We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good trip spoilt by this shabby hotel”

Hotel Shanmuga Paradise
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Rameswaram
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Shanmuga Paradise
Ranked #16 of 19 Hotels in Rameswaram
Thanjavur, India
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“A good trip spoilt by this shabby hotel”
Reviewed March 22, 2012

We stayed in two rooms at this hotel and both had leaking taps. One of the flush tank lever was also leaking. There is no direct hot water supply in the baths and we are left to the wooden-faced errand men who work at the hotel. The rooms are generally very cramped with little ventilation. The whole property is old and rotten with complete neglect. I do not see any value in this hotel. It sounds attractive on paper as its located close to one of the main gates of the temple. But I find this is infact not so convenient since the main entrance is on the opposite side facing the sea where we have the Agni Tirtam and all major sanctums. People going there for short trips will be entering through the entrance which is facing the sea. This entrance probably serves the locals who throng often. So kindly avoid this place. At any cost, do not stay here and spoil your trip.

Room Tip: Even if you are going as a couple, choose a triple bed room. Double Rooms are very crampy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank venkat_balaji
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    4
    10
    3
    5
See reviews for
20
3
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Bangalore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2012

I had booked Hotel Shanmugham paradise for my motherinlaw and her friends after seeing that it is close to Temple and they would have a comfortable stay. But unfortunately, the stay turned out to be a nightmare with badly maintained rooms and bathrooms. Also the noise from the fan was so horrible that it disturbed their sleep. What we expect is basic cleanliness,,,I am thoroughly disappointed..... But since they had a good darshan, they were ok with the stay. Still I wanted others to be aware of this and not make choice like what I did...Hopefully the hotel people will mend their ways....

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Remyabang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Rameswaram hotels

bangalore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2011

hotel is very near to temple. But their rooms are small. Speicially, triple bed ac room is very small and not so clean. They change extra person RS150 for each person even if they do not give extra bed or extra bed is not possible in that room. Rooms are not so clean.

It is average, but not good.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank deymrinmoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed May 16, 2011

This hotel is at a stone's throw distance from the main temple. Rooms are clean. Staff is helpful and can arrange private autos if required. Lot of options of food nearby.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank MannG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level 4 Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2011

terribly noisy the whole night, they don't have any manner.
Dirty bathroom
free mosquitos
not friendly

Even the temple is not worthfull

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jp2000b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyderabad
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2010

Seen the google for some decent hotels at Ramswaram and have found this..They also offer a website which gave a contact number for booking rooms in advance..

I have sent them some money advance to book 2 rooms for my family for a short pilgrimage and I was pleasantly surprised to find them waiting for us on the day we arrived there. This was located on the temple street (west entrance) and its a walk of 10 mins if you wish to go the sea for holy bath.

The rooms were spacious and very clean..thanks for the hotel maintenance staff and they were courteous too..We have also availed the service of a cab which was recommended by the hotel manager and it was also satisfactory..

This place is pure value for money and recommended..

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kuldeepch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2009

This hotel is literally a 3 minute walk away from the temple. Rameswaram is an island and the town is a little fishing village built up around a magnificent temple. That said this hotel is the best one you are going to find that is closest to the temple.
Don't expect any stars despite their claims. I don't think it qualifies for even 1 star. It is clean enough and convenient. You can hunt around the town but you won't find anything that is walking distance to the temple that is nicer than this.
There is no restaurant in the hotel. The usual amenities that you expect at a hotel, don't expect them here.
The beds are "firm", and I'll emphasize this. The bathrooms will encourage quick use so if there are a few people staying in the room you will not be experiencing a queue.
The staff, well, they'll check you in but don't be expecting to exchange emails.

  • Stayed January 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Vedic_Odyssey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rameswaram hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Temple Towers
Hotel Temple Towers
#9 of 19 in Rameswaram
93 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel MCM Towers
Hotel MCM Towers
#4 of 19 in Rameswaram
337 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Harish
Hotel Harish
#12 of 19 in Rameswaram
48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Nnp Grand
Hotel Nnp Grand
#8 of 19 in Rameswaram
50 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Vinayaga
Hotel Vinayaga
#11 of 19 in Rameswaram
178 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hyatt Place Rameswaram
Hyatt Place Rameswaram
#3 of 19 in Rameswaram
34 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Shanmuga Paradise? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Shanmuga Paradise

Property: Hotel Shanmuga Paradise
Address: opp temple, no.10 / 98, Middle St, Rameswaram 623518, India
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > Ramanathapuram District > Rameswaram
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 19 Hotels in Rameswaram
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A nice & pleasant stay catered with an idea of easy approach to temple for the pilgrims and travelers. Excellent hospitality and guidance. Very openly challenged for convenience, hospitality & facilities. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing