We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely gorgeous”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Baan Tye Wang Hotel
Ranked #4 of 74 Ayutthaya B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Absolutely gorgeous”
Reviewed November 26, 2012

I cannot fault this place at all. We had an absolutely wonderful stay - it's so beautifully peaceful in a stunning setting. The upstairs rooms are really lovely - very spacious and the shower was one of the best I've ever used. The couple who own and run the place were so lovely and helpful, helping us decide on the temple route we wanted to take and organising tuk-tuks for us. The breakfast is wonderful too. I cannot recommend this place enough, all I can say is stay here.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BertievonSorrol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

315 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    268
    45
    0
    1
    1
See reviews for
57
178
17
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed November 18, 2012

very well hidden but once you arrive there you are thankful for that actually
in this little place, everything, i mean everything fits together. the ambience, the decoration, the owners, the pond, the garden, the room. nothing is out of place. you get from the first second this feeling of complete harmony.
i must add that what impressed me the most is to find such a degree of perfection in the decoration arrangements of the place.
only seven rooms, so book in advance!
wow, what a place!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marlon13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 18, 2012

The parents and their daughter who run the hotel are great, very nice and helpful. We felt sad to leave them. The outside shower was cool and it awe really quiet (a bit outisde the city centre so you will need a bike, available for free at the hotel or a tuk tuk that the owners will be happy to call for you)

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed November 17, 2012

We stayed at the Baan Tye Wang hotel for two nights. It is a wonderful little hotel (7 or 8 rooms) build around a lovely Traditional Thai house. This family run business is right on the canal, which unfortunately caused the hotel, as well as the house to be completely flooded last year, with 1.5 m of water. After two months of works, the hotel reopened in Dec 2011, with hardly any signs remaining of the last year devastation. The rooms are not very big but very nicely decorated. The husband and wife collect antiques (Thai, Chinese and Burmese), and such pieces are placed in both the rooms and their house, which gives a very unique style to this hotel, and make you feel like you are staying at your friends' place. The couple is extremely friendly and helpful. I would definitely recommend this hotel for couples or people that want to spend a couple of quiet, relaxing days away from the fuss, in a wonderful Thai traditional environment, surrounded by lush tropical vegetation and friendly people. Total relaxation and tranquillity. And to get around Ayutthaya, free bikes are at your disposal. And I found this the best way to get around the city. I will certainly go back.

Room Tip: Room on the ground floor are really nice, with private terrace (with outdoor light and fan) to sit a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thetravelbee_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
149 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2012

Like others have said, we were dropped off by a coach on the side of a main road where there were some taxis waiting. None of them knew where to go, we waited while they all chatted for 10 minutes then one eventually took us. We had the address in English and Thai which didn't help. He knew the rough area but didn't know where the house was. He asked about 5 passers by and he even spoke to the owners on my phone which also didn't seem to help. Eventually he spoke to someone who was able to help and pointed us in the right direction and we found the owner waving from the bottom of a cul de sac! You need to make sure you have a map from the owners before you arrive.

The place was absolutely beautiful though and the couple who run it are brilliant and the nicest people you will ever meet. We were there over a public holiday weekend and their daughter (a flight attendant with Japan Air if i remember correctly) was home and we chatted loads as her english was better than her parents. The owners were awesome though and we never had any difficulty understanding each other, they were so great and very helpful. The room was stunning and had a beautiful view of the gardens and the canal, very light and bright and spotless. They recommended nice places to eat and arranged a driver to take us (and wait for us!) both nights. We used the bikes to see the sights during the day which was a nice touch. I would stay again, now I know where it is!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Drew213
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
148 reviews
93 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2012 via mobile

A few point to note about this hotel
location, set in a village kind of environment, set amist a greenery and canal. Its located 4km from city. Cost about 60thb per way to the hotel.
Rooms are spacious with modern concept facing the canal.
The hotel is run by a couple whom are the nicest people who u will ever meet. They are in the sixties but very fit in managing the hotel, they are happily working and attending to all your needs though they spesk minimum english.
Rooms comes with breakfast, nothing to shout about simple and nice.
They too have bicycle for u to explore the sites of Ayutthaya for free.
Map and options given to uou when u arrive to explore by the owner.
Tuk tuk to town is 60thb
Hire of tuk tuk for sight seeing is 200thb per hour, the owner of hotel will arrange this for you.
One Important information, THE HOTEL DEALS WITH CASH ONLY,CREDIT CARD NOT ACCEPTED
Tv not much channels, lcd too small in size maybe just 14inch i think.
Overall stay here if you want peace, silence and tranquility.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank swordfish01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2012

We used Baan Tye Wang as stop over from Bangkok to Chiang Mai and we were stunned at arrival. Hotel is located by the river with easy acces to all tourist attractions, it also has free bike rental so you can discover place yourself on a budget. This is only small boutique place with quiet bar area to help you recover from Bangkok madness. Staff are lovely and very welcoming treating you like the celebrity. Rooms are clean, flat screen TVand big bed with beer prices of 50-60B it can't get any better!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
14 Thank milena b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ayutthaya hotels
0.8 mi away
Sala Ayutthaya
Sala Ayutthaya
#1 of 17 in Ayutthaya
311 reviews
3.2 mi away
Classic Kameo Hotel & Serviced Apartments Ayutthaya
2.2 mi away
Krungsri River Hotel
Krungsri River Hotel
#4 of 17 in Ayutthaya
566 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Baan Thai House
Baan Thai House
#1 of 74 in Ayutthaya
748 reviews
0.9 mi away
iuDia
iuDia
#2 of 74 in Ayutthaya
476 reviews
11.0 mi away
Ayutthaya Garden River Home
Ayutthaya Garden River Home
#11 of 17 in Ayutthaya
28 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Baan Tye Wang Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baan Tye Wang Hotel

Property: Baan Tye Wang Hotel
Address: 223/18 Moo 8 Patone Rd. | Pratuchai, Ayutthaya 13000, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Ayutthaya Province > Ayutthaya
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 74 B&Bs / Inns in Ayutthaya
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
‘Bann Tye wang’ nestled within the heart of Ayutthaya. The small family runs resort located in a tranquil valley and set amid lush tropical landscape gardens. It is a perfect retreat to relax and indulge mind and body. Bann Tye Wang is aiming to create a culturally refined and meaningful ambiance by letting the guests experience traditional Thai culture, way of living through excellence hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Baan Tye Wang Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing