We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Booking.com
Priceline
Vio.com
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
HeretoEverywhere
Sedgwick, Australia
222148
Best Guesthouse in whole of Thailand
5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed Jun 14, 2010
We stayed 4 nights in this guesthouse and loved every minute of it! We experienced both the superior rooms with the large balcony and the 2 interconnectable standard rooms. Although the interconnecting are slightly smaller (still more than adequate) our 2 small children preferred it as they could access us easily if required. All rooms were exceptionally clean and beautiful in the regional style. The bathrooms are downstairs are lovely and have great strong showers. And such an amazingly good price for what you get. The staff are amazing especially and helped us with everything, including some fantastic tours & night markets not in the tourist books. The air conditioning was fabulous in all the rooms and cooled down really fast. Breakfast was lovely with a choice of eggs done as you like every morning. Try the tomato chilli sauce! The kids got to try a different unusual fruit every morning which they loved. Being in the heart of the old city we were close to all the ruins that we wanted to see, a perfect location. They have bikes for rent if you so require. We had a wonderful tuktuk driver Yo who was organised through the guesthouse. She took us out for 2 days everywhere we wanted to go as well as some places we wouldn't have known about apart from her suggestion, including fantastic local meals. Well worth asking for her at 200 baht per hr. The grounds are absolutely beautiful and tranquil perfect for a drink after the night markets. The kids loved the geckos and their night antics on the verandah. They also have free wifi available for guests which was great and fast. We wouldn't hesitate to come back again if we have are given half the chance.
Date of stay: May 2010
Nearby Hotels
Booking.com
$57
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
  • eDreams
1.2 miles from Luang Chumni Village
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
$187
  • Priceline
    $188
  • Expedia.com
    $167
  • Hotels.com
    $167
1.1 miles from Luang Chumni Village
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
$83
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    $81
  • Agoda.com
    $74
  • Vio.com
    $78
1.2 miles from Luang Chumni Village
Free Wifi
Free parking
Tamarind
Booking.com
$23
Fully refundable
  • Trip.com
  • Vio.com
  • Lol.travel
0.4 miles from Luang Chumni Village
Free Wifi
Booking.com
$56
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    $50
  • Vio.com
    $45
  • Hotels.com
    $50
1.6 miles from Luang Chumni Village
Free parking
Pool
Priceline
$64
  • Booking.com
    $58
  • Vio.com
    $49
  • Expedia.com
    $60
2.3 miles from Luang Chumni Village
Free Wifi
Free parking
Inside
Priceline
$32
  • Booking.com
    $33
  • Agoda.com
    $24
  • Expedia.com
    $32
2.7 miles from Luang Chumni Village
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
$76
No prepayment needed
  • Official Site
    $70
  • Agoda.com
    $65
  • Priceline
    $76
2.8 miles from Luang Chumni Village
Free Wifi
Free parking
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
    $48
  • Priceline
0.7 miles from Luang Chumni Village
Free Wifi
Free parking
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
    $81
  • Priceline
2.4 miles from Luang Chumni Village
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Ayutthaya
Reviews (359)
Filter reviews
359 results
Traveler rating
252
92
8
2
5
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
252
92
8
2
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the owner felt like home own bathroom the river stayed longer thailand map jam bhat
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
141 - 146 of 359 reviews
Reviewed May 22, 2010

We stayed 2 nights at Luang Chumni Village. They had a good map with description and costs with the taxi from the airport on their website which we had printed out for the taxi-driver (1200 Baht).

We stayed in the Superior Room which had a nice balcony and view. The room was fine and the airco worked also well. The private bathroom with toilet was downstairs but for us that was not a problem. Both bedroom as bathroom were neat and clean.
Breakfast was simple but just fine.

The guesthouse is not far from the ruines (we rented bikes for 40 baht a day from the guesthouse), a 7eleven is at the end of the street and at night there's a small Night Market where you can eat outside.

The management and staf were very friendly and cooperative (on how to get to locations, where to eat, arranged a car for our next stay on our trip).

Date of stay: April 2010
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NL-travelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed March 27, 2010

the service was amazing! the owner, ake, helped us to translate and communicate to our driver who didnt quite understand our english. besides that, he was extremely friendly and helpful. he recommended and even BROUGHT us to some places of interest. he drove us around for meals outside, so we treated him to dinner. my friends were interested to see how muay thai was like there, so he made the effort to make contact and arrange a training session for my friends and even drove them to and fro. talk about going the extra mile! felt really thankful and comfortable there. he allowed us to use their little 'boat' so we rowed boat around the place for free. damn memorable. loved the owner, super friendly and we made fast friends.
on the place, it was extremely comfortable, peaceful and rustic and clean. very natural surroundings. very clean as well. the rooms were dimly lit, so it was very cosy. it was storming outside but me n my friend slept so soundly we didnt even realise that the roof was leaking a little. (the owner apologised madly for that later, but it was a real small matter). the only problem was that the walls were pretty thin so you could hear next door, but we didnt mind since next door was our own friends and we just had to shout to talk to each other.
this place is really value for money. dont expect top grade food, but it's really nice and comfortable for the price and great for backpackers and people who love nature. my whole memory was ayutthaya was memorable because of luang chumni. 10 thumbs up.

Date of stay: July 2009
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank joyceyjuice
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed March 13, 2010

My husband and I stayed here for 4 nights in February and we are so happy we did! This traditional Thai house is set in a beautiful garden in the heart of the old city. We found the guesthouse to be very quiet and it was extremely clean and well looked after.
Everything was within walking distance with a market and choice of restaurants nearby. The guesthouse staff were very helpful and provided great service as well as tips on what to see.

Date of stay: February 2010
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Blaxton
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed March 6, 2010

I am currently staying in Luang Chumni Village, with my partner and his family, I can honestly say that our second trip to this B&B, feels like being back at home again.
If its a piece of thailand you are looking for, this place exceeds all expectations. The staff makes you feel like this is more of a home stay, rather than a generic B&B,that you wuld find all over thailand. The building itself is very traditional, and the staff stay true to real welcoming thai hospitality. We are always greated with a smile, and complete respect. The rooms were always clean, the location is central to the historic sites, and on a lazy day, we were helped by the receptionist to order and hire a scooter.
I truely believe that it is not worth visiting thailand, unless you are willing to accept the customs and traditions, the wild life or the small matter of a bathroom being less than 10 seconds away, should never be enough to downgrade a place that is so beautiful. As a backpacker myself, I am used to thin walls, and shared amenities, this is a splurge and a luxarious experience, and we couldn't have picked a better place to spend what is only 11 pounds of our cash, per night.
Ayutthaya is a quite old historic city, we have found that if you wished to go futher off the island, there is a prominent sign outside the front door, with a telephone number to contact the reception, who was happy to come open the gate.You will find the same rules if you travel all over asia.
This is not the only place we have stayed in this beautiful city, but it is one that we choose to bring our family to, and we wouldnt hesitate to come back again when we have the chance.

Date of stay: March 2010
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SamSwe
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed March 4, 2010

There's a few problems with "Traditional Thai" accomodation and they're all true of this place. Thin walls mean you'd better pray for a quiet neighbour and combined with the noise of all the animals outside and in (cockroaches scuttling and geckos chirping), it's enough to drive you mad.

If you like sleeping under the stars, out in the wild - this is your thing. If, however, you need to visit the toilet in the middle of the night and don't fancy unlocking your door, staggering outside and down stairs in to a hot and humid bathroom, then take a cup or something.

The location isn't too bad in itself, but the nearby main road and development of more "accomodation" means the builders are up early making a racket. Head out for a night time meal and stay out any later than 10.30 and the attendant will lock all the doors. I had to climb over the wall, through the bungalow and effectively break in to get some sleep. Why she didn't advise me of this practice is beyond me.

It looks cute, but overall will make you tetchy and exhausted through lack of sleep. There are other better places with actual brick construction just down the road and are the same price. Go there.

Date of stay: February 2010
  • Trip type: Traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank haochima
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
YourHost-LCV, owner at Luang Chumni Village, responded to this reviewResponded March 6, 2010

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your valuable review.

We are truly sorry that you did not enjoy your stay with us. After getting your feedback, we realize that we should have done better to communicate with you about our home.

We build the house with a strong intention to welcome all guests to our place to experience traditional Thai-style living. But we also include modern facilities (e.g. air-conditioner, hot-water shower, comfortable bed and pillows, etc.) into all guestrooms - ignoring a genuine pattern of “traditional Thai house” - just to ensure our guests have a pleasant stay. However, with limitations of wooden houses, like elsewhere, it is difficult for guests to stay in completely quiet rooms – comparing to modern brick-wall hotels (putting aside noises during late night from elevators or night owl neighbours).

For a design of a downstairs private bathroom for each guestroom, we understand that it may be uncomfortable for some people. So, we communicate that through our website, as well as in all email correspondences before confirming room reservations. We invite walk-in guests to have a look at our rooms to ensure that they are satisfied with the place. We also inform last-minute call-in guests over phone conversations to make certain that they accept the style before their travels to our place. Many people decided not to stay with us because they looked for rooms with en-suite bathrooms. And we are pleased with those decisions.

Apart from a pleasant stay, we also want to provide a safety stay for guests. So, we close all gates at night after all guests coming back from their dinner. We wait for the very last guest to come back – usually around 22:00 hrs – before locking up. Guests who would be in or out during irregular hours normally let us know their plans, and we would then ask them to ring the bell on the gate or call in so that we could open a gate for them. We do not post this house rule on a notice board because we believe that it is common among other B&Bs around the world: we seem to be wrong.

We will take your feedback to improve our communication with guests about a unique style of our home to ensure that it is what the visiting guests are looking for. Once again, we feel so sorry that we did not communicate it well enough to you. And, we are very grateful for your sincere advice. Thank you very much.

Best regards,
YourHost@LuangChumniVillage

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews