We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Kalume Kradan Village
Reviewed December 31, 2012

We stayed at Kalume for two nights and had a very relaxing stay. The beach is beautiful (we generally preferred Kradan over the other two nearby islands we stayed at; Koh Mook and Ngai) and Kalume very laid back. You can get your own drinks from the fridge and borrow snorkel gear or a canoe whenever you like.The wooden bungalow was basic but clean - all we needed. There is (on and off) wifi. The restaurant was not open when we visited, but a breakfast deal was arranged with the place next door and was very good. We also enjoyed a nice Thai massage by the 'house' masseuse with a view of the beach. The hammocks on the beach were our favourite place.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lisa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (235)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

90 - 96 of 235 reviews

Reviewed November 20, 2012 via mobile

We loved Kalume! We stayed 5 nights in the wooden bungalow, it was the most relaxing time in Thailand. Very peaceful, laying in the hammock, hear the sounds of the jungle On the backside and the sound of the waves in the front. Luigi, one of the Italian owners Did everything to make our stay as pleasant as possible. He is so nice! The restaurant was closed due to management change but Will open soon. As there is à restaurant (Thai and Italian) next door, this was not a problem at all, just a little bit expensive.. Luigi Also made us some Nice Italian pasta's. The bungalow had a bed, musquito net and a fan. The bathroom is Nice and big, with only cold water, but with the Thai temperature this is no problem. Kayaks are free, you can go around the island. Snorkling is nice, a coral reef in front of Kalume. Try the hammock above the see, you Will love it. Thanks Luigi for making our stay so lovely (and Franco and Mario too)!
Robin & Ilona

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Robinenilona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2012 via mobile

Nothing bad to say. The manager Alex is great, very attentive to your needs. The rooms are well equipped (euro/us outlets) the fan is all you need on this island. The village is central located on the island. Seven seas definitely has the best food but you pay a premium. Beds are fine. Great place to come as a couple or with a group of friends. Spend the extra money at Kalume and get the premium rooms. The others are fine but don't offer as much privacy.

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank dwypler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2012

We fell in love with the island and we’ll definitely go back.

Pro: Friendly staff, free wifi, clean room, best location, best beach, yummy Thai food

Con: Hard mattress (but it seems normal for many other budget accommodation anyway), insufficient supplies for food & drinks (no banana, watermelon, bread, etc. for most of the time we were there - due to low season).

The whole resort/village was right on the beach. The set-up and atmosphere of this place were very lovely.

Room Tip: We booked a Bamboo cottage (900 Baht/night), which was also on the beach. But we've upgraded it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jarrad C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2012

So expect a beach bungalow.

The bungalows are totally adequate. The mosquito net is great and the fan works. It's quiet and the bathroom is fine.

The service is definitely spotty, but that seems to be the trend on the island.

I would think about renting snorkel stuff in trang. There is not much selection available on the island.

All in all this place is a great island getaway. It's a chill strip of beach, not too many longtails, and not overwhelmed with tourists.

If you're there, avoid paradise lost at all costs. The gross white guy owner is polluting the island with generator runoff and refusing to ship his garbage back to the mainland. Don't support him by staying or eating there.

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Neil B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2012

Do not understand the bad review. This is a perfect hideaway resort with a perfect beach, restaurant and nice clean (small budget) bungalows. The restaurant is lovely, close to the beach, the price of the restaurant is reasonable, and the food is good, 60 bath for a small chang, wich is a good price for an island. Some of the staff speak little Englisch, but Brian or Marina are speaking perfect English, and one of them is always there.

If you need a longtailboat, ask brian, he makes a good price for you.

Conclusion:
Perfect resort for couples, on a perfect and romantic and quit beach.

The beds are ok, nothing wrong with that, maybe the resort has new beds, our bed was fine!

Room Tip: Do not take the room behind the restaurant, you have now vew @ all.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Martin_1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2012

I have nothing but lovely things to say about kalume kradan. I have been staying here for 6 nights already and I've fallen utterly in love with not just the picturesque koh kradan but the generous and lovely staff at kalume.
If you take a minute to shake off your former city life, relax a little you'll find yourself looking past the nonsensicle rantings of the previous reviews and just see it for what it is- a beautiful place to stay and unwind. If you want upmarket on kradan, you will have to pay more, a lot more. The beds are comfortable, the food is fantastic and smiling beautiful staff. I can't reccomend kalume more.
Enjoy your stay.

  • Stayed: February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Katesyd85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ko Kradan
5.1 mi away
Mook Lamai Resort and Spa
0.3 mi away
Kradan Beach Resort
Kradan Beach Resort
#1 of 1 in Ko Kradan
122 reviews
0.0 mi away
Paradise Lost
Paradise Lost
#2 of 2 in Ko Kradan
137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.9 mi away
CoCo Cottage Koh Ngai
CoCo Cottage Koh Ngai
#1 of 8 in Ko Ngai
423 reviews
0.0 mi away
Coral Garden Resort
Coral Garden Resort
#1 of 3 in Ko Kradan
109 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Sevenseas Resort
The Sevenseas Resort
#1 of 2 in Kantang
280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kalume Kradan Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kalume Kradan Village

Address: Ko Kradan, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Trang Province > Ko Kradan
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Ko Kradan
Price Range: $28 - $69 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Kalume Kradan Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kalume Village Hotel Ko Kradan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing