We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place, great people”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
LaLaanta Hideaway Resort
Ranked #21 of 84 Hotels in Ko Lanta
Singapore, Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great place, great people”
Reviewed May 13, 2012

4 of us came to stay at the resort as the last part of our Thailand trip and this place is definitely the best value and the has the friendliest atmosphere of everywhere we went! Eveybody went out of their way to make us feel welcome, the rooms were clean and the food was excellent. Patrick the owner shared a taxi with us as we were on the same flight to Singapore and is a top guy, he even took us for lunch whilst we were waiting for our flight. We will be back!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daniel P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

667 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    462
    122
    49
    23
    11
See reviews for
76
464
13
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
scotland
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2012

Just back from a great 3nights at la laanta. Stayed here 2 years ago so wondered if it would be what we remembered. It was all that and more. Excellent facilities, a great menu and they cook to order for you if it's not on the menu.
The owner Patrick and his staff are great to deal with and we got the best service here.
Private beach with canoes and easily accessible day trips you'll find lots to do.
A very special unique hotel with first class service.
Cocktails are to die for too!
A great tip would be to break up your trip like we did with some days in the north of the island Klong dao and then some quiet time at la laanta.

Room Tip: The sand castle villas are a great choice
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bratacus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2012

This place was lovely, the staff entertaining/friendly and the food really good. However, it was really isolated - a good 40-45 minute drive from the port which we didn't realise at the time of booking and apon requesting options for car and scooter hire we were told they were booked out, which seemed a little odd to us as the resort wasn't full and it was nearing the end of the peak season.

The staff do arrange free transfers to activities which is good, we did some elephant trekking and a cooking class at Time for Lime, which I'd highly recommend doing - lots of fun.

The rooms are clean but basic. The pool was great and the beach nice but more rugged than some of the others we stayed at.

I recommend staying here if you don't mind being quite far from shops, restaurants etc. We found it a little isolating as felt like we couldn't really explore the island, but fine for a couple of nights.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HappyCP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marseille, France
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2012

It was our second stay in 11 months, second stay because we felt in love with this "bout du monde" so this time we decided to stay a whole week. We chose again the same Enchanted villa because we think the price difference between these enchanted villa and the closest bungalow to the pool is not really justify. Of course they are certainly more confortable but as we spend very short time in the bungalow it was ok for us. If you have problem with animals, geckos... and if you look for very neat modern room it is not the place for you.
We were very surprised about the very warm welcome we received, as staff recognized us immediately, we thank Tony for inviting us for drinks and appetizers the first night and for organizing a special private diner on the beach for our last evening. The food is excellent, the bar staff is perfect, thanks again Tik ! Wonderful beach with only few people in high season. Great sunset in a nice atmosphere and with perfect cocktails. Because of the new road, we hope the spirit of this hotel will not change.
Miss Margarita and Patrick will definitely come back !!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank patmu13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 9, 2012

We arranged our holiday around this place it is so special. What makes it special is the staff and service. The friendliest we have encountered in Thailand....and the food is fantastic. I don't need to say more just read the reviews.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank moschoppy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2012

This place is special. We arrived to the smiliest of welcomes from Sheeko - who went on to be the most attentive, thoughtful and fun host. We had originally booked for 3 nights. On day 4 we moved out of La Laanta for about 2hrs to another resort up the coast (Amantra, don't go!) before heading straight back to La Laanta. On our return the banana daquiri's were lined up and we knew we were home. We stayed another 7 nights - what's the point in trekking around to find something better when you've got a perfect paradise right there? The rooms were really clean with excellent air-con and the key here is that every bungalow is like you see in the pictures. Unlike other places you might visit (like Amantra, don't go). Apart from the most beautiful setting, private beach and stunning pool overlooking the sea the thing that makes this place special is the staff. The owners Patrick, Tony and Kong are unbelievably hospitable. They love La Laanta and they make sure that everyone who visits does too. Even when the place is fully booked it's not over-run and you still have your choice of sunbed by the pool or on the beach. There's no need to get up at the crack of dawn to reserve your sunbed for the day at La Laanta.

The food is delicious and the cocktails are fantastic, served by the friendliest and kindest staff. Chiaou, Tik, No and Tam made our holiday by always arriving at the right moment to serve us a fruit shake as we lay around the pool. And the evenings were always fun with the cocktails flowing.

This place is special. And it's the staff and owners that make it super-special. I can't recommend this place highly enough. Book it.

P.S Don't book Amantra. It's like Butlins, without the class. And the staff were unbelievably rude and unpleasant.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nic0875
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belgrade
Level 4 Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed March 8, 2012

First time at LaLaanta in May 2009, second time Oct 2011. First time was better, and that's just because it was low season, so not much crowd. Food still excellent. There is a new road to resort :( so no more excitement riding 3 km off road. Laid back paradise?... you know where you'll find it.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank putnici011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ko Lanta hotels
9.5 mi away
Long Beach Chalet
Long Beach Chalet
#7 of 84 in Ko Lanta
549 reviews
12.2 mi away
Twin Bay Resort
Twin Bay Resort
#19 of 84 in Ko Lanta
507 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Houben Hotel ( Adult Only )
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.5 mi away
Lazy Days Bungalows
Lazy Days Bungalows
#9 of 84 in Ko Lanta
183 reviews
4.4 mi away
SriLanta Resort
SriLanta Resort
#22 of 84 in Ko Lanta
1,016 reviews
5.9 mi away
MOONLIGHT Exotic Bay Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to LaLaanta Hideaway Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about LaLaanta Hideaway Resort

Property: LaLaanta Hideaway Resort
Address: 188 Moo 5, Bamboo Bay Beach | (Ao Mai Phai), Ko Lanta 81150, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Krabi Province > Ko Lanta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Ko Lanta
#5 Family Hotel in Ko Lanta
#7 Best Value Hotel in Ko Lanta
#8 Spa Hotel in Ko Lanta
#18 On the Beach Hotel in Ko Lanta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — LaLaanta Hideaway Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Artistically inspired living on the most private beach for that castaway experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your LaLaanta Hideaway Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lalaanta Hideaway Hotel Ko Lanta
Lalaanta Hideaway Ko Lanta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing