We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Forget all 5* and 4* hotels in Autthaya as this is best place ever!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Baan Tye Wang Hotel
Ranked #5 of 78 Ayutthaya B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 15, 2012

We used Baan Tye Wang as stop over from Bangkok to Chiang Mai and we were stunned at arrival. Hotel is located by the river with easy acces to all tourist attractions, it also has free bike rental so you can discover place yourself on a budget. This is only small boutique place with quiet bar area to help you recover from Bangkok madness. Staff are lovely and very welcoming treating you like the celebrity. Rooms are clean, flat screen TVand big bed with beer prices of 50-60B it can't get any better!

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
14  Thank milena b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (318)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

132 - 138 of 318 reviews

Reviewed August 6, 2012

This hotel more like a B&B run by a old couples. The location is good around the river. They would provide drinks, bikes, map and travel tips for you.

You can totally relax there. The view is great whenever day or night.

Room Tip: choose the room has view at 1 floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank ijac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2012

The Baan Tya Wang hotel (9 rooms) is located at the end of a quiet dead-end street along a canal connected to the Chao Phraya river. We got there after a 10 min drive from the train station. The hotel is run by an older couple that is extremely kind and helpful (although their English is average). It is designed by one of their sons in a beautiful mixed traditional and modern style. The entrance is a wooden construction that rests on concrete pillars, below which is made the reception, salon and eating place. The furniture is retro-design (or vintage?) with thai elements giving a very cosy atmosphere. On the first floor is a beautiful wooden room with lots of antiques. Behind this construction is a modern building that has the rooms. The rooms are beautifully decorated with Thai elements. Ground floor rooms have a terrace in front where you can comfortably lay down on a mat with a drink to enjoy the canal view. The garden is well designed with grass, small water ponds and sparse big trees, and literally ends in the canal (which is clean by the way, we saw big birds fishing there). Be aware that the water brings a lot of musquitos too, so bring DEET. Also note that there is a military camp across the canal, so you see and hear them training during the day (we didn't mind).

There is no swimming pool. Rooms have fridge, AC, flat-screen TV, and free tea and coffee. In the ground floor rooms, the shower is outside behind the room. There is free wifi everywhere. We got an extra bed next to the double bed that fitted our two kids.

The hotel serves European, English and Thai breakfast. We had the European one which was great: fresh fruit, yoghurt and toast. There is also a small Thai menu for lunch and dinner, which was good (if you like spiced food you should ask, the food we got was very mild).

The hotel has about ten bikes you can use freely to explore Ayutthaya. We used these to visit Wat Sri Sanphet and Wat Chai Watthanaram, but Ayutthaya is so small that almost any of the Wats worth visiting can be reached by bike. Two bikes had a seat behind which we used for our kids. They're adjustable in height. Traffic can be a bit hectic so avoid the bigger roads. If you prefer a tuk tuk, the hotel can book you one that brings you to several attractions and waits in between, a common way to visit the town (it's hard to catch a tuk tuk by yourself). Rate was 200 bath/h. The hotel also recommends good restaurants, and advertises boat trips for 1500-2500 bath.

The biggest pluses of this hotel were for us the calm and green surroundings, the beautiful decoration and homey atmosphere, and the unbelievable friendliness of the owners. If you're more into big resorts with swimming pools, cocktails, buffets etc, this is not the place for you.

Room Tip: Ground floor rooms are best
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Geitendorpenaar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2012

Stayed here for a day. Owners are very welcoming. We had trouble finding the place but were fortunate enough to run into the owner's sister as our tuktuk driver was asking for directions. My daughter ended up sick after a hot day out touring the temples; the owners and their two daughters did everything they could to make us comfortable as our train out was in the evening - laying out a mat for my daughter to sleep a bit. The rooms are clean with nice views out to the green garden. If you are looking for a quiet peaceful place, this is it.

We also had a meal on the last day cooked by the owner - simple delicious home cooked meal that was very satisfying.

Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
Thank Narayanan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2012

Close to tourist places, very warm services from the owners, clean and stylish decoration with ancient Thai stuffs. A bottle of sparkling wine during a long chitchat with friends at night in front of the room made the ambience even more beautiful.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ratchani_P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2012

This Thai family run hotel is so nicely designed that it features in Thai architect magazines. The main building is classic wooden style similar to the Jim Thompson house in Bangkok and the 8 bedrooms are in a separate but adjacent new block and are of high standard. The only downside is the location which is well away from the main part of town meaning there are no convenient places to eat or drink and some tuk tuk drivers don't know where it is for finding your way back. If you are OK on bikes you can make your own way around. The Thai owners are really nice!

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Prop1947
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2012

My husband, 2 sons and I stayed here 2 nights while visiting Ayutthaya and Lopburi. This is a lovely b&B on a very small river, we were the only guests and could enjoy the garden and the amazing view. The old couple who is managing the place are the sweetest and nicest persons on earth (I was not so impressed by this famous Thai hospitality, but they made it for the whole Thailand!) they did everything to please us. The room is nice even if small. We were upstairs and I guess that the rooms downstairs are bigger and nicer, still we had a magnificent view over the garden as good morning. The best is the garden where you can chill out. They have bikes to their guests for free and it was the best way to explore the city. I couldn't have stayed in any better place (I mean: for the same budget, of course!)

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Iaia93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ayutthaya hotels
0.8 mi away
Sala Ayutthaya Boutique
Sala Ayutthaya Boutique
#1 of 17 in Ayutthaya
335 reviews
2.2 mi away
Krungsri River Hotel
Krungsri River Hotel
#4 of 17 in Ayutthaya
583 reviews
3.2 mi away
Classic Kameo Hotel & Serviced Apartments Ayutthaya
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
iuDia
iuDia
#2 of 78 in Ayutthaya
492 reviews
2.7 mi away
Baan Thai House
Baan Thai House
#1 of 78 in Ayutthaya
768 reviews
1.4 mi away
PromTong Mansion
PromTong Mansion
#3 of 78 in Ayutthaya
645 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Baan Tye Wang Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baan Tye Wang Hotel

Address: 223/18 Moo 8 Patone Rd. | Pratuchai, Ayutthaya 13000, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Ayutthaya Province > Ayutthaya
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 78 B&Bs / Inns in Ayutthaya
Price Range: $55 - $102 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
‘Bann Tye wang’ nestled within the heart of Ayutthaya. The small family runs resort located in a tranquil valley and set amid lush tropical landscape gardens. It is a perfect retreat to relax and indulge mind and body. Bann Tye Wang is aiming to create a culturally refined and meaningful ambiance by letting the guests experience traditional Thai culture, way of living through excellence hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Baan Tye Wang Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing