We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Definitely hideaway”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
LaLaanta Hideaway Resort
Ranked #20 of 84 Hotels in Ko Lanta
Certificate of Excellence
Hertfordshire, UK
1 review
“Definitely hideaway”
Reviewed May 3, 2009

We stayed for 5 days at LaLaanta in the middle of our trip to Thailand and had a wonderful time. Whether you choose this place, depends on what you want from your holiday. It is quiet and at the very end of the island which for the last 15-20mins of the journey is via a dirt bumpy road and this has its pros and cons as it keeps the resort 'hideaway'- only a few others on the beautiful beach at one time but also means its too much hassle to go anywhere else in the evening. It did not bother us at all; the food was fantastic, fresh thai food and some comfort western food. If you want shops, nightlife, abundance of restaurants this place is not for you- personally we loved the simplicity of this place, managed to really chill out with lovely food, fantastic service and great cocktails. I imagine if we spent 2 weeks at LaLaanta then we would have found it too secluded but sandwiched between 2 more busier places in Thailand, Railay Bay and Ao Nang we found it perfect and did everything we wanted to do- diving, snorkelling, hired a moped and explored the island, even had a wonderful spa afternoon at the Pimalai which is just a few bays a long. If you do want to dive- go with scuba fish they are located on the south of the island so makes the trip much shorter and less hassle if diving at koh Ha. If you want 5* don’t stay at LaLaanta, as June said to us they are not trying to be a 5* resort but then they are definitely not 5* resort prices but do offer a comfortable and relaxed stay with 5* service. Thank-you to everyone at LaLaanta who made our stay perfect, its a testament to them that I am writing this review as I never review anywhere we stay. Abi and Ian

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AbigailB_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

665 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    460
    122
    49
    23
    11
See reviews for
75
464
13
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, UK
1 review
Reviewed April 20, 2009

After doing a tour of northern Thailand, we wanted somewhere secluded, quiet and relaxing to chill out. We also wanted the opportunity to snorkel and perhaps do some diving. So, we were fantastically excited when we arrived LaLaanta Hideaway Resort. It did not take us long to realise that our 5 day stay was going to be a very pleasant one.

It takes quite a while to get to the resort (about 2.5 hours from the airport) and the most convenient way to get there is via the resort. Although a little expensive, this is a very hassle free option for a long trip which includes 2 ferry journeys.

We stayed in the Enchanted villa which is the least expensive option available at the resort. However, we were pleasantly surprised with how spacious and comfortable this option was. The room was nicely furnished, cleaned daily and had a nice comfortable bed with a mosquito net - a real must in Thailand! You can borrow DVDs and books should the weather decide to turn thundery, which it did for us a couple of times in the late afternoon. However, if you do get lightening at night it is great to watch.

We were introduced to Patrick and his staff very early on in our trip when we realised that we had lost one of our wallets. Patrick was extremely helpful in supporting us to get things sorted out; he even arranged a lift to the police station and let us use his mobile to ring our insurance company in the UK. To top it all, when we tried to buy him a drink to say thank you, he turned the tables and bought us a cocktail. Now that's what I call customer service!

There is plenty to do at the resort. For those that love the sun there is a lovely pool and a very nice beach. You can take out kayaks and explore the coast or take a walk to the national park which is not too far away. We booked a snorkeling trip from the resort which was a full day including a great lunch, lots of marine life and some lizards. Word of warning though - wear a T shirt no matter how good you think your sun cream is!!! Some friends we met also did diving trips and had a great time seeing turtles among other things.

The food at LaLaanta is fantastic with plenty of choice of both Thai and western food. The milk shakes were gorgeous - we liked the banana and coconut and the blueberry ones the best. Makey was a great waiter and he makes the best cocktails in Thailand.

Although for us there are too many new places in the world to experience, we can imagine other people going back to this resort again and again. And apparently they do! Well done Patrick and the gang and thanks for your hospitality. We wish you continued success with your fantastic resort. Darren and Caroline.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trav31Bug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 19, 2009

My boyfriend and I read about Lalaanta through TripAdvisor and were incredibly excited about our stay. The resort was fantastic but there are probably a few parts of the resort that nobody told us about before our arrival.

Firstly, it is very isolated. We thought it would be ok if we wanted to hire scooters (I have one in Australia so i'm a pretty seasoned rider) however the road is long and pretty hilly and once it rains, its definitely not that safe (we were on verge of rainy season). Because of the isolation and one beach - if it does rain, there isn't anything to do.. apart from watch DVD's and read.. which is fine - but you can do that in any place in the world. A tip for them would perhaps to have some games (playing cards etc) so that guests can sit in the bar and play. We asked for cards and whilst they have a stocked dvd/book library nothing else to entertain.

The room was lovely and great location near the beach - although if you are looking value for money we found much bigger rooms elsewhere in Thailand. One downfall as well is little things like we didn't get water automatically in the room which you do elsewhere.

On the upside the food was fabulous as were the cocktails during our shortened stay. Breakfast was ok - i read a review that said it was amazing.. and we had eaten quite a few breaky's at other resorts and it didn't match up. I love all the fresh fruit and salads in thailand and it didn't look very fresh or well hidden from flies.

I would definitely recommend this resort if you are happy with isolation - we wanted to do more in thailand and actually feel like we were there - not in a small resort somewhere in Australia (we felt we could have just been in port douglas). As a result we actually signed out and went to stay on long beach (near Saladan) and stayed in a fabulous resort - but it was a very different style holiday - not hideaway... just resorty and close to lots of restaurants, tuk tuk's etc.. fruit shakes and massages on the beach every day.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank alexw30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2009

My family and I just returned from a vacation in Koh Lanta and had stayed 3 nights each in Layana and La Laanta which are currently ranked the 1st and 2nd resorts respectively by TripAdvisor. I think a comparison between the two resorts might provide some hints to holidays-seekers to choose one to suit their personal preferences.

The resort – Before arrival, I expected Layana to be a small to medium size 4-stars resort because it has only 50 rooms. However it did exceed my expectation and was a truly 5-stars resort. It was spacious, tastefully designed and provided the comfort of a luxury resort without compromising the privacy and quietness. La Laanta had 20 bungalows with totally different style. In contrast to the luxurious of a general 5-stars resort, it provided a peaceful ambience which made its guests feel free, ease and relaxing just like home.

Location – Layana was rather conveniently located and guests could walk to nearby shops though, in fact, there was not much to shop around. La Laanta was seclude and remotely located and it was quite unlikely for guests to access nearby shops or restaurants.

Facilities – There were only 1 pool and 1 restaurant available in Layana. Though their sizes are medium comparing to those of an average 5-stars resort, they are adequate for a boutique resort as in the case of Layana. It had spa facilities which we didn’t try. Its library was comfortable and well-organized. When comparing to those of La Laanta, the pool and library in Layana are obviously of a higher class despite Layana had only 2 PCs for internet access while La Laanta had 3. The restaurants were hard to compare. La Laanta had 2 small restaurants. The breakfast restaurant oversaw the pool and the beach and made people feel calm and relaxing – particularly with 2 dogs and 1 cat lying at your feet. The dinner restaurant had a sand floor but the sands were neither as white nor powdery as those of some top Asian beaches. We had mosquito bites in the 2 nights we dined there. Overall, I personally liked the breakfast restaurant in La Laanta above the others.

Room – We stayed in 2 Pavilion rooms which were standard rooms in Layana. The room was spacious, warm and cosy. It was definitely better than equivalent rooms in average 5-stars resorts. In La Laanta, we stayed in a Sand Castle room overseeing the small garden, the pool and the beach (We were lucky to be assigned probably the best room in the resort). It was clean and cosy. In brief, the room in Layana was much more luxurious though I personally prefer to stay in the Sand Castle room in La Laanta mainly because of its view.

Services – The services in Layana were excellent. They were subtle and attentive and were the best that I have experienced in a 5-stars resort. (We have stayed in 30-40 5-stars resorts in Asia in the last 10-12 years). In La Laanta, you won’t see any staff to serve you in uniform, and this fitted well to an ease environment as you won’t expect a uniformed staff to serve you at home. Nevertheless, its staff members were always available to attend to your requests and to offer assistances. And both Michael in Layana and Patrick in La Laanta were very friendly.

Beach – The beach in La Laanta was quiet and private and the water was comparatively calmer and clearer. It was in general better than that in Layana.

Food – The restaurant in Layana offered more varieties of food such as Thai, Mediterranean and western while that in La Laanta mainly offered Thai food with some choices of western food. Layana also had more food choices during breakfast while La Laanta’s breakfast was decent. The food prices in Layana were higher by around 10%-20% for the same Thai dishes and this was reasonable for a 5-stars resort. In general, the food prices in both restaurants were cheap. For example, Layana offered a barbecue buffet at 850 Baht which was excellent value for money when considering the food quality. The quality of Thai food in both restaurants was close, though we all agreed that the smoothies in La Laanta were much better.

Cleanliness – Absolutely no criticism for Layana. As for La Laanta, the cotton cushions on the beach chairs as well as on the seats in the dinner restaurant absorbed water during the rain and were either torn or shabby.

In brief, both resorts probably topped the rankings among the resorts of their particular styles in Koh Lanta. Holiday-seekers won’t disappoint to have chosen either one of them.

Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
Helpful?
5 Thank HKSunFish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
Level Contributor
189 reviews
105 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2009

You really do feel as though you are dropping off the end of the world as you leave the concrete road and drive onto the 4km of dirt track that takes you to LaLaanta - (the dirt track is an advantage - please don't change this otherwise too many people will discover this beautiful and peaceful resort). We stayed here for 9 nights in mid-March and indulged ourselves in some relaxation and sun, which enabled us to recharge our batteries.

What a beautiful setting. White clean sand, blue warm sea and very few people on the beach - 10 was a crowd!! The National Park and Lighthouse are accessed from the end of the beach and if you can summon the energy the walk and views are worth it; the resort's dogs are always on the look out for someone to take for a walk and will go with you quite happily. At the other end of the beach there is a bar/restaurant and another resort both of which do good Thai food if you fancy a change from LaLaanta.

The Bungalows are clean, bright and tastefully decorated. The air con is a must and as we didn' seem to have problems with mosquitos we didn't use the net; although we always sprayed ourselves well before going out a night.

Breakfast is self-service but there is always a great choice and it is constantly replenished. Sitting at the bar on the beach watching the sun go down was an ideal way to finish off another day in paradise. The menu for dinner is good and again it is taken sitting on the beach. The night not to be missed is BBQ night on Saturdays; the prawns were just yummy!!

We found the staff to be helpful and willing to give advice on trips etc. if you needed it. They organised our snorkelling trip to Koh Rok, but we never felt that we were being pushed into taking trips. I know that had we wanted to go and explore the island more it would have been organised without any fuss.

You cannot write a review without mentioning Mackay and his team at the Bar. They do a brilliant job making sure that you have everything you need; the fruit juice in the afternoon was a lovely touch. We spent many hours sampling Mackay's lethal cocktails (I don't think they've heard of a measure!!) and setting the world to rights with the other guests. We met some wonderful people from all round the world and hopefully we will keep in contact. A word of warning a late night session drinking with Patrick is not for the feint hearted!!

If you are looking for bright lights, discos and the activity of a large resort then LaLaanta is not for you, If you are looking for peace, relaxation, good food and good company then this is the place for you.
Finally, I would like to thank Patrick, Tony, June and Klong for welcoming us to LaLaanta and letting us stay at their lovely resort. It was truly a holiday to be remembered and we will be back.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank salthound
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2009

If you are after manicured lawns and a sterile holiday complex environment please turn away now because the streams of fans of La Laanta Hideaway Resort would rather you holiday somewhere else as you simply wouldn’t appreciate the idyllic resort that Patrick, June, Tony and Kong have built on Koh Lanta. Looking at some of the reviews that complain about the noises of nature, the distance from civilisation and the bumpy approach road simply makes me laugh as these in many ways are exactly why the visitors to this wonderful resort will be back in their droves.

Quite simply if you are someone who appreciates the beauty of a resort that has been carefully carved out of the luscious National Park surrounding it, offering an un-paralleled aspect onto a near deserted beach with warm clear waters you should read this review some more.

La Laanta is like spending your vacation with long lost family and friends. They offer a perfect balance of service from local people who you feel really care about you having a fantastic holiday. Yes they may not all be fluent in English and sat behind a desk waiting for your questions but that doesn’t mean they don’t care. We stayed here for the main part of our honeymoon in Thailand, 11 nights in total so I think we are well placed to comment.

The bungalows are beautifully appointed and spotless offering a perfect balance of simple style with a few added extras like the stylish bathrobes - Patrick you should sell these in the shop!.

The restaurant and bar are run by Mackey and his team serving up some fantastic cocktails that certainly leave their mark and provided us with many a fun evening making new friends with some fantastic guests that were staying there at the same time. You may worry that being so remote you are compelled to dine there every night, well if you do there is no cause for concern. The food was amongst some of the best we had during our trip and is excellent value for money. If you do want to spread your wings and venture out Patrick and his team are on hand to arrange transport to some of the great restaurants available locally although I warn you the temptation is simply to stay put and lap up every minute.

Last but not least If you are after that extra bit of pampering during your stay make sure you ask about the local massage lady who will visit your bungalow offering an amazing Thai or oil massage for around £10 an hour!

If after reading the many positive reviews you are still concerned by the few naysayers then I would suggest this idyllic resort is not going to be to your liking so do the rest of us a favour and book yourself somewhere else and leave this little gem to those of us who will appreciate it for what it is – special! Thank you – we will be back!

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mediaboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 9, 2009

There can hardly be a holiday destination left in Thailand that doesn’t claim to offer a little slice of paradise. Open any Thai travel guide or hotel web page and you’re likely to find hyperbole splashed liberally all over the page like cheap sun cream.

So as true British cynics, it was with some trepidation that we booked a seven night stay at La Laanta based solely on the reviews on this website. Surely the beach couldn’t be that perfect, the hospitality that welcoming, the cocktails that good?

On arriving at La Laanta, it soon becomes clear what all the fuss is about, even after 26 hours of sleepless plane, boat and road travel.

We could drone on all day about the beautiful, natural sandy beach, the azure sea, the cheap and tasty food, the simple but stylish rooms, the lush jungle backdrop but these have all already been well documented on these pages.

The thing that impressed us the most about our stay was the warmth of the welcome from the owners and the genuine, laid back vibe that pervades this small but perfectly formed corner of Koh Lanta. Sure, you can find cheaper places to stay. Yes, they don’t primp and polish the pebbles in the flowerbeds or jetwash every last shell off the beach. Hell, you may even get woken up by some exotic critter cat-calling in the middle of the night. But if our experience is anything to go by, you really would have to go some to find a more restful, welcoming and altogether satisfying holiday destination.

Perhaps one of the best measures of the place is the other guests. We’re normally not the most sociable of travelers but during our time at La Laanta we made friends with a genuinely lovely group of people, whiling away many an hour banging the world to rights over Mackey the barman’s sublime cocktails. Let’s just say the man doesn’t scrimp when it comes to measures.

It’s all too easy to start eulogising about a holiday the minute you arrive back on home soil, but in the case of Laanta, pining would be a more appropriate word for us. We loved everything about the place and will definitely be back.

So go on all ye miserabilists, send that reservation email now. Who knows? You may just find out paradise does exist after all…

Jim and Emily West

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LaantaLover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ko Lanta hotels
9.5 mi away
Long Beach Chalet
Long Beach Chalet
#7 of 84 in Ko Lanta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 532 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Houben Hotel
The Houben Hotel
#3 of 84 in Ko Lanta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 676 reviews
9.7 mi away
Layana Resort and Spa
Layana Resort and Spa
#1 of 84 in Ko Lanta
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,416 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.2 mi away
Twin Bay Resort
Twin Bay Resort
#19 of 84 in Ko Lanta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 501 reviews
5.9 mi away
MOONLIGHT Exotic Bay Resort
12.2 mi away
Crown Lanta Resort & Spa
Crown Lanta Resort & Spa
#12 of 84 in Ko Lanta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to LaLaanta Hideaway Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about LaLaanta Hideaway Resort

Property: LaLaanta Hideaway Resort
Address: 188 Moo 5, Bamboo Bay Beach | (Ao Mai Phai), Ko Lanta 81150, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Krabi Province > Ko Lanta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Ko Lanta
#5 Family Hotel in Ko Lanta
#7 Spa Hotel in Ko Lanta
#17 On the Beach Hotel in Ko Lanta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — LaLaanta Hideaway Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Artistically inspired living on the most private beach for that castaway experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your LaLaanta Hideaway Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lalaanta Hideaway Hotel Ko Lanta
Lalaanta Hideaway Ko Lanta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing