We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very good but not excellent!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
LaLaanta Hideaway Resort
Ranked #20 of 84 Hotels in Ko Lanta
Certificate of Excellence
Essex
Level Contributor
52 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Very good but not excellent!”
Reviewed November 24, 2010

It is what it says on the tin, a hideaway. As such it has its positives and negatives.

If you are looking for polished 5* resort go to Pimalai, but if roughness around the edges doesn't botter you then this is the place for you.

Location: in the middle of nowhere, you need their transfer service. There is only a couple of other small B&B's on the beach so it is always very quiet and sometimes feels deserted.

Food: good quality, arrives very quickly (sometimes too quick as it makes you think it's a microwave packet food job), portions are reasonable size and is reasonable cheap. Local curry dishes are about 140-170 BHT. Soft drinks are cheap, cocktails are about 150-200 BHT and beer is very expensive at 140 BHT. Breakfast is awful: coffee is disgusting, orange juice is actually a squash, not much choice, eggs are cooked 8 in the morning and then left for the rest of the morning...

Rooms: for the price you pay, you would expect a lot better room. Bed is uncomfortable, room does not feel that clean. I don't see point in having a bath as it is very rough concrete finish and I seriously doubt that anyone ever had bath in one of them. Rain shower is pointless as the water pressure is non-existant. Temperature is almost impossible to regulate, one minute it is boiling hot, as soon as you touch cold water tap, it goes freezing.

Service: very personal and guys and girls are very friendly.

Beach: excellent. Water is clear, warm and is never busy. Right in front of the resort it is rocky but literaly 5 meters away it is beautiful with no rocks, just pure sand.

Useful info: you get two small bottles of water daily, rooms have a fridge, DVD player and SAT TV. There is free wireless internet. During the stay keep note of what you eat and drink so you can check your bill. Our seemed way too high but cause we did not wrote it down, had no legg to stand on (BTW, it is reasonable cheap so even if they overcharge you it's not the end of the world). There is a free transfer if you need to get anywhere on the island. Free kayaks on the beach.

Conclusion: it is a nice resort, maybe slightly overpriced for what they offer. If you are happy with very quiet resort (max 50 ppl), slightly substandard room and not so good breakfast but excellent service and lovely beach, then book it, you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lehovec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

664 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    459
    122
    49
    23
    11
See reviews for
75
463
13
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Woolgoolga, Australia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2010

I agree with a lot of the reviews, except Patrick was not there when we stayed and i think it makes a difference, we diddnt see any free drinks , and no car available for transport... The elephant bathing was a horrible experinence with a terrified elephant. the beach was not the pretttiest with quite a swell, which was dissapointing, all minor things, as the staff are great and i loved the rooms and the food is great . At $200 aud a night for our room it soon adds up... Koh Lanta is nice but a very long way from Phuket. The ferry was much better than the car trip, although the driver is great.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cb1SandyBeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2010

The atmosphere in La Laantan is very familial and the staff is very entertaining especially if there is a birthday celebration ongoing. The whole resort is a nice secluded place at the very south of Ko Lanta which comes with a lot of tranquility. Big plus is the nice pool area and the rooms are also really nice.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dg0209
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2010

When you're being screwed over and over again in Thailand you arrive at Ko Lanta and again it's the same story... Then we decided to go to Lalaanta Hideaway resort. When we let the driver of the resort pick us up from another resort on Ko Lanta, the road to the hideaway resort gave us many doubts what to expect at arrival. And then we arrived...
"Welcome to Lalaanta hideaway! everything is possible here, we have books, dvd's for your bungalow, you can take a scooter or go by car (just pay the gas) do whatever you want.

Truly... these people really understand what service is. It takes all tension of previous experiences and melts it down to the relaxed atmosphere that goes around at the resort. The staff is so friendly, complementary cocktails, drinks whatever, just as long as the residents and the staff have fun. What a cool place to end your vacation!!!

And the food... the best we had in Thailand (and we've seen a lot!) The place could use some updating and the room initially smelled like fungus. But really.. it's about the atmosphere and culture that makes your stay. Just book..!!!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Drewstah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
italia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2010

small resort, there's everything you need: sea, pool, hammocks on the beach, nice restaurant.
furtheromore, there's quick laundry service, some movies to rent for free (quite old ones, but it's a good surpeise anyway!), friendly staff.
a paradise, very nice and clean bungalows in a wonderful garden just in front of the beach.
it's 40 minutes away from town, so if you want shopping or hanging around for a beer don't go.
the beach is beautiful, very peaceful (we were there in low season, high season should be more crowded) and perfect to relax and reading a book.
reaort can organise tour of the island ( a car with driver just for yourself, the whole day, for 800 bath) and other activities we did't try.
food is very good, served by always smiling and friendly staff.
only bad thing: if the resort organize you trip away from koh lanta, make sure it's NOT with MATCHA TOUR horrible exeprience!!!

  • Stayed August 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ursulaA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallinn, Estonia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2010

We were in LaLaanta the second time and we're the people who say we would never visit the same place twice. And yet, we were there 1 year later. Simply, because no 5* resort can compete with the soul and tranquility of LaLaanta.
Anyway, everything that was possible to improve, has been improved:
- the menu is now bigger and includes western food
- the food is now excellent
- there is now much more staff (and they are all great!) and this results without kidding the most fastest service we've seen anywhere in Thailand! The dishes are brought in max 10 minutes, usually faster, drinks in 2 minutest etc. After LaLaanta we constantly had the feeling in other places that we were simply forgotten - but now, simply the service was normal Thai slow everywhere else.
- there is now a massage at the beach
- free transportation to town
There were several other guests there who were returning guests. I don't think you can find that anywhere else in Thailand, but then again - I haven't seen or heard of another place where there would be such amazing people. We will be back again too!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Spokk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tromsø, Norway
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2010

La Laanta hideaway resort is amazing! Beautiful location and beach. Chilledout and hidden away from the mass tourism. The staff is the best! Never have we felt so at home at a resort before. They're old slogan: "You come as a guest and leave as a friend", truly is the best way to describe la Laanta! We love the Resort, the beach, ahoy bar, the food, the staff and everything else about la Laanta. Thanks for making our holiday unforgettable we will definatly come back!

  • Stayed April 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Larsaronen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ko Lanta hotels
9.5 mi away
Long Beach Chalet
Long Beach Chalet
#10 of 84 in Ko Lanta
517 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Houben Hotel
The Houben Hotel
#3 of 84 in Ko Lanta
666 reviews
9.7 mi away
Layana Resort and Spa
Layana Resort and Spa
#1 of 84 in Ko Lanta
1,392 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.2 mi away
Twin Bay Resort
Twin Bay Resort
#19 of 84 in Ko Lanta
498 reviews
5.9 mi away
MOONLIGHT Exotic Bay Resort
12.2 mi away
Crown Lanta Resort & Spa
Crown Lanta Resort & Spa
#12 of 84 in Ko Lanta
1,331 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to LaLaanta Hideaway Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about LaLaanta Hideaway Resort

Property: LaLaanta Hideaway Resort
Address: 188 Moo 5, Bamboo Bay Beach | (Ao Mai Phai), Ko Lanta 81150, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Krabi Province > Ko Lanta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Ko Lanta
#5 Family Hotel in Ko Lanta
#7 Spa Hotel in Ko Lanta
#17 On the Beach Hotel in Ko Lanta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — LaLaanta Hideaway Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Artistically inspired living on the most private beach for that castaway experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your LaLaanta Hideaway Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lalaanta Hideaway Hotel Ko Lanta
Lalaanta Hideaway Ko Lanta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing