic, some of the best we've had anywhere! And like we remembered from so many years ago, every day there was a display of fresh fish and seafood -and lucky us, their preparations and sauces were AMAZING! For a mere pittance we enjoyed butterfish, grilled squid and young tuna, King prawns, delicious noodle dishes, flambéed fruits, and numerous special blender drinks by Moti and the bar staff. On a break from the hot sun and sand, we could enjoy one of his 'spa drinks' -some made with with yogourt, and various exotic ingredients like rosewater, lemongrass, fresh pineapple or other fruit. And always with a beautiful garnish of fruit or exotic edible leaf.

In the evenings, we were content to simply kick back and lie on the beach after dinner and gaze at the upside-down Southern Sky -but on many a night, Musa and some of the other staff did a fire dance on the moonlit beach -so magical, incredible and unexpected. And while they were all working and toiling while we sunned, drank, ate and relaxed, they would check on us, see if we needed anything -and never complained or were surly -a sure sign of a well-run establishment, with happy and contented staff. Definitely a place we hope to return to -and can heartily recommend!

Room Tip: Tell the staff what you want, whether it's simple and basic fan room, or the deluxe with A/C
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank calvinoTO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leiden, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2011

We stayed here for five days and had a great relaxed time. The food is excellent, the staff is helpful. The bungalows are basic but good value for money.
The beach is lovely but rocky here and there when the tide is low. However, it's always possible to swim at certain places.
Baan Phu Lae is on the southern tip of Koh Lanta, at the end of a bumpy rocky road. Therefore, it is much more quiet than the rest of Lanta.
Baan Phu Lae can organise elephant rides, which is good fun if you're travelling with children.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stanhaas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ko Lanta hotels
0.3 mi away
Bamboo Bay Resort
Bamboo Bay Resort
#48 of 84 in Ko Lanta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 100 reviews
0.5 mi away
LaLaanta Hideaway Resort
LaLaanta Hideaway Resort
#20 of 84 in Ko Lanta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 667 reviews
1.2 mi away
Baan Laanta Resort & Spa
Baan Laanta Resort & Spa
#55 of 84 in Ko Lanta
3.5 of 5 bubbles 214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Kantiang Oasis Resort & Spa
0.1 mi away
Sun Moon Bungalows
Sun Moon Bungalows
#149 of 210 in Ko Lanta
3.0 of 5 bubbles 56 reviews
0.0 mi away
Klong Jark Bungalows
Klong Jark Bungalows
#72 of 210 in Ko Lanta
3.5 of 5 bubbles 63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Baan Phu Lae? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baan Phu Lae

Property: Baan Phu Lae
Address: Maipai bay, Ko Lanta 81150, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Krabi Province > Ko Lanta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 146 B&Bs / Inns in Ko Lanta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
Baan Phu Lae Hotel Ko Lanta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing