We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“overall good”
Review of Hotel Sunrise View

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Sunrise View
Ranked #14 of 20 Hotels in Rameswaram
Reviewed January 20, 2014

I liked my stay during 31st Dec 2013. rooms were clean and nice. I booked online via one of the travel website, found that its bit expensive, If I would have booked direct with the hotel or via local taxi guy then it would have been 300-500Inr cheaper per room. Location of the hotel is brilliant.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sam-Sil-Adi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (80)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

54 - 60 of 80 reviews

Reviewed December 29, 2013

We group of 3 guys picked this hotel for a night's stopover at Rameshwaram in Dec,2013.This hotel is ideally located just besides the Ramanathaswamy Temple.

We had booked a triple bed room but when we arrived were told that all triple bed rooms are occupied & only got a temporary double bedroom.The reason provided was that the hotel was not informed when we would be checking-in,though our date of arrival was clearly recorded even in their own register.This is certainly not acceptable as we are by no means bound to inform hotels about our 'time of arrival'.They should have clarified by calling us beforehand.They refused any refund of fare difference for the different room type provided & after constant persisting provided us a triple bed room more than 12 hrs after arrival.The bathroom here was just awful to say the least & the flush was not working.We had to somehow manage the night's stay with lizards as companions.

On the positive side,24 hrs check-out was available & we stayed for 2 extra hours without being charged after enduring so much trouble.


So,please exhaust all other options before going with this hotel in Rameshwaram.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip
1  Thank Supriyo_Majumdar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 5, 2013

It was one of the worse experience ever we had during hotel stay/ reservation . David ( manager) & Hotel Sunsine View, Rameshwaram are the biggest Cheater, Liar and Fraud hotel ever we seen our life, I never suggest any buddy to book room in this Hotel. Except location nothing was worth. Behaviour of the staff was pathetic.

During our last visit at Rameswaram for advance hotel reservation I communicated with Mr. David(Hotel Sunrise View, Rameswaram) and conveyed him my check-in & check out time on mail as well over mobile too (Room type: AC rooms, Check in : 03 July 2012 : 06 : 00 Am, Check out : 04 July 2012 : 08 : 00 PM).

After his confirmation & assurance that, they will charge mention stay period as one room night, we deposit full amount for the advance booking as per agreement. Hotel also confirmed the one night stay booking against the mention check-in & check-out over mail.

At the time of checkout Hotel Sunrise View people are start arguing and denying there previous confirmation mails saying there checkout time is 12:00 PM and they will charged for two days. Which they never informed us previously. Neither they mention about it ever during booking & stay, nor revert during the room confirmation. After some time they start fighting with us and forcefully took additional 1400.00 Rupees from us. I have all mails with me if any buddy want to see. Never advice to book in such kind of cheater hotel.

Room Tip: Beware- they are cheater/ fraud number one. They don't have respect of their own words. Never...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank DKS-RPR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2013

If you do not have any other place to stay in Rameshwaram then go here. It offers a basic shelter with an AC...period. Its located very close to the temple which is the only plus point. And cos of this reason, it's a falls in the no-entry zone and you cannot take your vehicle there. They have a separate parking lot located at a junction about 1 km from the hotel and a room boy comes to pick that luggage on a bicycle (pity..pity)! The hotel doesn't have a restaurant and they get food from outside. The floor hasn't been cleaned for years and the aisle leading to the room stinks and has an open switch box as well that is littered with waste. Strictly avoid unless you do not have any option.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sourabhpotdar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2013

I and my wife went to Rameswaram at a religious trip, on 22nd Oct 13. Booked AC room in this hotel, in advance, at a rent of Rs.1346/-by a Chennai based booking site , after reading many reviews on Tripadvisor.com and other sites. Main advantage of this hotel is its nearness with the main temple and sea, which are on either side of this hotel. It has temple facing and sea facing rooms. We preferred sea facing with small balcony. This hotel is suited for all category of peoples, has single double and triple bedded room with facility for extra bed. . Rooms are AC. spacious, reasonably decorated with clean curtains and clean satisfactory bath room .Main attractions of this place, Rameswaram temple and Agniteertham sea beach , are just at a little walking distance ,so you can put your camera ,mobile and slippers (Not allowed in temple- leather belt is allowed) in the hotel and walk bare-footed in the temple premises and comeback after taking bath. View of the sea from the balcony of the room is simply eye catching. You can watch many fishing boats .moving up and down on the ripples of sea wave ,along the sea shore .But there is some unpleasing smell also, which you ‘ll find along all the fishing shores. Go at the roof top and get panoramic view of temple and sea both. . Manager and hotel staff is bit indifferent ,may be due to language problem, but overall behavior and responses are good. This hotel has NO RESTAURANT of its own but on order attendants can bring tea, lunch and dinner in your room from nearby hotels within 10-15 Mints’ time. I paid Rs.10 for a cup of tea and Rs.80/- for full meal Thali (dises),a reasonably cheaper option. If you like, walk a little to Maheswari or Agrawal Hotel, serving Marwari Veg Thali only /As much as you eat Thali, at simply Rs.60/-,having reasonably good taste. We enjoyed it, next day. To have special mention, Manger Mr. David did a favor to me by allotting room at Rs.800/- for my second half days stay. . Little disadvantage is that this and all the hotels in the half Km radius are declared No entry zones so any auto ,taxi or four wheelers are not allowed in this area . So you have to carry your luggage from that point up to your hotel , be light with your luggage to choose this hotel .You may cosider it other way ,that by doing this ,it becomes minimal pollution area with low decibel noise- an echo-freindly zone. . According to me this hotel is true value for money (Rs.1400/-for a AC, good, spacious room in proximity of temple and sea with good sleep quality).I will recommend this hotels to others also and will stay here again if I repeat my trip to this place.
Satish Tripathi , Gorakhpur sctri48@gmail.com

Room Tip: Please select sea facing room to watch the panoramic view of the sea and fishing boats.There is no r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Satish T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2013

For pilgrims visiting the temple, this is probably the best place to stay at, since the hotel is bang opposite the East gate of the Temple, the location though is filthy and littered, We had asked for a sea view room and the room provided did have a window, that was rather small and not appealing. No balcony was there. If you do want to have a wider view, you can climb up the stairs and have a bird's eye view of the sea line and the town. The temple though is not visible due to the other buildings around. The room was on the 1st floor and was quite small for the 3 of us...incl my daughter aged 13 y. The bathroom was just ok, but the shower was broken. There was a chewing gum on the window that was disgusting. AC was working fine. But for a place like Rameshwaram & close to the temple, this was the best that we could find! The hotel staff were quite helpful and fixed the jeep for the drive to Dhanushkodi beach. Be prepared to pay them the tips that they ask for all the time...

Room Tip: Book for the room with balcony in advance
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank rinkudas2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2013

The hotel is very near (just 50 ft away) to the east entrance of the temple, probably 1 km from the Rameswaram Bus stand. Take bath in the 21 wells, come back to the hotel (yes they allow into the hotel you with wet clothes), change your dress and go back for darshan. It is that close to temple.

Stayed in third floor and took a room with balcony. Has good sea view, but most of the time we were not at the hotel; so this might not be an added advantage. AC was in average condition (we went in rainy season), just verify that the AC is working, before checking in. Hot water is not provided, bathroom was very clean and neat. The bed was in average condition and the hotel staff forgot to provide us the towels and soaps. Although, we called them and got them, but the towels were a little torn at the edges (we didn't mind it as we wanted them only temporarily).

Food: Vasantha Bhavan is two shops away from this Hotel. There are other hotels (Rajasthani, Punjabi, Gujarati, UP) too within 0.5 km distance of the hotel. Though we had food in Annadha Bhavan (near the west entrance) which we liked very much.

Hotel staff is very polite and helpful. It was a Auto and Taxi strike when we reached Rameswaram. Mr David, the receptionist was very helpful to arrange for his bike and a hotel boy to shift luggage from hotel to the station. Otherwise, we would had to walk 2 kms with lots of luggage (after a 4 day trip) and 2 year old kid in hot sun.

Overall, it is a good hotel with economy budget.

Room Tip: The balcony is not a very big one, so you can choose any room with a sea view, if you would want.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ynithin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rameswaram hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Temple Towers
Hotel Temple Towers
#10 of 20 in Rameswaram
96 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel MCM Towers
Hotel MCM Towers
#4 of 20 in Rameswaram
345 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Ashoka
Hotel Ashoka
#6 of 20 in Rameswaram
26 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Daiwik Hotels Rameswaram
Daiwik Hotels Rameswaram
#5 of 20 in Rameswaram
621 reviews
0 mi away
Hotel Harish
Hotel Harish
#12 of 20 in Rameswaram
49 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hyatt Place Rameswaram
Hyatt Place Rameswaram
#1 of 20 in Rameswaram
95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sunrise View? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sunrise View

Address: 1/3 G East Car Street | Opp. of Ramnathaswamy temple main gate., Rameswaram 623526, India
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > Ramanathapuram District > Rameswaram
Amenities:
Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 20 Hotels in Rameswaram
Price Range: $19 - $27 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Sunrise View 2*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Sunrise View is offering you the finest lodging and other services in Rameswaram. A more convenient place to serve all your requests, as we are located at the heart of the town and just opposite to the Ramanathaswamy Temple east tower. Hotel Sunrise View is an ideal choice for both pilgrims and tourists by making their stay a memorable one and being nearby to all the sacred places, it is convenient for pilgrims to perform their poojas and rituals peacefully in Rameswaram. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, TripOnline SA and HostelWorld so you can book your Hotel Sunrise View reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing