We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simple, clean and great value”
Review of Grandparent's Home

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Grandparent's Home
Ranked #15 of 79 Ayutthaya B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Ayutthaya is a great place to visit and this place makes a good base. Get a bike (from on site) and cycle at your leisure round the beautiful temples and green parks.

Grandparents is low budget but very clean and comfortable. The cafe there does good breakfast and evening food. The owners are very kind and interesting to see the family all working together.

Excellent for the money.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 32Gloria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (177)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

53 - 59 of 178 reviews

Reviewed February 27, 2013

Stayed here 2N while visiting the ruins. Having one small window, the room was nice, dark, quiet. And with a comfy bed. The shower left much to be desired having little water pressure and a variable water temperature. The room looked clean, though a bit worn. The location was great; 7 mins walking to the temple with the Buddha head in the tree. They rented bikes for 50 baht/day, which seemed to be the going rate for most in the city. Reception spoke very little English. Slow Internet.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarah C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

This guesthouse was inexpensive and worked out fine. We were on a cycle tour and it is very convenient to visit the ruins and to eat at the night market. The staff was helpful. They arranged a very good boat tour for us. The boat tour is well-organized. Some of the people on the boat from another guesthouse got to the end of the tour and didn't know what to do next. We were met, escorted, and driven back to the guesthouse. It is a large, maybe too large, guesthouse with many long-term residents. The hotel was full and we were unable to pay and stay the day our train was leaving in the evening. They did allow us to store our baggage and to use a shower before leaving. We were surprised the rooms weren't cleaned everyday since we were paying a nightly rate. Overall, good and convenient guesthouse to visit the ruins.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bob S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2013 via mobile

Good bed and no noise at night, I had a good night of rest. Only stayed here for one night. When checking out we could leave our bags. We visited the ruïnes on a bike. You can rent a bike for 50 Baht. After returning sweaty we could use a shower before we took the nighttrain. That was very nice.
Downside: I saw mice poop in the bathroom.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Samhollznd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2013

Good location, but many restrictions
Good thing is this guesthouse is close to the historical park and opens on the main road. It’s cheap and clean. It’s a guesthouse so do not expect a lot of frills and facilities. Seems like old house is converted in to a business. Rooms are arranged in a parallel rows on a single level. Passage that takes you to room is very very tight, perhaps 3 ft wide. Once you get to your room, here is interesting part, they ask you remove your shoes and leave them outside your room! I know, thai houses observe that practice but this is a business and you pay for this room!? needless, to say smoking not allowed, outside guests or company forbidden. No help (direction, map, etc) for tourists circuit. They have bicycle and moped for rent. However, they are bad and overpriced (they subrent those from somebody else); just take a stroll down the street and you find better deals. They do not have computer for guests to access internet. I forgot if they provide wi-fi since I was not carrying my lap-top. This location, is close to the historical park but way from downtown area. It’s not comfortable walk. It’s a small town and bicycle would be sufficient to go anywhere. however, if you need to go to Train station then.. you will need tuk-tuk to the river, ferry to cross the river, and train station is short walk. In conclusion, I would say cheap and clean place close to the ruins but grumpy and restrictive management.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dr J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 20, 2012

This is a great place and the staff is very friendly and accomodating. It's well located (walking distance....actually, viewing distance) from the main ruin sites.

I can't say enough good things about this place of the staff. Upon checkout (noon) I had about 8 hours until my train left. They let me go for a run, then use their showers (for free) to clean up and change for the train.

In short, all the posititve reviews you see for this place are well earned. This is a great place and I don't have single complaint.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joe W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2012

I had a good experience in that GH, nothing special to say, only that it was clean, with a nice wifi, possibility to rent bikes or motobikes, 5 minutes walk from the bus stop.

No problem with them!

Oh, and the Pad Thaï Kai (chicken) is really good there! :)

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeremy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ayutthaya hotels
2.0 mi away
The Lima Place Hotel
The Lima Place Hotel
#13 of 17 in Ayutthaya
54 reviews
0.0 mi away
San Sook Place Guest House
San Sook Place Guest House
#26 of 79 in Ayutthaya
36 reviews
0.8 mi away
Baan Are Gong Riverside Homestay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Ayutthaya Bouchic Hostel
Ayutthaya Bouchic Hostel
#38 of 79 in Ayutthaya
29 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Park Ayutthaya
The Park Ayutthaya
#21 of 79 in Ayutthaya
106 reviews
0.2 mi away
Goodmorning by Tamarind
Goodmorning by Tamarind
#1 of 62 in Ayutthaya
168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grandparent's Home? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grandparent's Home

Address: 19/40 Naresuan Road | Pratoochai, Ayutthaya 13000, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Ayutthaya Province > Ayutthaya
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 79 B&Bs / Inns in Ayutthaya
Price Range: $14 - $18 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Grandparent's Home 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Grandparent's Home reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing