We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lanta New Beach Bungalows
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
Twin Bay Resort(Ko Lanta)(Great Value!)
$28
$27
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$100
$60
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$246
$210
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$84
$72
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Royal Lanta Resort and Spa(Ko Lanta)(Great Value!)
$46
$36
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$27
$25
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Baan KanTiang See Villa Resort(Ko Lanta)
$133
$124
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
SriLanta Resort(Ko Lanta)(Great Value!)
$37
$31
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Lanta Castaway Beach Resort(Ko Lanta)(Great Value!)
$48
$47
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Chaw Ka Cher Tropicana Lanta Resort(Ko Lanta)(Great Value!)
$59
$43
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (203)
Filter reviews
203 results
Traveler rating
22
35
41
32
73
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
22
35
41
32
73
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdirty poolsirish manreception officeswimming poolnice balconymotorbike rentalstayed for nightsthe main roadsunsettidemirror
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
107 - 112 of 203 reviews
Reviewed August 29, 2011

We extended our stay here as long as we could - amazing view of the sea/sunset every night. Friendly staff, including thai massage women. The room was adequate for what you pay for....they don't clean it every day but it was clean enough and everything worked. The staff were helpful in helping us book elephant trekking and bus transfer to Bangkok. Great pool (could have been cleaner). Amazing food, and cheap (all night long) 'happy hour' cocktails. You can wander over to eat and drink in the Blue Andaman next door which we did often as their 'Sound Shack' had good atmosphere, music and a fire show! Perfect relaxation for young ish people/backpackers (not families).

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Charlotte R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2011

I'm surprised by some of the bad reviews. We booked a room on the ferry, intending to stay 3 nights. In the end we stayed a week, went off exploring and then came back for another week. Its nothing fancy, but cheap and clean, well located for seeing Lanta by moped, and peaceful. The cabin had a fridge and A/C, and hot water sometimes. We found the staff helpful and the food was ok, although we ate out most of the time. The sunset massages overlooking the sea were great. The beach was rocks, but ok for a swim or snorkel. Better beaches are a bike ride away but that isn't really very far. You can hire mopeds at the resort, people told us it only cost half as much in town but it wasn't expensive anyway.
If you want to try real local food the lady who has a cooking stove and a couple of tables on the main road by the mini supermarket at the end of the track down to the resort is great, friendly, and very proud of her beautiful cat. She doesn't speak English and we don't speak Thai, we got by with variations of "chicken, meat, fish?" and "spicy, spicy-spicy, no spicy?" and her cooking us whatever she thought we'd like.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DancesWithPussycats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2011

We stayed in Lanta New Beach for just over a week. The hotel is in a good location, right on a beautiful beach. The bungalow that we had was not bad, quite spacious, although very sparsely furnished. A table or cupboard would have been helpful. There was hot water.

The hotel staff were unfriendly and unhelpful. Usually the service in Thailand is wonderful, but here the staff was sullen and unpleasant, from the receptionist, who made us feel like she was doing us a favour when we asked her for anything, to the restaurant staff, who brought us the same dish cold, twice. The sheet on the bed was very threadbare, and after a couple of nights it actually tore. We asked the staff to change it for a new one, but were ignored. The barman was the nicest of the lot.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lapechejaune
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2011

This is a crappy hotel with a surly manager and marginal food . The bartenders were nice.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mauriceOttawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2010

When we took the ferry from Koh Phi Phi to Koh Lanta, we didn't have any place to stay yet, but we were hoping to stay at 'Where Else'. Unfortunately, we didn't manage to reach this place before or during our trip. They didn't respond to emails or pick up the phone. Later it seemed that they were renovating the place, so that explains it.

So without a place to stay, we took the ferry and we were approached by a few guys that were promoting resorts. One of them was the weed smoking Coco whose family owned Lanta New Beach Bungalows. They offered a great place for 400 baht a night. Seemed nice, but we wanted to keep our options open. Later on, he came to us with a discount of 100 baht per night. So we took the bait and went with him. We didn't pay yet because we wanted to see the place first. Coming there, we saw another couple coming as well. When we were shown the rooms, they got the first choice. Turns out later that that couple took the last available room during the ferry trip and we got one of the older spare rooms. That also explained the sudden 100 baht discount. The room itself was quite big, but the rooms were a bit dirty and the bathroom smelled terrible. Half of the bathroom was flooded as well. To make things worse, there was also a noise every minute or so of a pumping machine starting. This appeared to be some kind of water pump attached to our bungalow.

We were unhappy with this and told management we didn't want the room because of the smell and the noise. They then showed us another old room that was a bit better. There was no pump noise, but the bathroom still had some water on the floor and a bad smell. But we got a big room with a double and single bed, tv and airco for 300 baht per night, so we took it. We slept great there and the surrounding place were a lot more expensive, so we ended up staying the 4 nights that we were at Koh Lanta.

Positive points about this place are the good beds and the low price. They also have a nice swimming pool and cheap cocktails.
Negative points about this place are the smell in the bathroom and the not so good location. It's around 500 meter away from all the action on Klong Khong.
But the biggest negative point is the bad service and management. The boss (a rather small and young muslim lady) never made us feel welcome. She seemed to be the unhappiest person on the island. It was very hard to talk with her as she gave very little attention and short answers. When I proposed to remove the computer virusses that were on their internet computer (for free!), she shunned me. Complaints by us about the tv cable signal being interrupted were answered by a cold and short 'Tomorrow!'.

The restaurant/bar staff is friendly, but they are not good at their job. They consistently forgot (I estimate) around 25% of our orders. The food itself was good, but portions were small. Many better place in the neighbourhood! (To name one, try the Nemoland or Nimoland restaurant on the same street. Small and excellent! A hidden gem.)

All in all, I can say that Lanta New Beach Bungalows could be so much better with good management. As it is now, I wouldn't recommend it, unless you have a really tight budget and don't want to stay at a place like Where Else.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Benny_Giesbers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews