We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Clean and Decent place to stay”
Review of Hotel Vinayaga

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Vinayaga
Ranked #11 of 19 Hotels in Rameswaram
Bengaluru, India
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“A Clean and Decent place to stay”
Reviewed April 27, 2011

This is the only hotel that shows up on any online hotel reservation website for Rameshwaram currently. The temple and the beach is less than a kilometer from this hotel. We had booked ourselves 2 AC Double rooms and were not disappointed one bit (4 of us). The rooms and the bathrooms were very clean, no complains! Each room is also equipped with a small LCD television. The staff here are very courteous as well, all our requests were met with a smile and to our satisfaction. The food at their restaurant was not disappointing either. Unfortunately, we never got around to having south indian breakfast here but the north Indian menu for dinner didn't let us down. The only downside of our experience here was that the bathroom doors (in both the rooms, surprisingly) were quite difficult to close, looked like hinges were coming apart and almost falling off (not a reason for you not wanting to go here but I thought i'd mention anyway). We did bring this problem up to the staff and hopefully future travelers staying here will not have to put up with a hard bathroom door, dont quite remember the room numbers we stayed in right now! :-)

We had to extend our stay at Rameshwaram by another day and unfortunately did not get accommodation for the next day's stay at Vinayaga due to a group booking. To our horror, most of the other 'decent' hotels were out of rooms as well. However, Vinagaya's hotel manager was kind enough and went beyond his duties to help us get accommodation in another hotel for the second night. (I will review this hotel separately). That gesture quite summed up our stay here! :-)

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ramkishore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

176 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    71
    47
    10
    26
See reviews for
129
22
2
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hyderabad, India
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2011

Stayed at hotel vinayaka along with my wife. Nice clean toilets and clean bedsheets and pillows. Toilet and rooms were not too big but still okay. AC worked, there was hot water available all the time. Ordered room service and their restaurant stuff is quite reasonably priced. Definitely worth staying here. The walls of the room were a bit stained but got used to it. The only shortcoming was that there tv is a really small 22 inches wall-mount one, not even 32 inches. Other than that, everything is okay with this hotel.

Ofcourse, the whole of rameswaram has the stench of fish. The hotel lobby was no exception too. If you kept your room windows opened, then your room smelled too. As long as you don't open the windows, room did not smell of fish. A nice view of neighborhood too with green coconut trees etc.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sbh76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allahabad, India
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2011

The best and new hotel in town anyone wants to saty. 100 metres form Railway station. Although it is 2 km away from temple, but easy to stay here than going and stayng in main city. It has good restaurant and also to go to dhanukodi, its closer.
The area around hotel , i,e shops and houses are bit filthy..but it hardly matters
I strongly recommend all for this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VIKASBALI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George Town, Malaysia
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2011

Stayed here for a night. The hotel is quite clean compared to other hotels around the area. It's still new. Service wasn't too bad. Food's good but quite limited options available. Will definitely stay here on my next visit as well.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pathfinder4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2011

I stayed at hotel Vinayaga for 2 nights with my wife and kid, during a driving holiday in Dec 2010. I selected the hotel based on their web page description. The hotel is located on a rather broken road some 1 and 1/2 km off the National Highway. Once I got in, I could see a fairly large space for parking, although the parking area was not necessarily concreted all over. The check- in was quite quick. All the hotel's rooms are air- conditioned, and new. They had a good LCD television in every room and furnishings were quite good as well. The poor element however would be their restaurant. The restaurant staff were slow to service requests, or would often forget them. This was surprising considering the restaurant was hardly full on any occasion. They also had a rather limited choice of breakfast items, and were greedy enough to charge my kid in full for his microscopic consumption from the buffet.

All said, I do recommend Hotel Vinayaga for its facilities, but tourists are encouraged to be critical and negotiate a bit to get a fair deal.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bananthahally V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Level 5 Contributor
91 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed December 1, 2010

The hotel is very good. Rooms are spacious. Breakfast is good. But far from activity center and the temple. Very near to railway station. You can easily walk from the station.Friendly staff. Reasonable tarrif. Value for money.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank skrishnamur5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jaipur
Level 6 Contributor
33 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2010

Do not expect much out of this place. It is clean in the otherwise dirty town. Not much service from the staff, they were so confused.

Food was also bad, and they did not offer most of the things.

Overall, suitable for a day. Nothing much to expect.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank puneet1622
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rameswaram hotels
1.1 mi away
Daiwik Hotels
Daiwik Hotels
#3 of 19 in Rameswaram
587 reviews
1.3 mi away
Jiwan Residency
Jiwan Residency
#7 of 19 in Rameswaram
208 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Nnp Grand
Hotel Nnp Grand
#8 of 19 in Rameswaram
50 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hyatt Place Rameswaram
Hyatt Place Rameswaram
#5 of 19 in Rameswaram
17 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Sunrise View
Hotel Sunrise View
#13 of 19 in Rameswaram
78 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Queen Palace
Hotel Queen Palace
#15 of 19 in Rameswaram
95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Vinayaga? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Vinayaga

Property: Hotel Vinayaga
Address: #5 Railway Feeder Road, Rameswaram 623526, India
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > Ramanathapuram District > Rameswaram
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 19 Hotels in Rameswaram
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Vinayaga 3.5*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Booking.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Vinayaga reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing