We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Niwas Ayutthaya
Nearby Hotels
iuDia(Ayutthaya)
$68
$63
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 14% below average rates

The price you found is 14% lower than this hotel's average rate of $73/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$67
$59
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$72
$66
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$68
$53
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$70
$58
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$62
$57
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ban Sabaidee(Ayutthaya)
$28
$18
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$43
$40
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
$27
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sala Ayutthaya(Ayutthaya)
$130
$126
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (194)
Filter reviews
194 results
Traveler rating
66
80
35
8
5
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
66
80
35
8
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe ownerbalcony upstairsbean bagsone nightwalking distanceair conrent bikesnight markethistorical parktuk tukbudget hotelstayed nightssitting areaclean roomsbungalowguesthousethailand
Filter
Updating list...
98 - 103 of 194 reviews
Reviewed September 4, 2008

Stayed here for just one night but found the owner to be very helpful.

We stayed in one of the bungalows which was small but clean and tidy and really for the money had everything it should.

Was situated in a good location in the town - near to a few of the temples and the main road for resturants.

  • Stayed: September 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank BabyDanger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2008

Had a very good time here. Booked through a Bangkok travel agent and therefore probably overpaid. The guest houses are run by a thai family who were lovely and very welcoming, helpful and the lady Mariam is a great cook - the pad thai was great! She also took us one night to a nearby thai eatery where we got to cook our own food in a group which was a great experience. The bungalows themselves were clean and spacious. The pool isn't big but is good for sunbathing! When we were there they were building new bigger bungalows too.

My only criticism is that it isn't near the beach or town area, and can feel like the middle of nowhere. The family will take you into town on tuk tuk for a reasonable price but the tuk tuk driver on the way back one night did not know where he was going!

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ellen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2008

We chose the Baan Suan as it looks really nice on the website and we tend to be drawn to accommodation with gardens, as is shown in the photos. And yes, there is a reasonably nice garden but that is all this place has to offer. It is extremely overpriced for the standard of accommodation. The bungalows are very small and dark containing two single beds and a small attached bathroom. Everything needs a good clean. The curtains are absolutely discusting and as the beds are right next to them it is very unpleasant. There is nowhere to put anything and it is unbearable to be inside during the day despite the airconditioning. There is a small balcony where one can sit and this is probably the best place to be. And beware - there were tiny red ants all over the bath towels, which my unfortunate husband found out about after they had dried himself and been bitten on the privates. He said their bite was very painful!

The owner/manager is pleasant enough and there are bikes that can be hired. With the price payed for such as terrible room, one would think that the bikes would be included but not so.

Other reviewers have commented on the packs of dogs in the area and I can verify that this is true. I have never seen such a problem with dogs. One night we were surrounded by some dogs and it looked like the situation was going to turn nasty when someone came along on a bike and chased them away. You can hear them barking and fighting for most of the night and they are all around the Baan Suan.

We did not like Ayuttaya at all. Its a shame as there are some interesting ruins to be seen there. It is a horrible dirty town full of dogs. Its also quite disturbing to see the rubbish piles up around ancient ruins and shoddy building going on so close to them.

If you need to stay in Ayuttaya we would recommend Tony's but choose your room carefully. Its worth paying more for the better rooms.

  • Stayed: June 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Been_Thar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2007

I have spent 2 nights at Baan Suan and it met my expectations. The guesthouse is well situated in Ayutthaya while in a quiet street. The Chinese-looking guy running the place is discreet but always willing to help when you ask (e.g. asking extra towel or mosquito repellent).

I booked a bungalow. They are small but cosy, very good beds and A/C working fine. I did not remember any smell or cleanliness problem. And about insects... I hardly remember a place in tropical areas not having some guests in the room, although I always welcome geckos to get me rid of the mosquitoes :-)

The dogs are a general "issue" in Thailand, but from my experience once you show to the dog you can be agressive too, they tend to go away as far as they came :-)

  • Stayed: October 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Joak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 21, 2006

This is a small guesthouse with a few bungalows and a teak house with a few rooms, and appears to be run by one man. It's very well set out and very nice atmosphere. The bungalow cost us B400 and was sparse with twin beds, one each side of the bungalow, with TV, a/c, private verandah and bathroom. It was outside the very small tourist area, but was a good location for access to the ruins and town centre. You couldn't get a tuk tuk, etc from outside the guesthouse though. The guesthouse doesn’t sell food but there is a restaurant on the corner as you turn right out of the guesthouse, which is very good.

The room was clean but had not been thoroughly cleaned in a while. Some surfaces were dusty and there were old cobwebs in the roof, in the bathroom and under the beds. The bathroom smelt of old wee and was very hard to get past in order to use the bathroom and the manager had to be asked to clean the bathroom again, which helped a little but we think the smell is coming from the bare concrete around the base of the wall as it absorbs smells and liquids. There was also an ants nearby as we had a superhighway running round the bottom of the bathroom and we had to keep everything hanging away from access to ants as they ventured anywhere given half a chance.

I would give a warning to anyone staying in Ayuthaya that there are stray dogs wandering around at night, some in packs. We were followed by a pack to the gate of the guesthouse and we were woken by a chorus of howling dogs, rather than roosters! We also had a gecko in the bungalow for those people who don't like to share their sleeping quarters with the local wildlife.

When we left early next morning, the manager went out at 6.30am to get us a taxi so we could get to the train station, which we thought was really kind of him.

For:
- Good location
- Good service
- Good restaurant nearby
- Guesthouse was well presented
- Had a good size private verandah

Against:
- Ants and dogs were a nuisance
- The bungalow hadn't been well cleaned in a while
- No curtains so we had to hang our towels up to get some privacy

  • Stayed: December 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bluedharma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews