We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best hotel and staff ever”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
LaLaanta Hideaway Resort
Ranked #22 of 84 Hotels in Ko Lanta
Reviewed March 29, 2013

My husband and I just returned 6 days ago from LaLaanta Hideaway Resort. It is truly the best hotel ever and the staff are helpful beyond words. The service offered is personal, not sterile as you would get at a stuffy 5 star hotel. The atmosphere is laid back-barefeet are welcome anywhere, but yet the attention to detail and the hospitality is outstanding. Staff were completely trustworthy and reliable. Staff also knew how to give the right amount of service based on your personal preference. Many of the pictures on shown do not do justice to the actual beauty there. The water is really warm and clean. The two pools are very warm and clean as well. In the mornings, staff are bustling about cleaning the grounds and rooms. The rooms were kept immaculately clean. The food was fantastic as well. Lonely Planet called this hotel "the grooviest place on the Island" and they were right on. If you are willing to put the time into getting to this hotel, you will be well rewarded. A private car ride booked through the hotel from Krabi airport to the hotel was about 3 hours and worked very well. We loved this hotel and it was truly our best vacation ever. This is a holiday getaway at its best.

Room Tip: Any room would be nice.
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KLPMadison_Wisconsin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (668)
There are newer reviews for LaLaanta Hideaway Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

189 - 195 of 668 reviews

Reviewed March 25, 2013

Just returned from a 9 night stay here! To summarise:
Great food and cocktails
Genuine friendly staff who could not do enough, booking trips easy via chico
Right on the gorgeous beach
Infinity type pool with great views of the beach
Fun and relaxing atmosphere, in fact we reluctantly left here after 5 nights as we had already booked a place on long beach for a further 5 nights but on getting there, immediately realised we should have stayed for longer at last laanta so got straight on the phone and went back the next day!! Felt so happy setting foot back here!
Great massages at a fair price
Quiet at night = great sleep
Fun volleyball games at sunset with staff and after dinner darts and chats with pat staff and other guests
Nothing was too much for anyone at last laanta, go there, you will not regret it!!
Really is a unique place in and we lived it!
Steph n Ash x

Room Tip: Quiet rooms set back from beach
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Steph W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2013

After much headache about which beach and island to choose for a few days at the end of our holidays in Thailand, we decided to stay at LaLaanta, because we wanted some down time near the water in a relaxed place. The reviews might be a bit misleading, as we expected some sort of a 4 star hotel. It is not! But it is so special in so many different ways! You feel like you have reached heaven, right on a wonderful beach, where everything is taken care of, from amazing food, monkey watching for brekfast to tour organisation etc. There is no hassle about anything, the staff knows your name after the first night and you feel that both the staff as well as the other guest sooner or later become part of your "holiday family", be it a chat over breakfast, a drink at the bar or beach volleyball at the end of the day. The concept of this hotel just works perfectly and you wish you never had to return to reality! We certainly did and were sad that we only stayed 4 nights! If you just want to relax, nice food, a nice place and friendly like-minded people around you, you better book soon, as the hotel fills up quickly.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank KatBoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2013 via mobile

What an amazing place! Me and my wife stayed here as part of our honeymoon after marrying in koh samui following a recommendation from friends. We are so glad we did. The rooms are quirky, and the layout of the resort is very cool. It's right on the beach, a beach that doesn't get overcrowded so you can always feel relaxed. What really makes this place are the staff, they couldn't have done more to make our honeymoon as special as they did! Cocktails, wine, dinner on the beach, they were brilliant. Chico even put on a show on valentines night to entertain all the guests. If you are into sports, the staff will always be up for a game of football or volleyball, ensuring you are always hydrated at the same time. Such s brilliant place and we will definitely be coming back for future anniversarys. Thank you all at la laanta!

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Justino10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2013

Stayed there for 5 nights in Feb 13 and we were so so sad to leave! We had booked the rest of our trip already so we had to leave, otherwise we would have stayed in Lalaanta for the rest of our holidays!

5 stars is not enough for this hotel, this is the most perfect hotel ever!!! All rooms are next to the beach (the further room is 2 minutes walk). The rooms are spacious and great, but the main thing about this hotel is the staff. They are so friendly, they all remember your name and make you feel home during your stay. We loved the atmosphere so much we had dinner in the hotel restaurant on the beach every night! The food is so good, not the cheapest on the island but not more expensive that what you would expect. The beach is the second most beautiful beach we saw in Thailand (after Ko Rok which is accessible from Koh Lanta if you book a boat trip to go there in the afternoon). It is a private beach, shared with only one other resort so not crowded at all, just great and beautiful to watch the sunset.

June (the hotel manager) is amazing and helps you with anything you need. She booked our boat trip, helped us rent a scooter for a day so we could go and explore the island, she also booked us a car to take us to Krabi as our flight to Koh Samui was leaving from there, she arranged our laundry and helped us with absolutely everything we needed!

Lalaanta is just the definition of HEAVEN.... If you have the chance, don't think it twice and just go there, you will fall in love with the place !!! We would LOVE to go back....

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MimiYns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2013

La Laanta is everything an island resort should be. The rooms are beautiful and comfortable and they are located just off an idyllic, secluded beach. We loved relaxing by the pool, on the beach, on the hammocks outside our room and at the "cozy lounge". We were initially worried that the resort was too far away from the main restaurant strip, however we quickly realised there was absolutely no need to leave the resort! Breakfast is included and we enjoyed lunch, dinner and drinks at the resort - all the meals were fresh, tasty and reasonably priced.

However, it was the brilliant staff that made our stay so memorable. We played volleyball with the staff and other guests every night while the sun was setting (despite our complete lack of skill) - this gave the resort a fun and friendly atmosphere. We loved talking and laughing with the staff and owners during lunch, dinner and at the bar, it felt like we were part of the friendliest, cheeriest family in the world! Their energy and laughter was infectious, it was impossible not to be happy! The staff struck the perfect balance of appearing relaxed and informal yet being completely attentive and efficient, they were so warm and friendly but never annoying - they knew when to give you space. June organised a day tour to Koh Rok as well as private transfers to and from Krabi, the private transfer was comfortable and well priced considering there were 4 of us.

We stayed for 4 nights and wished we had longer, it was impossible to leave! I would definitely come back with friends, as a couple or a family - La Laanta caters for everyone.

Room Tip: The enchanted villa was the furthest away from the beach but this meant it was private and quiet - i...
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SCW_92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2013

During this trip we stayed in many nice places, but the winner is: LaLaanta! If you could give a bonus bullet on tripadvisor, it would go to LaLaanta
Situated in beautiful and quiet Bamboo Bay, some small rocks in front but you can easily find a way to pass these for a swim. Well appointed and simple decorated bungalows and rooms in a lush tropical garden. The relaxed atmosphere, created by the superfriendly, helpful staff is unbeatable and makes you feel home. Very informal, a good mix of clientele, young, old, couples, families with children, all kind of nationalities. A very good restaurant with fantastic breakfast (incl croissants and muffins) and dinner sitting with your feet in the sand.
Patrick, Chico and all other staff from LaLaanta: Thank you very much for making our stay so wonderful and already now we are looking forward to come back!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Marjo S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ko Lanta hotels
0.2 mi away
Bamboo Bay Resort
Bamboo Bay Resort
#51 of 84 in Ko Lanta
100 reviews
1.8 mi away
Kantiang Oasis Resort & Spa
1.7 mi away
Baan Laanta Resort & Spa
Baan Laanta Resort & Spa
#44 of 84 in Ko Lanta
221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Anda Lanta Resort
Anda Lanta Resort
#13 of 84 in Ko Lanta
432 reviews
4.4 mi away
SriLanta Resort
SriLanta Resort
#20 of 84 in Ko Lanta
1,053 reviews
9.0 mi away
Lanta Castaway Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to LaLaanta Hideaway Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about LaLaanta Hideaway Resort

Address: 188 Moo 5, Bamboo Bay Beach | (Ao Mai Phai), Ko Lanta 81150, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Krabi Province > Ko Lanta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Ko Lanta
#5 Family Hotel in Ko Lanta
#10 Spa Hotel in Ko Lanta
#19 On the Beach Hotel in Ko Lanta
Price Range: $35 - $142 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — LaLaanta Hideaway Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Artistically inspired living on the most private beach for that castaway experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your LaLaanta Hideaway Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lalaanta Hideaway Hotel Ko Lanta
Lalaanta Hideaway Ko Lanta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing