We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun stopover in Ayutthaya”
Review of Moradok - Thai

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Moradok - Thai
Shenyang, China
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Fun stopover in Ayutthaya”
Reviewed November 30, 2013

We had a very good 3 nights-stay!
After an eccentric welcome (thank you, crazy grand-ma!), we didn't know what to expect.
Rooms are OK (AC, beds ok), breakfast is nice, they serve beers at evening and in Nov 2013, they were about to have a live band playing at the bar.
They also rent bicycle (60 baths/day) and the location is very very convenient to visit Ayutthaya old temples.
~1km from Bangkok bus stop, 2-3 km from Old city Bus station and when we needed to go to the governmental Bus Station, they dropped up by car!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank flolki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    26
    10
    8
    6
See reviews for
3
24
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2013

I stayed here last summer but i thought it deserves a review after all this time. My gf and i were travelling thailand and asia at the time and we stayed in this guesthouse. Samsee the owner is sooo nice! Really good fun and really tries to get everybody to have the craic. The chang was flowing and so was the guitar. Really memorable experience. I would highly recommend this place the rooms are nice with a/c and for a good price. When we left for the bus i forgot my camera and the owner went back to the guesthouse, got it and came back to the bus station just in time. Overall a great place!!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank murrrayr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2013

At first, u dont really know Wherever you end up... A little but of everything everywhere, but after 30 min And a pretty good breakfast (100baths for coffee/tea, toast, omelet and banana) you understand that Sumset, Who welcomed is an amazing old lady with a great personality and sense of humor! Backpackers often come back at this Adress and please stay the evening to share few beers with the guests! We recommend for people who want to have a great time and are open-minded!!;)

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MarineAS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2013

My boyfriend and I intended to stay in Ayutthaya just one night but ended up at Moradok Thai for 3. The guesthouse is run mainly by family, Somsee (the old lady) is very friendly and helpful. It's located in a convenient part of the island and the rooms are of a decent size (however be prepared for very stiff beds!)

The food in the restaurant was really good and you can rent bicycles here cheaply.

7-11 is just around the corner next to a night food market.

Overall, the experience was even better than the other reviews and I would definitely return here again!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Samantha-and-Adam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed May 28, 2013 via mobile

Great guesthouse, nice people, nice mama , nice food and nice party, close to all the old temples and other touristical places, if you are in ayutthaya you must come overthere, its also close to the trainstation and a good stop if you go further to chiang mai in the north of thailand, also easy to get there if you come from bangkok, the rooms a nice and big, and verry clean, and everybody helps you with a great smile, you also can rent a bike for a good price, and if you eat at the guesthouse its verry cheap, a place to go

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DierckxOlivier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
96 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2013 via mobile

The rooms are well maintained and clean.

The breakfast was of the strange standard you expect in Thailand; eggs, toast and grilled fruit.

It appeared to be run by a mother daughter, granddaughter family. The daughter was never there, the grand mother had very poor English but insisted on trying to communicate with you anyway, to the point where it became a nuisance. While the majority of the work it seemed was left to the granddaughter, who must have been 14 or 15, and grew bored easily.

They were very helpful with providing anything I asked for however when I was altering my future plans with my next hostel, they assured me several times they had booked me in on the correct night. Unfortunately I got to the hostel at 4am and they had no record of my reservation.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Blain87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed February 9, 2013 via mobile

This place is great. The old lady who runs it is fabulous offering whiskey shots at the bar all night. Rooms are lovely very clean as comfy :-) ac and private bathroom. Wonderful little hidden gem and would highly recommend

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jencoops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ayutthaya hotels
1.1 mi away
Sala Ayutthaya
Sala Ayutthaya
#1 of 17 in Ayutthaya
311 reviews
0.4 mi away
Tamarind
Tamarind
#5 of 74 in Ayutthaya
414 reviews
0.6 mi away
Goodmorning by Tamarind
Goodmorning by Tamarind
#1 of 60 in Ayutthaya
155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Park Ayutthaya
The Park Ayutthaya
#21 of 74 in Ayutthaya
105 reviews
0.6 mi away
Baan Tebpitak
Baan Tebpitak
#6 of 74 in Ayutthaya
283 reviews
0.8 mi away
Baan Are Gong Riverside Homestay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Moradok - Thai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moradok - Thai

Property: Moradok - Thai
Address: 6/12 Moo 1. Rojana Road, Ayutthaya, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Ayutthaya Province > Ayutthaya
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 60 Specialty Lodging in Ayutthaya
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Moradok - Thai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing