We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst Hotel one can get.” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sriram Hotel Island Star

Sriram Hotel Island Star
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Rameswaram
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sriram Hotel Island Star
Ranked #17 of 19 Hotels in Rameswaram
Bengaluru, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Worst Hotel one can get.”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2013

Room nbr 207, visited in december 28th 2013

1. Management - worst arrogant , No hospitality at all, they provided room , even without any clealiness,I requested twice to give me atleast pillow cover and bedsheet - no response. Knowing I am from north india - can't understand tamil ,manager was not ready to talk in english , pathatic experience. gave me room keys - as if he has done a great obligation to me.

2. Room cleanliness - worst , room was without pillow cover and bedsheet - toilet was like hell. cockroach all around - toilet tab was not present , sea ( salty ) water on the tap. water leakage all around in toilet.

3. Hotel Rent- they gave me room in 1500 Rs for 12 hours ( though , its price was 400 Rs, written outside)

4. Room service - forget it , it can not be classified as a room at the first place.

5. worst experience ever.

Room Tip: avoid this hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank DhirendraNegi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

12 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    0
    2
    2
    3
    5
See reviews for
6
4
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
44 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2013

The best part of this hotel is that it is close to the temple, the main reason why people make their visit to Rameshwaram. It is at walking distance from the temple.
The food served is average and a bit salty but then that's ok. Good value for money overall.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank VaRuN_a_KuMaR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rameswaram
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2012

Write now I am writing this review from room no 102. Such a terrible hotel I can't explain. House keeping is at its least. Water is entering to room from windows. Water taps are not working, the hotel has not provided bed sheets even after repeated requests. Toilet is at its worst. There is nothing to say good about even I am thinking to change the hotel right now itself.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank SubhenduPattnaik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Rameswaram hotels

Chennai, Tamil Nadu, India
Level Contributor
81 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 184 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2012

I stayed here for 2 nights and a day during pongal 2010 for my dad's thidhi.
Thought there were some cons for the hotel, i did give much importance to it, as i went to Rameswaram for the first time for my father's first thidhi.

Pros -
1. good comfort for the price paid.
2. manual slit A/C. allows u to control chillness on ur own..
3. LCD Tv with Cable.
4. Clean bed/cot and clean bathroom.
5. All the above, the main attraction of the hotel is at 6:25am, thats the sunrise view for the hotel balcony pathway. there is also a room for the viewing the sunrise without any obstacle and to take photos..
6. you can go to terrace and take photos. Risk is all in your hands.

Cons -
1. No Intercom and Wifi.
2. Tv was there but no Remote control offered while entering the room. You have to demand Remote control to operate remotely. I face problem that the remote was not working, so i have demand for an another remote for my tv to work!!
3. No Attached Restaurant or any breakfast.
4. You will be Sun rise view clearing but below at the back of the hotel is the garbage area. Which i call the Dirty sun rise view.

So overall, this hotel is good but not the best nor the worst.
If u r at rameswaram to pray the god or pay homage like rituals, its good to stay here.
But if u r at Rameswaram for enjoyment/fun visit, all Risk lies on you..

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rajiv911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hyderabad
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2011

basic needs such as inter-com, room service etc was not available. . require repairing of all water points . over all ok. only intention is to improve the hotel

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bibhuHyderabad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2010

I went with my family as a holy pilgrimage visit to the temples in Rameswaram. As we went in weekend, Devasthanam Cottages and middle class hotels are full. We went from Railway Station to the Temple junction in a auto. That auto driver suggested to stay in this Island Star hotel. Location of the Hotel is good. But there was no proper proper water supply. The room was not clean as we expect to be. The one day non deluxe rooms will cost around 500 to 1500 rs. The biggest problem is the persons working in the hotel is not behaving in a friendly manner. The hotel management should think of making the customers to visit the hotel again. But they are behaving in such a manner that, the customers last visit for Rameswaram. And another request is do not take the words of auto drivers over there, like we did. There has been link between them, so that the auto drivers will be paid some amount, if they convince the travelers to stay in the respective hotels. Overall, I will rate this as my bad experience.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Jayaraman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai (Madras), India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2010

Hospitalization is good . Worth for money .. No hassles ,, Near to temple. Walkable distances for amenities. Nice atmosphere. Near to the sea. Sea view rooms are available,,
Owner of the hotel is friendly. try staying here and you will enjoy the most . Thanks

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ramkumar304556
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rameswaram hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel MCM Towers
Hotel MCM Towers
#4 of 19 in Rameswaram
4.0 of 5 bubbles 319 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Nnp Grand
Hotel Nnp Grand
#7 of 19 in Rameswaram
4.5 of 5 bubbles 45 reviews
1.5 mi away
Daiwik Hotels
Daiwik Hotels
#3 of 19 in Rameswaram
4.0 of 5 bubbles 569 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Sunrise View
Hotel Sunrise View
#12 of 19 in Rameswaram
3.0 of 5 bubbles 75 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Vinayaga
Hotel Vinayaga
#10 of 19 in Rameswaram
3.5 of 5 bubbles 169 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Harish
Hotel Harish
#11 of 19 in Rameswaram
3.5 of 5 bubbles 47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sriram Hotel Island Star? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sriram Hotel Island Star

Property: Sriram Hotel Island Star
Address: 41-A, South Car Street, Rameswaram 623526, India
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > Rameswaram
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 19 Hotels in Rameswaram
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing