We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Glass doors, funny smells but great homely service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Baan Are Gong Riverside Homestay
Ranked #15 of 74 Ayutthaya B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Glass doors, funny smells but great homely service”
Reviewed December 13, 2012 via mobile

This is a bit of a mix bag. We stayed for three nights- originally 2 but extended because of service and location.

Good points-
- ladies that run the place are incredibly helpfull and kind. Helped us with onward travel and advice on what to do
- feels quite safe and secure
- good food at fair prices
- location is right next to train station and ferry to the island where most temple sites are. Albeit a good 20 min walk is required after that.

Bad points-
- we stayed in new room downstairs (not one of the attractive Thai style rooms) which had a glass door. This had a curtain but it didn't come right down to floor. My gf found this slightly disconcerting.
- the room had loads of Mosquitos we killed as many as possible but we were both bitten several times
- there was a dreadful smell from toilet when we flushed. So bad we tried not to flush unless necessary.
- poor drainage caused our toilet/wet room to flood first night.

Summary-
Please don't be too put off by bad points it's not a bad establishment and I would stay again but I would not recommend downstairs rooms.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank beattle21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

264 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    105
    120
    26
    8
    5
See reviews for
46
108
37
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
95 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed December 11, 2012

This guest house is off Ayutthaya island, right next to the boat crossing. We stayed 3 nights and loved the place, but had run out of things to do in Ayutthaya. The hosts are lovely, extremely friendly and helpful and speak very good English. The food is cheap and excellent (we didn't eat breakfast or dinner anywhere else). There's a lovely terrace area where food and drinks are served and stories can be swopped with other travellers. Wifi is decent enough too. We booked through Agoda and it was £6 a night for a double. They told us that there was a problem on the system and they needed to put us in a more superior room, which was Thai style and had mosquito nets, and a fan. The reasons this is a four and not a five are - fan was insufficient so slept very badly as it was so hot and stuffy; and the room didn't have a proper lock but a padlock and chain across the handles which meant the doors could be pushed open a bit. HOWEVER, we think this was only a problem with our room, and we otherwise had a wonderful stay here and would recommend it.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed November 22, 2012

I had read other reviews on Tripadvisor about this guest house and was excited to say the least. The rooms are cheap, comfortable and clean. I would call them 'basic luxuary'. The staff are very welcoming, speak perfect English and provide a family atmosphere, to the point that it is hard to say goodbye. I booked for two nights and extended my stay for a further two as the whole experience is one that you want to have more and more of. The guesthouse is located next to the ferry crossing, and the resturaunt looks out to the river, i can't think of a more beautiful way to dine, in true Thai style. I would highly recommend this Homestay to anyone who is visiting Ayutthaya.

Furthermore the restaurant provides amazing food at affordable prices. I am yet to find traditional Thai food that is better than the food cooked here. It is fresh, and cooked to perfection.

Room Tip: Double rooms with a fan are clean, tidy and highly affordable
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Guzenda1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phang Nga, Thailand
Level Contributor
247 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2012

Very good accomodation near the river, teakwood rooms, friendly people. Easy to rent motorbikes, bicycles nearby. Rooms are good value, food is good, but a bit more pricy.
Thgis p[lace recovered from fires around there house. One point: the building from the neighbours, half burned, is still there and that is messy....

Room Tip: Not on the street side: more npoisy and 'bad view'
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gerard M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
176 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 181 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2012

We arrived at Baan Are Gong (18-07-2012). Did not made a reservation. So it was just a gamble if they would have any rooms free. But the guesthouse was closed for reservation after a big fire by there neighbours. The owner was very helpfull to us even now. See made phonecalls to other guesthouses and see walked with us to other places so see knew we are alright.
This review is just to warn people. We took a few nights in grandpartents home instead. It is just 2 minutes walk from the busatation.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank quotas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed October 20, 2011

i stayed at baan are gong on my first stop in thailand, and it set me on to a great year travelling. great atmosphere, a real family feel about and the women that runs it is so helpful an friendly. i also met some great friends there that i ended up traveling with. being 2mins from train station an right next to the ferry that takes you across to the island its in the perfect location. it makes it even better to know that it was built by the owners farther. it was that good i went back for a second time an i will go back again. i just hope eveything is ok there with all the floods happening at the moment?

Room Tip: down stairs rooms are good, but bit more money!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank steven c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ljubljana, Slovenia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2011

Really nice guesthouse - beautiful teak house, big rooms with comfortable beds, spotless bathrooms, wonderful view of the river and life on it. Also great location - only few minutes walk form the railway station. They offer free internet to guests, bike rental, lots of useful advice. They even cooked for us although the restaurant was already closed and the food was fantastic!!! Excellent value for money.
But the best part of it was people there - two sisters runing the place were so friendly, welcoming and helpful that made our stay even better.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EspritVagabond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ayutthaya hotels
1.9 mi away
Sala Ayutthaya
Sala Ayutthaya
#1 of 17 in Ayutthaya
301 reviews
0.2 mi away
Krungsri River Hotel
Krungsri River Hotel
#4 of 17 in Ayutthaya
561 reviews
0.6 mi away
Goodmorning by Tamarind
Goodmorning by Tamarind
#1 of 58 in Ayutthaya
151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Grandparent's Home
Grandparent's Home
#14 of 74 in Ayutthaya
175 reviews
0.5 mi away
Baan Thai House
Baan Thai House
#1 of 74 in Ayutthaya
741 reviews
0.3 mi away
Baan Tebpitak
Baan Tebpitak
#6 of 74 in Ayutthaya
279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Baan Are Gong Riverside Homestay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baan Are Gong Riverside Homestay

Property: Baan Are Gong Riverside Homestay
Address: 48 Moo. 10 | Soi Opposite Train Station Tambon Kramang, Ayutthaya, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Ayutthaya Province > Ayutthaya
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 74 B&Bs / Inns in Ayutthaya
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Baan Are Gong Riverside Homestay 1*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Baan Are Gong Riverside Homestay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing