We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Typically Lanta”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
LaLaanta Hideaway Resort
Ranked #22 of 84 Hotels in Ko Lanta
Reviewed August 10, 2014 via mobile

If you're after a 5 star anal enema with lots of subservient factotems then best not to even consider LaLaanta...or even Lanta for that matter. No...not even the island's so called "premier" resort (Pimmelkopf....sorry "Pimalai") is up to true international servant abuse. Similarly, if you are Swedish and have several spoilt brats with you, forget LaLaanta and stay with the rest of your kind further north along the Helsinki Highway that is Klong Dao and Pra Ae. No...LaLaanta is way too out of the hustle and bustle of the usual Scandinavian resort experience to offer anything more than a quiet beach experience in slightly, typically Lanta, dilapidated bungalows with pool side restaurant and beach bar.

Driving carefully from Klong Nin it takes a good 20 minutes to find the very last turning to the beach before the final hill up to the National Park toll booth.

No loud music, just the swish of trees and sound of the sea to ease away the building site that Scando-Lanta has recently become. LaLaanta is how the island used to be. And the local, rather eccentric staff accentuate your delight!

Get here quick before some Swedish dive-operator-cum-estate agent moves in with a digger next door.

Stayed: August 2014, traveled with friends
3  Thank Zardoz59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (671)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

133 - 139 of 671 reviews

Reviewed June 26, 2014

We have stayed here as a family (of 6) on three occasions. In 2011,12 and 13. The only reason we are not staying in 2014 is that we are going back to Canada to retrace our honeymoon for our 25th anniversary.

All of the staff are wonderful - no exceptions.
Chico always greets us like old friends and makes us feel perfectly at home.
The service feels genuine and not impersonal, as in larger hotels. Instead it feels like the staff really enjoy their work and treat guests more like friends rather than guests. The rooms are great. Clean and very comfortable.

We love this place and will be returning in 2015. We love it!

The food is wonderful and the beach location is idyllic.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SurreyImp2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2014 via mobile

This place is phenomenal. Absolutely 100% amazing.
Stayed for four days, and we regretted planning such a short stay as we were leaving.
The staff was incredibly friendly and accommodating. The food was surprisingly good. We felt like we were staying with friends the whole time because they memorized our names and preferences and were so attentive and helpful.
The location is a bit remote, but if you're not into tourist traps and crowds (like we are), you will love this place.
Will definitely be back some day. Till then La Lanta...

Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Inadkap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2014

My husband and I stayed for 8 nights at the incredible Lalaanta Hideaway resort in March for our honeymoon. It was an absolutely perfect stay - I went in with high standards after getting told good things by a close friend, but all expectations were exceeded!

As a honeymooners treat they gave us the beachfront room - and beautiful cocktails at the bar when we arrived.

Room - the room was perfect - it looked beautiful (traditional thai bed), had a comfy bed and a lovely en suite with bath and shower. Our room had a balcony that literally opened onto the sand, and we had a view of the beach all to ourselves. There were comfy chairs on the balcony where we could enjoy our cocktails looking out over the water.
Resort - The resort itself was full of charm, it was very well kept, and it had a sense of intimacy. There are only around 25 rooms in the resort, meaning the pool was always quiet - you could always get a lounge, a good seat at the bar and breakfast was calm and tranquil. The restaurant made beautiful food at a great price, and we found it hard to force ourselves to venture out at all!
Breakfast - the breakfast was open air and most tables look over the water. There was cereal and fresh fruit, as well as hot options including bacon and eggs, pancakes, toast and a salad bar. There were also sweet treats such a doughnuts or muffins for extra indulgence. There was tea and coffee and a selection of juices.
Services - reception was able to organise day trips such as elephant riding and cooking classes (Time for Lime is highly recommended) as well as hiring scooters for a reasonable price.
Staff - I could not say better things about the staff - from the lovely people who ran the bar and restaurant, to the admin I contacted form Australia. Everyone went the extra mile. While we were there the staff organised a special dinner for my husband and I out on the beach for our honeymoon (Thanks Tik!). They lit lanterns and had a table carried out to the beach - and proceeded to bring us all our food and drink there while the sun set. Beautiful! They again went above and beyond after we had left and paid our bill - a true indication of the values of the resort. I left an expensive scarf and sunglasses (probably worth around $350) in the resorts transport on the way to the airport. When I realised a few days later I emailed and asked if they had seen the items. Not only did they find the items, AND post them back to me in Australia, but they refused to let me foot the postage bill!
Location - The beach was very quiet - next to a National Park and only had 2 other resorts (a good distance away). We went for a walk every morning and rarely saw another soul! I am sure it would be too quiet for some, but for those wanting a quiet romantic holiday you could not ask for a better spot.

Thank you Lalaata for a truly incredible honeymoon, we will definitely be back!!

Room Tip: The best room is the Sandcastle room which is right out on the beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HeidiMelb0urne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2014

Second time at LaLaanta and with two small children in tow, we knew that this time would be different. And for sure, our holiday was different but LaLaanta was still fantastic. We were greated by Chico when we arrived with a hug and this really set the tone for our holiday. It felt like coming to visit friends rather than just another hotel. The staff were absolutley fantastic and they make this place what it is. The played and looked after our children with a genuine smile. It didn't matter if they were the cleaner, chef or manager. And nothing was too much trouble. Chico, the front of house person, even drove his own motorbike in to Saladan to pick up babyfood for us. A journey which most have taken around 2 hours return. The service really feels so genuine and not at allstiff and impersonal. Instead it feels like the staff really enjoy their work and treat guests more like friends rather than guests.

For the price, I feel that the rooms were great. Clean and very comfortable. But this hotel is by no means a 5 star hotel and nor does it aim to be. Yes, there are a few things that maybe could be improved/changed. Some lightfittings didn't work, the TV is rather old, a few more bins around the garden would be good and etc. but at the end of the day - who cares? It's almost a part of the charm - because surley we also have it a bit like that in our own home? But I am sure that some things would have been rectified if pointed out, but we didn't feel the need.

All in all, we love this resort and will be back again one day.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TMHA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2014

3 years later we came back and found that paradise still exists on the southernmost part of Koh Lanta.
Much of the staff is still the same and equally happy as they were three years ago (a good sign that LaLaanta is a great place to work).
This is nothing like a big 5 star resort, everything is better and more personal!
We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Martin_Kristiansen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2014

This was my first visit to Thailand and I was looking for a relaxed and easy-going atmosphere as it was my only holiday last year. And yes, LaLaanta was exactly what I was looking for. It's a piece of paradise on earth.

The staff is nice, courteous and helpful. They don't speak english that well, but good enough to make sure that one's stay is unforgettable. Especially the staff in the restaurant and reception were funny and friendful. Many thanks and thumbs up for Chico and Choco ;)

The pools were placed nicely so that one may gaze upon the sunset while staying in the pool and the oceanfront is just a few steps away. Also the food was excellent and the prices were decent so it's possible to spend your whole stay here. One must take into account that the distance from LaLaanta to Saladan takes around 30 minutes by car but I didn't find this a problem at all.

Whenever I'm going to visit Koh Lanta again, I'll make sure I'll stay in LaLaanta for the whole vacation again!

Room Tip: The rooms nearest to the oceanfront are the most expensive ones too. The wifi is quite slow and some...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Henrik H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ko Lanta hotels
0.2 mi away
Bamboo Bay Resort
Bamboo Bay Resort
#49 of 84 in Ko Lanta
100 reviews
1.8 mi away
Kantiang Oasis Resort & Spa
1.9 mi away
The Houben Hotel ( Adult Only )
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.2 mi away
Twin Bay Resort
Twin Bay Resort
#19 of 84 in Ko Lanta
512 reviews
0.6 mi away
Anda Lanta Resort
Anda Lanta Resort
#13 of 84 in Ko Lanta
433 reviews
5.9 mi away
MOONLIGHT Exotic Bay Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to LaLaanta Hideaway Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about LaLaanta Hideaway Resort

Address: 188 Moo 5, Bamboo Bay Beach | (Ao Mai Phai), Ko Lanta 81150, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Krabi Province > Ko Lanta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Ko Lanta
#5 Family Hotel in Ko Lanta
#10 Spa Hotel in Ko Lanta
#19 On the Beach Hotel in Ko Lanta
Price Range: $35 - $138 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — LaLaanta Hideaway Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Artistically inspired living on the most private beach for that castaway experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Priceline so you can book your LaLaanta Hideaway Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lalaanta Hideaway Hotel Ko Lanta
Lalaanta Hideaway Ko Lanta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing