We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A pleasure to stay here and excellent value for money!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Kantary Hotel, Ayutthaya
Ranked #3 of 17 Hotels in Ayutthaya
Reviewed July 22, 2013

This is a lovely hotel in every way! The rooms are large, well equipped and very comfortable. The rooftop pool, gym and executive lounge ( with its complimentary tea, coffee and snacks ) are very nice, indeed. The staff are gracious and helpful.
Especially impressive is the buffet breakfast, which has a wide variety of good food in a very pleasant restaurant.
The hotel is just off a busy road near a major interchange in the city, but this location is probably quite good for many, though it is a couple of kilometres from the old city area.
By the way, although I have not stayed at the Kantary in Chiang Mai, I am a member of the fitness club and so am there most days. It also is a very charming and pleasant hotel in the best part of Chiang Mai just off Nimmanhaemin Road.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kasemkij_Group, General Manager at Kantary Hotel, Ayutthaya, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2013

The Kantary Hotel, Ayutthaya, is pleased to have met your expectations and thanks you for your informative review which should assist others planning a stay in Ayutthaya. Thank you for your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (423)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

141 - 147 of 423 reviews

Reviewed July 18, 2013

The Kantary is a very nice hotel in Ayutthaya, though you should not expect to be within walking distance of any sites. We came here at the end of a tour day and were happy for a clean room and the beautiful rooftop pool. We had some interesting drinks in the hotel bar and took a Tuk Tuk to dinner down the highway. It's a convenient stay, but there is nothing cultural about it.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AshleyPortland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kasemkij_Group, General Manager at Kantary Hotel, Ayutthaya, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2013

The Kantary Hotel, Ayutthaya, thanks you for your feedback and looks forward to your return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2013

Admitted that very warm feel very happy to stay here.The kitchen is fully equipped. Time to tout it. Put a container eats it.  Near the night market. I wanted to stay there again and again. Is not enough to describe it. I recommend trying it out.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PIPE P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kasemkij_Group, General Manager at Kantary Hotel, Ayutthaya, responded to this reviewResponded July 19, 2013

The Kantary Hotel, Ayutthaya, thanks you for your favourable commentary and hopes to see and serve you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2013 via mobile

Have to agree with previous reviewers that this hotel has great facilities but poor service especially in the restaurant. Communication is a problem but can be overcome with effort. Poor/no service is unacceptable and this seems the norm for the restaurant. Just had breakfast, only 3 tables occupied and at least 6 staff, all happily talking to each other. For a cup of tea I had to wave my arms in the air for half a minute. For a refill I had to go to the desk and interrupt a conversation pointing out that there were now no table staff in the room. BTW Asked for a green tea for my wife only to be told that it was not included in the buffet - a tea bag and water!! This is a great self service hotel....

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pjfrank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kasemkij_Group, General Manager at Kantary Hotel, Ayutthaya, responded to this reviewResponded July 2, 2013

The Kantary Hotel, Ayutthaya, apologises for failing to meet your expectations while your concerns regarding our wait staff and restaurant have been shared with our team. Correction in service standards will be emphasised during staff training. Thank you for your useful review and we hope we may see and serve you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2013

The room is great, the breakfast menu can be considered good for a small town, but it is so frustrating to communicate with the staffs. They do not speak decent English at all. The hotel employs a Japanese which is understandble because there are many Japanese who stay there. But for guests who are not Japanese and cannot speak Thai, it is very emotionally draining to ask for an assistance or get a thing done. I feel like banging my head to the wall.

Having the same problem with the staffs of Kantary in Rayong.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hepzibah T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kasemkij_Group, General Manager at Kantary Hotel, Ayutthaya, responded to this reviewResponded June 30, 2013

The Kantary Hotel, Ayutthaya, has noted and shared your concerns with our team, while English language instruction is being emphasised in our regular staff training schedule. Thank you for your useful feedback. We look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2013

We (myself and my boyfriend) stayed in the Kantary Hotel for 3 nights whilst on a 3 week holiday in South East Asia.
We were greeted by friendly reception staff, and the bell boy was also more than happy to please, showing us all the features of our hotel room when he brought our luggage for us.

The room was a really nice, well finished room, which had all of the amenities, and more, that we required. Having a swimming pool for us to use after our days of looking round the temples was definitely a big plus, and we made sure that we used it every day. The hotel was a little way out of the main temples area, but they would always have a tuktuk ready for us whenever we requested it, and other tuktuk drivers also knew the location of the hotel when it came to returning after a day out.

In fact, it would have to be said that the only thing that really let this hotel down was it's restaurant. We ate here most of the time out of convenience, but the service we received was not really up to the standard of the rest of the hotel. Several times we would arrive at the restaurant and have to find our own table as there was noone there to greet us (the waitresses often hung out at the bottom of the restaurant chatting away to each other or on their phones and not being very attentive). We found that some nights we were offered water, some nights we were not, some nights our napkins were laid on our laps for us, some nights they were not - there was very little consistency, and we learnt that it clearly depends on which waitresses are working that night as to what level of service you would receive. A lot of the time they would come over to take our order before we had decided what we wanted - there was a lot of items on the menu, and at times we hadn't even finished reading the menu at that point - but when we would ask them to give us a few more minutes, they would then disappear for a good ten fifteen minutes, going from one extreme to another. One thing that we did find happened almost all of the nights we ate there was that our plates were never removed after we had finished eating our meals, we often ended up finishing our drinks and paying the bill still having dirty plates infront of us. On our first night the group sitting next to us had finished their meal when we arrived at the restaurant, and was just enjoying having a drink and a bit of a chat, but their plates still hadn't been cleared by the time it came to us looking at desserts, and was ultimately only cleared when they left the restaurant.
Contrary to other reviews on this site, we found breakfast to be appalling. We again were not welcomed by anyone when we entered, and was not given any explanation as to how breakfast worked there (an example being that there was an 'egg corner' which we didn't see on the first day due to where we were sitting, and we could not work out if this was self service or waitered, and also if this was included in our breakfast, or came at an extra cost). Being British, both of us wanted a good cup of tea in the morning with our breakfast. it often took a while to get the attention of a waitress to get this, and when the tea did arrive, we found that it was very stewed (it had been served out of a pot already made), and there was no milk. On requesting this we received cream, which had obviously been sitting out on a table for a while, not being kept cold, and so therefore made for a rather disgusting cup of tea. After this happened on the first day, we opted for asking for black tea, and getting milk out of the drinks dispenser next to the juices (ie pouring it out of a glass rather than a jug), in order to make a drinkable cup of tea.

Overall, we enjoyed our stay here, and it was a pity about the restaurant, as it did not meet the standards of the rest of the hotel. It would also be quite nice if the hotel were to have some kind of bar for you to relax in in the evening. There was the Kantary cafe, but we found that this was more of a daytime coffee shop than somewhere to go to in the evening.

If we go back to Ayutthaya, then we would definitely consider staying in this hotel again,

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lizw00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kasemkij_Group, General Manager at Kantary Hotel, Ayutthaya, responded to this reviewResponded June 25, 2013

The Kantary Hotel, Ayutthaya, thanks you for your review and looks forward to serving you again soon. Your concerns regarding wait staff have been shared with our team and will be addressed during training. Your appreciative mention of our attentive, helpful, and friendly staff by department and position has been shared with them. Your commentary has been useful to our team. Thank you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2013

Stayed here for 5 nights as part of our Thai adventure. It was well positioned for us to visit our Thai family living in Ayutthaya. It's a very busy hotel with lots of local business people staying short and long term. Our 2 bedroom apartment was excellent, very clean, spacious and comfortable. The rooftop pool is fantastic, we spent a lot of time up there enjoying the outlook and pool. We ate in the restaurant for breakfast and a couple of dinners, it was always very busy but the service was good. Breakfast selection was fantastic. Staff were friendly and helpful. A great place to stay in Ayutthaya!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leanne D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kasemkij_Group, General Manager at Kantary Hotel, Ayutthaya, responded to this reviewResponded June 18, 2013

The Kantary Hotel, Ayutthaya, is pleased to learn that your Thai adventure and stay with us, was not only enjoyable and pleasant but convenient for your visit to family in Thailand. We hope to be of service to you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ayutthaya hotels
0.9 mi away
Classic Kameo Hotel & Serviced Apartments Ayutthaya
3.2 mi away
Sala Ayutthaya Boutique
Sala Ayutthaya Boutique
#1 of 17 in Ayutthaya
335 reviews
1.7 mi away
Krungsri River Hotel
Krungsri River Hotel
#4 of 17 in Ayutthaya
583 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
At Ayutthaya Hotel
At Ayutthaya Hotel
#6 of 17 in Ayutthaya
7 reviews
0.8 mi away
Vasana Design Hotel
Vasana Design Hotel
#5 of 17 in Ayutthaya
4 reviews
2.8 mi away
The Cavalli Casa Resort
The Cavalli Casa Resort
#9 of 17 in Ayutthaya
35 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kantary Hotel, Ayutthaya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kantary Hotel, Ayutthaya

Address: 168 Moo1 Rojana Road | Tambol Tanu, Aumphur U-Thai, Ayutthaya, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Ayutthaya Province > Ayutthaya
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 17 Hotels in Ayutthaya
Price Range: $76 - $90 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Kantary Hotel, Ayutthaya 4*
Number of rooms: 193
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Finally Ayutthaya has a hotel befitting to the splendor of Thailand’s ancient capital city! Ayutthaya has long been recognized as both a center for Thai culture and history as well as a bustling commercial area, close to Bangkok and many major industrial estates. This mix of culture and commerce brings a diverse range of tourists and business people to the area. Whilst many of Ayutthaya’s hotels and serviced apartments cater to these two markets, no one property is yet to offer the level of service and range of facilities, all in a central location and with a brand name that can be trusted, to truly satisfy their needs. This is all about to change with the opening of the Kantary Hotel and Serviced Apartments, Ayutthaya. This stunning, intelligently designed and ideally located hotel and serviced apartment has set the standard for truly exceptional accommodation in Ayutthaya. A part of the world renowned Kantary Hotel and Serviced Apartment Group, Kantary Hotel Ayutthaya will offer both the business traveler and tourist alike the level of service, range of facilities, standard and size of room and location that they deserve, all at a competitive price. So whether you are coming to Ayutthaya for business or pleasure, for a short holiday or an extended business trip, the Kantary Hotel and Serviced Apartments are your first and best choice for accommodation. Suitable for both long and short term stays. A part of the Kantary Hotel and Serviced Apartment Group…….. The Best Choice in the Best Locations! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kantary Hotel, Ayutthaya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kantary Hotel, Ayutthaya Hotel Ayutthaya

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing