We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice and peacefull stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Paradise Lost

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Paradise Lost
Ranked #2 of 2 Ko Kradan B&B and Inns
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Nice and peacefull stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2014

Very basic bungalows, but separated from the civilization - in the middle of "jungle". I would say that the price was appropriate to place where we were. On Kradan, almost everything is twice expensive. The food was good and bigger portions comparing to rest of Thailand, anyway a bit expensive (same prices in all restaurants on the island). Very nice and helpfull staff. Family atmosphere. I hope I will come again.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Plysovka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    43
    15
    13
    11
See reviews for
14
71
15
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Fremantle, Australia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2014

A short walk to 3 really nice beaches and really good food = all you need to know about this place. Not too many people on 2 of the beaches and pretty quiet in general except at dinner time. People come from the fancy resorts to eat here but if you are staying you get priority seating so don't stress. Be patient as always in Thailand and you will have a good time. If you're fond of jungle and salty air you will love koh kradan.

Room Tip: The one right up the back with a bath room was awesome.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jarmon79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2014

Firstly I have to seperate this review into my personal City girl inability to deal very well with nature; and then the actual accommodation. On the first point I found this accommodation to be a bit too basic for me. It is a wooden hut type place in a jungle clearing. We had one of the more expensive huts with king size bed and private bathroom. The showers were cold and due to it being made from wood, there were lots of gaps for creatures to crawl in. You could hear birds and other insects outside making their creature noises. All of this meant we found it hard to get a peaceful night's sleep. I think its important people realise what they are expecting on a remote island as my Robinson Crusoe image didnt turn into reality when i got there. But that was totally seperate from the accomodation and more to do with my lack of experience in such places. However the island needs to stay fairly remote in order for it to stay as absolutely beautiful and tranquil as it is, its gorgeous!!

On the second point - the accommodation was clean when we arrived although it isn't cleaned on a daily basis whilst you are staying there. The shower is a cold shower which is pretty powerful. There may be a frog that ends up in your bathroom as thats how natural it is! The accommodation is run by a very friendly couple and all their staff are equally friendly. They are also very helpful and will help arrange your travel arrangements or anything you need. The food there is the best on the island and people from all other resorts come there to eat. Its cheap with a good selection of thai and western and great taste! They have 4 friendly dogs there. There are quite a lot of mosquitos and our mosquiot net had a few wholes in it but I am one of those un-lucky people who mosquitos tend to love anyhow!

Overall if you know what you are getting in for (remote and back to basics with nature) then you will love it here as they do that really well!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Justine692
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkeley, California
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2014

First you must know that this is a wonderful spot to find and the Americans owner and his Thai wife are delightful. We spent three days here and would have stayed much much longer but the weather was not co-operating and our real mission in this part of the world was to snorkel. With rain and overcast weather we were out of luck which is really too bad because the one day we could go around it was lovely....the food here is super delicious and many from the other resorts land up eating here - a good way to hear other travelers tips. I was so excited about the Andaman Sea area but we were persuaded to go to the other side of Thailand to find better weather..this is not the usual weather for this area at this time (end of Nov into beginning of Dec.)

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BettyPeters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
128 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2014 via mobile

We really enjoyed our stay at Paradise Lost and Koh Kradan. However, since we are backpackers, we found it all a little too expensive. It's perfect if you are here for a holiday but if on a budget, it's hard to stick to it. Budget aside, the resort is lovely and quiet with a perfect location close to three different beaches. We had a room with private bathroom (cold shower) which was very nice and clean and had a shared verandah with one other room. The lighting in the room was quite dim but that would be the only fault. The food at the restaurant is good. We had the BBQ one night - pork ribs and fish for around 400 baht each. The ribs were huge and sensational, the fish was ok but don't think it was worth the price tag at all. We had a few Thai dishes and breakfasts too which were nice but also a bit pricey for us. Overall, great place if you don't mind spending a bit more than in other areas of Thailand.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Dave_Basia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2014 via mobile

I had a lovely stay here, the hut I stayed in was charming and clean and no issues with cleanliness in the showers/toilets! Staff are so friendly and the food is good. Nice garden surroundings and right in between the two beaches. I would recommend paradise lost to everyone wanting to stay on koh kradan!

Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Kateyb32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
35 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2014

It comes with a lot of pain to write this, because you can tell that a few years back when the owner Wally was in good health this place might just have been paradise. But now, it's really been lost.

Firstly, the booking system is something to be concerned about. We actually booked 3 months ahead by SMS. Which at the time I felt nervous about. We phoned 3 days before to confirm, and on our day of arrival Nok (co-owner) looked surprised to see us! Luckily they made a bungalow available somehow, but in this very busy season, I do wonder whether someone wasn't so lucky.

When we finally checked into our bungalow, a hornet was building her nest on the mosquito net (with holes), we woke up the next morning to bat poo right on our doorstep, and the rat poison on the shelf and rat traps under the bungalow, was a sure reminder that this place needs a good clean up.. However, you can't hold it against the wildlife, you're right in the middle of the jungle!

We stayed in a bungalow with shared bathroom, which in theory is fine, and the price is ok, but the bathrooms are nowhere near the bungalows! So brushing your teeth, showering and going for a midnight wee means crossing through the jungle clearance (nice gardens) and past the restaurant to do so!

Now, that leads me onto the bathrooms themselves. I read on here beforehand about the cleanliness of the shared bathrooms (also used by the restaurant, a very busy restaurant too), and made a note to see if they were cleaned. And for the 4 days we were there - THEY WERE NOT CLEANED! That's just a fundamental basic service that should be provided. In high season, with the amount of bungalows and money coming in they can employ a full time cleaner, it's needed. They were very dirty bathrooms and the bins too stuffed with used toilet paper were not emptied. You can imagine the insects and things around them...

The reason I haven't given this the lowest rating is I believe it can be saved, Nok works incredibly hard to keep the business flowing. And the food is the best and biggest on the island. It just needs a younger apt manager or someone to get it in shape.

Koh Kradan itself needs to think about a small tourist tax in order to clean it's beaches. It really is paradise from a far, but up close with the litter, it's far from paradise.

Room Tip: Choose a room with bathroom. You might have to share your veranda, but at least you can keep your ow...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank thedonandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ko Kradan
0.0 mi away
Reef Resort
Reef Resort
#1 of 2 in Ko Kradan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 220 reviews
0.0 mi away
Coral Garden Resort
Coral Garden Resort
#1 of 3 in Ko Kradan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 98 reviews
0.0 mi away
Kalume Kradan Village
Kalume Kradan Village
#2 of 3 in Ko Kradan
3.5 of 5 bubbles 223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
CoCo Cottage Koh Ngai
CoCo Cottage Koh Ngai
#1 of 7 in Ko Ngai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 403 reviews
0.0 mi away
Koh Mook Sivalai Beach Resort
0.0 mi away
The Sevenseas Resort
The Sevenseas Resort
#1 of 2 in Kantang
4.0 of 5 bubbles 256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Paradise Lost? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paradise Lost

Property: Paradise Lost
Address: | Koh Kradan Island, Ko Kradan, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Trang Province > Ko Kradan
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Ko Kradan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Paradise Lost reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Paradise Lost Hotel Kantang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing