We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An excellent place to unwind”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Ayutthaya Garden River Home
Ranked #11 of 17 Hotels in Ayutthaya
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“An excellent place to unwind”
Reviewed January 29, 2012

So this place is a little out of the way - more so than they would have you believe! A taxi to the station (Bang Pa-In) costs about B400. But the garden is beautiful and the settings of the hotel are great. Welcome drink upon arrival which was a nice touch and the rooms are spotlessly clean, excellent showers, complimentary shampoo and shower gel, clean towels and the sheets on the bed are flawless.

The only downside is the food. Ours wasnt cooked - prawns raw are not good for the tummy! We had to send the food back twice which was a let down.

The staff barely speak a word of English so make sure you know your onward plans!

Room Tip: The twin rooms are the best - on stilts. Doubles are smaller oddly
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Annika L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    9
    4
    1
    4
See reviews for
6
12
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Long Beach, California
Level Contributor
254 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2012

When the city becomes too much, this is where you want to go to relax and enjoy some of the local site. On the river, the hotel is lovely, peaceful and relaxing. The rooms are all decorated differently and with special touchs. The food is amazing. The service excellent. The owner is very hands on and the pride she takes in the hotel shows in the wonderful experience. It's a great escape if you visiting or living in the Bangkok area.

Room Tip: ask for a river view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank YR-LGB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2011

This is a very quiet, peaceful place to stay. The grounds are beautiful, with walkways and pools and bananas hanging from trees. Our room was practically on the river, had big windows and decent (if a bit hard) beds. The bathroom was well equipped, with the only drawback being a shower with almost nonexistent water pressure. In the room was a packet of guides to Ayutthaya, which proved very useful when planning our day. The staff was very friendly and helpful, especially the woman who appears to run the place. Overall, this would be a very nice place to visit in order to relax.

Its one major drawback is its location. We were misled by the mention of Ayutthaya in the hotel's name, and only later found out that Ayutthaya is the name of the entire region, as well as that of the city containing the famous world heritage site. This hotel is at Bang Pa-In, which is about 35km away from the city of Ayutthaya. It is also not within walking distance of any train/bus station, or pretty much anything else that we could see. You can find a taxi or tuktuk that will take you there and back, just be warned that it is a substantial (30-40m) ride to Ayutthaya.

All in all: beautiful, friendly place recommended for relaxation, but not for sightseeing in Ayutthaya.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank mithr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2010

We arrived and were met by the hotels serine and elegant owner who upgraded us to her best room at no extra cost. A large room built in traditional style with huge glass panel doors overlooking the river. A large seperate bathroom with dressing area too. The room was clean if not in need of a refreshing paint job. It had all the usual fridge, hairdryer, air con etc but no room service. The property had been the owners summer home.
The restaurant is open to anyone and serves fantastic Thai food including their famous grilled river prawns. The food is exeptionally cheap at around 100b or less a plate.
The grounds are like something out of a dream. Gigantic lotus ponds, with old wooden boats and bamboo walkways and the most beautiful pool with fountains where you can reach over to touch the lillies in the ponds.
Apart from the manager, the staff do not speak English and we did feel more like we were staying at a private home rather than a hotel. The property is quite a way from anything so you would need a car or expect high taxi prices as the taxis come out of Bangkok.
A wonderful and authentic Thai experience!

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emrens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
62 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2010

This is a beautiful place to stay and relax. You are only 30-45 minutes away from Bangkok. It's architecture and design is perfectly integrated into the landscape along the Chao Phraya River. We stayed 4 nights (Chidchol room - facing the river) at this wonderful resort. The pool was also great. The meals are cooked ingredients (most of them) from the resorts own organic garden. We enjoyed authentic Thai food. They were delicious and healthy. I felt that the water ponds with lotus flowers make the resort a peaceful place. Staff was very friendly and helpful. We will definitely visit this place during our next visit to Thailand.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AusiTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ayutthaya hotels
10.4 mi away
Sala Ayutthaya
Sala Ayutthaya
#1 of 17 in Ayutthaya
4.5 of 5 bubbles 298 reviews
11.7 mi away
Classic Kameo Hotel & Serviced Apartments Ayutthaya
11.4 mi away
Krungsri River Hotel
Krungsri River Hotel
#4 of 17 in Ayutthaya
3.5 of 5 bubbles 558 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.3 mi away
Kantary Hotel, Ayutthaya
Kantary Hotel, Ayutthaya
#3 of 17 in Ayutthaya
4.0 of 5 bubbles 405 reviews
10.5 mi away
Vasana Design Hotel
Vasana Design Hotel
#6 of 17 in Ayutthaya
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3 reviews
13.6 mi away
The Cavalli Casa Resort
The Cavalli Casa Resort
#8 of 17 in Ayutthaya
3.5 of 5 bubbles 35 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ayutthaya Garden River Home? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ayutthaya Garden River Home

Property: Ayutthaya Garden River Home
Address: 54 Moo 7 | Bang Krasun, Bang Pa-In, Ayutthaya 13160, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Ayutthaya Province > Ayutthaya
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 17 Hotels in Ayutthaya
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ayutthaya Garden River Home 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ayutthaya Garden River Home not so far away from Bangkok, The Capital of Thailand. We are Boutique Resort located on the river bank of Chao Phraya River. Waiting to serve you our best services and accommodation with calm and peacefully stay with us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Ayutthaya Garden River Home reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing