We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well, it's thialand. it's a decent price.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Lanta New Beach Bungalows
Ranked #82 of 85 Hotels in Ko Lanta
Reviewed October 29, 2012

Bungalows are smallish, with air con (VERY noisy air con, that mostly works). They are pretty dirty with LOTS of mice running around in the ceilings. They DO have hot showers (that mostly work) and they have no problem providing you with toilet paper if you ask! The mini fridge is nice for keeping bottled water ect cold. The TVs have an english channel that shows lots of movies which is a miracle when you are sick and just want to chill!!

The staff are very kind, and the view from the bar / restautant area is AMAZING! It's true, the western food is absolutley brutal but the thai food is good, and priced decently. We did get sick from something, but it might not have been here... it's hard to say.

The pool is kinda icky but the beach is lovely.... you can't really "swim" because it's VERY rocky, but walk down the beach aways and it gets better.

You can rent a scooter for next to nothing and take the short drive into town. The laundry service at the hotel is great.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank carleen1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (197)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

92 - 98 of 197 reviews

Reviewed August 8, 2012

Ok the rooms are not that nice. They're plan with an empty feeling. The beach is beautiful though the secret lies in the hidden beach around the corner, this is stunning and it'll be all yours. The food was great with a large choice of seafood. Why people complain about getting crappy western food when visiting the east still makes me laugh. The pool area has a great atmosphere and is quite relaxing. There's a really cool beach bar next door which is part of the neighbouring bungalows, we spent all day here drinking mushroom shakes and... well it didn't really matter after that. The staff owner was quite rude and really tried to pressure us into staying longer but when we saw the room we just booked two nights and went looking around the island for something nicer.

If I was to every stay here again it would be for the beautiful beaches and the funky chilled out beach bar next door, though on that note I'd probably look at staying there, next door. But if you do need to stay here it's not all that bad though there are nicer places on the island.

All in all the rooms are the only big let down here but with a slight refurbishment this could be a real gem of Koh Lanta

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sk0t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2012

It's a basic accomodation! The bungalows are small. The restaurant is not really good but the view is fascinating. The personal DO NOT speak english. At the end is a good accomodation for the low price and the position right in front of the sea!

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cloti12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2012

When we planned our trip we hadn't considered going to koh lanta, it was only in Koh Phi Phi we decided to give it a try as we'd been there a few nights and as the weather was on the turn we thought we'd try something else before we had to head back to Bangkok. With this in mind we hadn't reseached Koh Lanta at all so we had a little look on booking.com for a good price on somewhere.
When we arrived off the ferry one of the staff "King" was there to greet us and drive us to the bungalows which was included for free like with most places. We checked in straight forward enough and our room was towards the back of the "bungalow village" There was another pool right outside of our room which was for scuba diving training but they didn't mind you going in when they weren't teaching. That pool was a bit nicer than the main pool as that one did seem to have alot of dead bugs in it!
We were there for there for three nights, the first day was sunny and hot so we sat by the pool for the day however the other days we had bad thunderstorms. As this was the case we didn't venture out to anywhere else on the island and stayed within the hotel.
The bar was brill! We had a couple of great nights talking to other guests and the staff were really good fun. The bar is also known as the "sound shack" and they played great music and had some interesteing drinks! The bar/restaurant area was on the beach front and as the weather was so bad they had loads of plastic sheeting tied down to protect you from the wind and rain and it was quite nice to be sat out during the storm as it wasn't cold and they kept you dry!
If I ever went back i think I'd research the area better but was happy enough with the stay for the price we paid.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SSAALL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2012

Budget style accommodation at luxury prices! We were, like others, sold on the friendly ferry guy's sale pitch. Room is damp, poorly lit and smells of mildew. Pool is motel quality. Food at the restaurant is gross, burger and fries the size of a McDonald's happy meal at double the price we have paid for a delicious and substantial burger at other resorts. If only we had Internet on the ferry we would have read the other terrible reviews and gone elsewhere!! Hope we can prevent someone else from making our mistake!! Paid 1500 baht for our room which is worth 500 tops. Terrible resort, the good reviews on here must have been written by the owner. What a scam.

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Lindziloo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2012

This was the most expensive accommodation I stayed in during my time in Thailand and the worst. I am realistic in my expectations when staying in buget accommodation in Thailand but this was not particularly cheap so I would have expected better. The room was OK but the damp smell was off putting I got by this by having the door and windows open if I was about to try and change the air! The pool and sunbathing areas could have been lovely but the pool was dirty with a brown tide mark around the edge and bugs and a film on the top I choose to go in the sea even though it was very rocky at low tide. The floor around the sun lounges was littered with cigarette ends and rubbish and also often beer bottles from the night before.

The staff had very poor customer service skills and so we chose to eat, drink and purchase trips etc else where. My friend and I had booked two rooms but on arrival were told only one was available for the first night. After some duscussion it was clear that another room was not going to be arranged for us so we agreed to take the one room for the first night but requested a refund for the room not provided. WE were told this was not possible and we were expected to still pay for two rooms as the one offered had air conditioning. To cut a long story short no apology was offered and no refund given the male manager was extremely rude also became quite aggressive and offended that we were not happy with the one room with airconditioning (like we should have been grateful) and we were basically told to go if we were not prepared to take the room. As we had already paid we stayed rather than risking loosing all our money but had we not paid we would have left like a shot.

Room Tip: do not stay here
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank IMOGEN H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2012

Got sold this accommodation on the ferry over to Koh Lanta. Believe me, the place is a dump. The only good thing about this place is the salesmanship of the staff on the boats !
I ventured into the bungalow they showed us - it was dark, dirty and stank. My wife wouldn't even enter the bungalow due to the over powering stench when the door was opened. Koh Lanta is fabulous and there are plenty of far nicer places to stay. Find somewhere else.....

Room Tip: Look elsewhere.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Phil M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ko Lanta hotels
3.4 mi away
Lanta Nature Beach Resort
Lanta Nature Beach Resort
#38 of 85 in Ko Lanta
213 reviews
0 mi away
Blue Andaman Lanta Resort
Blue Andaman Lanta Resort
#43 of 85 in Ko Lanta
296 reviews
3.2 mi away
Ocean View Resort
Ocean View Resort
#70 of 85 in Ko Lanta
83 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Lanta Just Come
Lanta Just Come
#42 of 85 in Ko Lanta
172 reviews
4.5 mi away
Saladan Beach Resort
Saladan Beach Resort
#31 of 85 in Ko Lanta
50 reviews
2.3 mi away
Leaf House Bungalow
Leaf House Bungalow
#60 of 85 in Ko Lanta
75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lanta New Beach Bungalows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lanta New Beach Bungalows

Address: 122 Moo 2 | Saladan, Ko Lanta 81150, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Krabi Province > Ko Lanta
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #82 of 85 Hotels in Ko Lanta
Price Range: $24 - $64 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Lanta New Beach Bungalows 3*
Number of rooms: 206
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Lanta New Beach Bungalows reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lanta New Beach Bungalows Hotel Ko Lanta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing