We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well established and reliable hotel, very good location, acceptable price”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Krungsri River Hotel
Ranked #4 of 17 Hotels in Ayutthaya
Reviewed January 14, 2014

We stayed 2 nights, booked via booking.com for 1900bt including breakfast. We came by train from Bangkok and we had only 300m to walk from Ayutthaya trainstation to this hotel, no tuktuk hokey-pokey needed … this is definitely a positive point for us.

This well maintained and comfortable 4* hotel (9 floors, 200 rooms) is located on the Lopburi river bank. It is our fourth stay in this hotel since 1998 and, yes, the hotel becomes a little bit older but is still the best of Ayutthaya (in my opinion). We tried out 5 other hotels in the city, but Krungsri is my favorite, certainly if you come by train. For those coming by car : free large onsite parking.

Our spacious carpeted room (7.6x3.7m = 28m², including bathroom) was comfortable, very clean, and quiet at night. Excellent bed. Good and silent airco, flatscreen TV. Bathroom normal size and clean, combo bath-shower. Complimentary : good Wifi, mini fridge, no coffee nor tea making facility. Most rooms have river view, more or less, depending of the distance between your room and the river.

Swimming pool is surprisingly “refreshing” (=cold) due to the location of the pool : right in the shadow of the northside of the hotel. Sometimes there are some pigeons drinking at the pool but never became a real problem like some other reviewers suggest.

Good and varied buffet breakfast, western and asian food, bacon, egg station, etc … Also the daily lunch buffet is worthwhile for only 300bt/pp. And take your diner at the cosy garden restaurant on the banks of the Lopburi-Pasak river (but not cheap according to thailand standards). Or take the Krungsri Princess riverboat for an exciting evening dining cruise.

Tip : bikes for rent near the trainstation (40bt/day); cross Pasak river by little ferry for only 4bt/pp and cycle 1,5km to the temples of the old cit

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ludovicvn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (597)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

181 - 187 of 597 reviews

Reviewed January 6, 2014

Though located little out of the town, the hotel provides good service. Staff are courteous, willing to help and maintain the place well. Breakfast spread is huge but if you are vegetarian like me, beware - not much options beyond muffins, croissants and bread! But you can just walk out to nearby stores to get food. Ambience is good.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cancerain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2014

Stayed there for one night. Tried to take a shower but I found a cockroach in the bathroom ceiling. I called reception and they send staff with spray. After they exterminated the roach I went back to the bathroom only to find another one. And then, in the next morning another one. No one apologized to me about that, I didn't get my room changed or a refund or anything.

The hotel urgently needs refurbishing, better personnel and improved customer services.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Elle_01234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2013

Supposed to stay here for 1 night due to some reason we need to extend our stay for another 2 more nights!

Hotel is in good location! Train station is just nearby. The room was nice with river views and hotel provide free WiFi. The buffet breakfast was good, it was a mix of Western and Thai dishes.

Nearby Krungsri Riverside Hotel have 2 River restaurants, we have tried one of restaurant name Pae Tevaraj Floating Restaurant, their food not bad.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eeyore88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 17, 2013

After reading many not-so-good reviews, my expectations for this hotel were low. However, after actually visiting the hotel I noticed that I was much better than what I read. The hotel was clean & the staff was friendly. Our group purchased drinks from the local stores around the hotel and we were allowed to consume them in the lobby- they even provided us with hotel glasses for our drinks!

The room itself was very clean, but our bathtub and sink had slow drains: so the water would pool after showers and teeth brushing.

The hotel does offer amenities, like a nice pool, a spa, and restaurant/lounge. The breakfast that was provided was really good and they had many choices as well.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tiorys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 14, 2013

I was in Krungsri River Hotel for an international conference and stayed in the four star hotel for 4 days . A nice and comfortable hotel, but prices of all items on the menu for room service were expensive e.g. a club sandwich cost 297 Baht !! I was shocked not to find any tea /coffee in the room in this 5 star hotel, as that’s the first thing a person needs. Just 2 minutes away from hotel are massage places which charge 50% less than in the hotel. The breakfast buffet though is quite filling. Staff is cooperative and friendly; however language is a problem as most of the staff does not know English. I loved using the pool and swimming in the rain was fun. Strangely, the gym and massage facilities start at 2pm, cannot understand why!! These facilities close at 10pm. Also the room has only one, yes only one, switch point in the entire room (and it is not even next to bed!!). So either one watches television or works on laptop or charges the mobile phone!! They also do not have adaptors (useful for charging your electronic appliances) in case you have forgotten to get one. Sorry to say, but overall not a very memorable experience.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kamayani10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 14, 2013

The hotel has a nice cafe which serves both local Thai food and a bit of western choices. It also has an Italian cafe. What I liked about the cafe atmosphere is the live music which starts at about 8.00 pm onwards. The service is good though there may be a bit of problem with language.

Room Tip: The room is quite spacious, clean and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cindybiding
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ayutthaya hotels
1.8 mi away
Sala Ayutthaya Boutique
Sala Ayutthaya Boutique
#1 of 17 in Ayutthaya
367 reviews
1 mi away
Classic Kameo Hotel & Serviced Apartments Ayutthaya
0 mi away
At Ayutthaya Hotel
At Ayutthaya Hotel
#5 of 17 in Ayutthaya
8 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
The Cavalli Casa Resort
The Cavalli Casa Resort
#9 of 17 in Ayutthaya
36 reviews
1.7 mi away
Kantary Hotel, Ayutthaya
Kantary Hotel, Ayutthaya
#3 of 17 in Ayutthaya
447 reviews
0 mi away
Vasana Design Hotel
Vasana Design Hotel
#6 of 17 in Ayutthaya
5 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Krungsri River Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Krungsri River Hotel

Address: 27 2 Moo 11 Rojana Road, Ayutthaya 13000, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Ayutthaya Province > Ayutthaya
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 17 Hotels in Ayutthaya
Price Range: $67 - $243 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Krungsri River Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 202
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Krungsri River Hotel set amid the historic charm of "Ayutthaya." Offering guests an oasis of peaceful surroundings with 202 tastefully furnished and well appointed rooms to ensure every guest's utmost pleasure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Krungsri River Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Krungsri River Ayutthaya
Hotel Krungsri River

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing