We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Outstanding Guesthouse”
other travelers have booked this property
The house and garden close to Choa Praya river
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The house and garden close to Choa Praya river
Double bed with working desk Double bed with working desk
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
26 reviews
The house and garden close to Choa Praya river
Double bed with working desk
Double bed with working desk
Double bedroom
Double bedroom
Single bed, garden and river view
Single bedroom
Working desk
Working desk
Living room, decorated by stylist tray and batik cushion
Living room
Living room and working space
Garden
Out side the house, decorated by flowers
A beach chair in the garden close to river
A beach chair in the garden close to river
Garden
Free rental bicycle
Dining and breakfast table
Breakfast, vegetable from our organic farm
Breakfast, vegetable from our organic farm
Massage in the garden
Massage in the garden
Massage in the garden
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 3
Ayutthaya, Ayutthaya Province

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 26 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
French first
German first
Italian first
Any
English first
PhilGordo...
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Outstanding Guesthouse”
Reviewed February 15, 2018 for a stay in February 2018

We thoroughly enjoyed our 2 night stay at Phuttal Guesthouse. The room (suite really) was very spacious featuring a very comfortable seating area and a nice bedroom both air conditioned. The toilet, bathroom and shower was also very nice.
Breakfast was excellent and choices discussed with Duke the night before. There are tables and chairs scattered in the grounds where guests have their breakfast overlooking the canal.
The grounds are really pleasant with frontage on the south east bank of the Klong linking the main river and we spent hours relaxing and watching unusual birds, water monitors and people going about their daily lives. The people living in simple houses on the opposite bank were particularly interesting to watch. I really enjoyed fishing from the steps leading down to the water and was often offered advice and bait from the very friendly Phuttal staff.
Duke is a really, really nice man and extremely helpful. Not only did he help with our questions about Ayutthaya but also about our previous stay in Lampang where he used to live. Every query I put to him in the months leading up to our trip was answered immediately by Duke with sound advice.
We arrived in Ayutthaya at 05:00 on the overnight train from Lampang so we actually reached Phuttal at 05:45. Duke was up to greet us, gave us tea then allowed us to use a vacated room until our room was ready. All very much appreciated after a long journey.
On both evenings Duke drove us to our chosen restaurant to ensure that we got to where we wanted. A tuktuk back from the ancient centre was around tbh100.
We had visited Ayutthaya 3 years ago and were not anxious to visit all the major sights so we did not really get much of an impression of how easy it would be to get to the major monuments from Phuttal. We did walk the 2km to Wat Phu Khao plus the interesting and educational organic farming project nearby called Ban Kong Por.
We would certainly stay here again and would recommend Phuttal to family and friends without hesitation. An outstanding Guesthouse.

Date of stay: February 2018
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 7, 2018
Thx Flash for this great review, we also have a great time with you. Hope you will stay here again in a near future.
Regards
Duke
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peeranut
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Peaceful”
Reviewed February 14, 2018 for a stay in February 2018

Perfect place to relax after ancient city visit. Close to all tourist spots. Free bicycles. Green and calm garden on riverbank. Nice villa with cool decoration and comfort. Boat trip from home is available. Massage in garden is available. Nice breakfast. Very supportive staffs.

Date of stay: February 2018
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alice G
london
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Beautiful suite”
Reviewed February 1, 2018 for a stay in January 2018

Our room was very beautiful and thoughtfully decorated. Huge space including a bedroom, living room with TV/seating area and dining area, small kitchen and a really lovely bathroom.

I liked the fact that the fridge was stocked with jugs of drinking water and glass bottled cola and beer. All environmentally friendly as no plastic bottles were involved. Drinking water was free and beer and soft drinks charged at only a tiny markup from the price at the convenience store.

Breakfast was really great, with Thai doughnuts with condensed milk dipping sauce, sticky rice parcels wrapped in banana leaf as well as more conventional toast, fried eggs with sausage and fresh fruit.

The owners were very kind, and dropped us off at recommended restaurants or the night market in the early evening, and provided a note in Thai to give to tuk tuk drivers with instructions for getting back. They have a service for picking up and dropping off clients from which is cheaper than a regular taxi to or from Bangkok

If I am ever in Ayuthayya again, would definitely stay here again. Wonderful place.

Date of stay: January 2018
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 2, 2018
Hi Anna
Glad to hear you were happy while staying with us. Thx for this great review.
Regards
Duke
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sleepybex...
Bexhill-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
1,082 reviews
231 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 431 helpful votes
“Lovely location by he river”
Reviewed January 31, 2018 for a stay in January 2018

We had a double room with river view. It was lovely with huge windows opening onto the garden and river. Good furnishings and very clean. We had a nice breakfast by the riverside. Couldn’t ask for more at this price. Duke, the owner I believe, is great and has such a good command of English. He gave us loads of information about how to visit the historical sites and even gave us a lift to a local restaurant.

Date of stay: January 2018
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 2, 2018
Hi Dough
Glad that you had a pleasant time during stay with us, thx for your great review.
Regards
Duke
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeatriceK...
Brussels, Belgium
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Wonderful stay”
Reviewed January 23, 2018 for a stay in January 2018

The house and rooms are very nice and spacious. The owner has bicycles you can use to visit the different sites which is great. He is very friendly and helpful and organised a boat tour for us in the evening to see the sunset and the illuminated ruins! Wonderful! The only thing to ask is if the construction next door is finished as that was quiete loud during the day, which was fine for us as we were visiting the city. You have no noise in the evening or in the morning, but cannot really enjoy the garden during the day.

Date of stay: January 2018
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 24, 2018
Hi Beatrice
Glad you have a good time during stay with us. I have to apologize about the construction noise, we try our best to minimize the impact to our guest by limit the working hour on 9:00 a.m - 5:00 p.m and the construction could be finished by end of Feb.
Regards
Duke
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FabriceP6...
Hilversum, Noord-Holland, Netherlands
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Why go to a hotel when you can be at home?”
Reviewed January 2, 2018 for a stay in December 2017

Difficult to top all the great reviews already written by the other guests but I will try to add a few more things.
Saying we loved our stay there is a euphemism. There is everything you need and more:
- the welcoming heart of Duke and his team/family. Our kids (6 & 3) juste loved the sandbox, the swings, the toys of Duke’s son that he shared with ours. Just great!
- the location: it’s on the river so boat tours come right on the garden of the residence to pick you up. Also biking distance from multiple temples
- local food is walking distance (also on the river) with unbeatable freshness and flavors at unbeatable prices.

Basically no reasons to go anywhere else when in Ayuttayah.

Date of stay: December 2017
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 24, 2018
Hi Fabrice
Glad you and your family have a good time during staying with us. I'm also very happy with you and your kids, it was a fantastic moment. Hope to see you again.
Regards
Duke
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jxthellen
Singapore, Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful 5-star resort-like home. Two thumbs up, would return!”
Reviewed September 4, 2017 for a stay in September 2017

One of the best places I have stayed in with such kind hospitality and great service. When you arrive, owners would welcome you with a drink and introduce to you the major attractions in the area with a map of Ayutthaya.

You get a whole floor to yourself complete with living room and dining area, 1 bathroom (shower style), kitchen with fridge and other basic necessities, a bedroom that's segregated into two areas (1 single and 1 queen bed), and the entire garden. The whole house is quaint and decorated so nicely with lush greenery everywhere. If you're looking for a quiet, relaxing, homely place to stay, Phuttal Residence is just right for you. Right beside the garden is the Chao Phraya River so you get a wonderful view.

Internet/Wi-Fi is fast and reliable. It is quiet and dark at night so you can get a restful sleep. Rooms also come with air-conditioning units/fans to escape the hot air in Thailand.

There are are also bicycles that you can use, and parking spaces if you're driving.

In the morning, the kind owners also serve you a simple, healthy, and delicious breakfast with coffee/tea, fruits, toast, egg and ham etc.

Two-thumbs up for the great service and kind hospitality, two-thumbs up for the amazing environment and wonderful stay experience!

Only improvement perhaps would be the shower head in the bathroom, which is angled slightly too high? Could perhaps change the shower heater as the water is not too warm.

Would love to stay again on our next trip!

Date of stay: September 2017
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 8, 2017
Thx for your great review and feedback, we will look for an opportunity to improve the matter you just mentioned. Hope to meet you again in near future.
Regards
Duke-Owner
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing