We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Biggest negative= POOR POOR POOR customer service!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Lanta New Beach Bungalows
Ranked #80 of 84 Hotels in Ko Lanta
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Biggest negative= POOR POOR POOR customer service!”
Reviewed February 10, 2013 via mobile

We booked for 2 nights via agoda only when we arrived they said they had no rooms and that there was a connection error with agoda thus the confirmation was given despite having no rooms. They then sent us to another hotel for the first night which was very far from everything and the beach at the hotel was horrible. We were told we would have a buffet breakfast but in the morning they told us it would be 200 baht refusing to accept they told us it was included. The second night we were taken back to lanta beach hotel for the night. Upon check out we asked if it were ok to check out 1 hour later as our transport to the pier was at 12 check out was 11. The hostess said no but once remained of our problems on check in they told us it were ok to keep the 2 rooms we ha booked until 12. At 1115 my friend was abused in front of other guests by the hostess as she wanted us all out only into one room
Despite saying we could have the 2. The restaurant on 2 occasions charged us for items on the menu that we didn't order or were already part of the breakfast package we ordered. All in all it's a nice hotel but shame about the disorganisation and lack of sympathy from staff!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Danrus84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

192 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    34
    40
    31
    72
See reviews for
20
82
14
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lockington, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2013

The bungalows are ok ,but have no power points in them ,and only get serviced every second day ,the pools are nice ,but the staff are so rude ,they speak to you like you are a piece of rubbish ,location is out of town so you have to hire a motor bike or tuk tuk . Restaurants up the street have nice local people running them .As a family we wouldn't stay here again ,because of the rude and arrogant staff .

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Yvette M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Ko Lanta hotels

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2012

I am standing outside of this place now. They will not give us our room. Instead they are trying to make us pay extra for some dinner we are not interested in attending. They will not refund our money either. On top of all of this, they have been yelling at us and generally acting completely unprofessional. I do not usually write reviews, but this one is so bad I had to warn travelers. Do not stay at this place!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Brian5432
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
canada
Level Contributor
24 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2012

Bungalows are smallish, with air con (VERY noisy air con, that mostly works). They are pretty dirty with LOTS of mice running around in the ceilings. They DO have hot showers (that mostly work) and they have no problem providing you with toilet paper if you ask! The mini fridge is nice for keeping bottled water ect cold. The TVs have an english channel that shows lots of movies which is a miracle when you are sick and just want to chill!!

The staff are very kind, and the view from the bar / restautant area is AMAZING! It's true, the western food is absolutley brutal but the thai food is good, and priced decently. We did get sick from something, but it might not have been here... it's hard to say.

The pool is kinda icky but the beach is lovely.... you can't really "swim" because it's VERY rocky, but walk down the beach aways and it gets better.

You can rent a scooter for next to nothing and take the short drive into town. The laundry service at the hotel is great.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carleen1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eltville am Rhein, Germany
Level Contributor
36 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2012

Ok the rooms are not that nice. They're plan with an empty feeling. The beach is beautiful though the secret lies in the hidden beach around the corner, this is stunning and it'll be all yours. The food was great with a large choice of seafood. Why people complain about getting crappy western food when visiting the east still makes me laugh. The pool area has a great atmosphere and is quite relaxing. There's a really cool beach bar next door which is part of the neighbouring bungalows, we spent all day here drinking mushroom shakes and... well it didn't really matter after that. The staff owner was quite rude and really tried to pressure us into staying longer but when we saw the room we just booked two nights and went looking around the island for something nicer.

If I was to every stay here again it would be for the beautiful beaches and the funky chilled out beach bar next door, though on that note I'd probably look at staying there, next door. But if you do need to stay here it's not all that bad though there are nicer places on the island.

All in all the rooms are the only big let down here but with a slight refurbishment this could be a real gem of Koh Lanta

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sk0t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2012

It's a basic accomodation! The bungalows are small. The restaurant is not really good but the view is fascinating. The personal DO NOT speak english. At the end is a good accomodation for the low price and the position right in front of the sea!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cloti12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Runcorn
Level Contributor
23 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2012

When we planned our trip we hadn't considered going to koh lanta, it was only in Koh Phi Phi we decided to give it a try as we'd been there a few nights and as the weather was on the turn we thought we'd try something else before we had to head back to Bangkok. With this in mind we hadn't reseached Koh Lanta at all so we had a little look on booking.com for a good price on somewhere.
When we arrived off the ferry one of the staff "King" was there to greet us and drive us to the bungalows which was included for free like with most places. We checked in straight forward enough and our room was towards the back of the "bungalow village" There was another pool right outside of our room which was for scuba diving training but they didn't mind you going in when they weren't teaching. That pool was a bit nicer than the main pool as that one did seem to have alot of dead bugs in it!
We were there for there for three nights, the first day was sunny and hot so we sat by the pool for the day however the other days we had bad thunderstorms. As this was the case we didn't venture out to anywhere else on the island and stayed within the hotel.
The bar was brill! We had a couple of great nights talking to other guests and the staff were really good fun. The bar is also known as the "sound shack" and they played great music and had some interesteing drinks! The bar/restaurant area was on the beach front and as the weather was so bad they had loads of plastic sheeting tied down to protect you from the wind and rain and it was quite nice to be sat out during the storm as it wasn't cold and they kept you dry!
If I ever went back i think I'd research the area better but was happy enough with the stay for the price we paid.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SSAALL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ko Lanta hotels
0.0 mi away
Blue Andaman Lanta Resort
Blue Andaman Lanta Resort
#43 of 84 in Ko Lanta
281 reviews
0.5 mi away
Lanta Darawadee Hotel
Lanta Darawadee Hotel
#69 of 84 in Ko Lanta
39 reviews
7.8 mi away
Bamboo Bay Resort
Bamboo Bay Resort
#47 of 84 in Ko Lanta
100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Mook Lanta Resort
Mook Lanta Resort
#16 of 84 in Ko Lanta
440 reviews
0.4 mi away
Lanta Emerald Bungalow
Lanta Emerald Bungalow
#49 of 145 in Ko Lanta
126 reviews
0.8 mi away
Lanta New Coconut Bungalow
Lanta New Coconut Bungalow
#8 of 145 in Ko Lanta
126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lanta New Beach Bungalows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lanta New Beach Bungalows

Property: Lanta New Beach Bungalows
Address: 122 Moo 2 | Saladan, Ko Lanta 81150, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Krabi Province > Ko Lanta
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #80 of 84 Hotels in Ko Lanta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Lanta New Beach Bungalows 3*
Number of rooms: 206
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, HostelWorld, Agoda, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Asiatravel.com Holdings, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your Lanta New Beach Bungalows reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lanta New Beach Bungalows Hotel Ko Lanta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing