We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent experience.”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Rameswaram
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
TTDC Tamil Nadu Hotel
Ranked #6 of 19 Hotels in Rameswaram
Hyderabad, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent experience.”
Reviewed July 11, 2013

Best food during this trip.strongly recommend people to stay here.Best value for money.
The reception is excellent.Housekeeping is good.Very comfortable.staff attitude was very nice and hospitable.the ambience was very good.childrens will love to stay here.
S.Ramnath,Hyderabad-9966110608.

Room Tip: Choose double room A/c-Sea facing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ramnath s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

268 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    72
    108
    60
    18
    10
See reviews for
197
26
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai, Maharashtra, India
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2013

Visited Rameshwaram on 12th June and stayed AT TTDC Hotel one night. It is situated very near to sea shore and Rameshwaram Hotel. To book this hotel you have to register with TTDC and book the room you prefer. The non AC mini delux is also vry comfotable.Rameshwar is very beautiful and you can walk to Agnee tiortham and take bath and go to temple . I enjoyed it.They provid good breakfast free.

Room Tip: Book in advance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Umeshdesai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai (Madras), India
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2013

We were a group of 7 people and had to book two rooms. As usual, true to our group's reputation, we could not book rooms till the last week of our travel (last week of May 2013) and unfortunately there was only one 3-bedded A/C room available and the rest were all Double A/C. So, I booked one 3-bed and one 2-bed with extra pax. Their website mentions a check-in time of 10 AM, which is plain stupid as most trains arrive early morning in Rameshwaram, but need not worry as the reception takes the actual check-in time as the benchmark.

Coming to the positives and negatives:
Positives:
1. Very close to the temple/Bay of Bengal (aka Agnitheertham). In fact, the hotel's backyard is on the shores. One can get lovely sunrise and sunset views from the reception itself. One can as well request for first-floor rooms so as to enjoy the sea view. There is a boat jetty just behind the hotel, from where one can go on pleasure trips. Having seen the crowd at Gateway of India in Mumbai and other similar places like Kanyakumari, I would say there are not many takers for this facility in Rameshwaram, wondering why. Of course, even I did not take a boat ride because of lack of time.
2. The campus is sprawling and huge. It has a huge parking lot being a government hotel. The campus has a small garden, children play area, etc. The surprise was that none of play equipment was rusted. There were a few birds too. Looks eco-friendly.
3. Multicuisine vegetarian restaurant and permit room within the campus. I did not try their food, though coffee was okay.
4. Laundry services are really good. Within 2-3 hours, you get back your clothes.
5. Rooms were moderate in size and have sit-outs on the sea-facing side and okay in maintenance, but one cannot expect for such a competitive tariff.
6. Please ask for complimentary breakfast.

Negatives:
1. Of course, as with every other TTDC property, room service is something they have not heard of. Absolutely nobody to your help, but on checking out, all of sudden, you see a lot of people gathering around you for tips, the only way to take attendance is to announce that you are checking out.
2. Rooms can be maintained a bit better having seen their property in Kanyakumari which was exceptionally good. Do not think cottages are available, only rooms I suppose.
3. No lifts, of course, there is no need as it is only G+1.

Overall, if you do not find it difficult to help yourself.with small things like coffee, breakfast, etc., then this must easily the best budget property in Rameshwaram.

NB: There seems to be a change in tariff effective June 1, 2013, with roughly 20-25% increase.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MaheshSundaram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pune, India
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2013

Stayed for 1 night.
Probably the best located hotel in Rameswaram.
The sea is very close to the hotel premises.

Room is spacious and clean.
Food is average, better to avoid it and eat outside.
The rates are reasonable.
Better to book in advance.
do not expect great service, it is a government enterprises.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ritwik P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed May 22, 2013

Nice government run hotel by tamilnadu tourisoum.
Good: 1.restaurant serves you with tasty South Indian meals.
2. You can buy ice creams and potato chips.
3.there is a children's play area .
4. Hotel location is next to temple and beach.
5. Hotel arranges for guide/ priest.
6. Huge parking space . It can be also used for walking.
7. The staff are helpful.
Ok:1. Rooms are average but ok.
Bad:1. Acces road is too narrow
2. Restaurant has limited choices.
Conclusion: nice hotel but acces road is not good and limited varieties of food.

Room Tip: Always choose AC deluxe rooms. They have all facilities.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank aryaman_kumar11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jaipur, India
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed May 18, 2013

i visited rameshwarum in december 2012 with my family. our train reached there in early morning . i have booked this hotel on internet but reaching there i have to wait for two hours for the room. later on they gave me the room.
locaton wise the hotel is very nice. it is near to temple and overlooking the beach. staff is good. the rooms are ok but the bathroom of both the rooms we used were not good. they are very untidy. the tv was not working.
brearfast and lunch is good.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank babita13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyderabad, India
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2013

Overlooking the beach. Fresh air, clean. Staff very courteous and responsive. The rooms are clean, and the breakfast and lunch are good.
I even got my clothes Laundered !!
The hotel has a resort like feel to it. I will highly recommend this hotel for Rameshwaram visits. Very close to the temple.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Theerthayatra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rameswaram hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Temple Towers
Hotel Temple Towers
#9 of 19 in Rameswaram
93 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel MCM Towers
Hotel MCM Towers
#4 of 19 in Rameswaram
337 reviews
1.9 mi away
Daiwik Hotels
Daiwik Hotels
#5 of 19 in Rameswaram
598 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hyatt Place Rameswaram
Hyatt Place Rameswaram
#3 of 19 in Rameswaram
34 reviews
0.3 mi away
Jiwan Residency
Jiwan Residency
#7 of 19 in Rameswaram
213 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Harish
Hotel Harish
#12 of 19 in Rameswaram
48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to TTDC Tamil Nadu Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about TTDC Tamil Nadu Hotel

Property: TTDC Tamil Nadu Hotel
Address: Near Agniteertham, Rameswaram 623526, India
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > Ramanathapuram District > Rameswaram
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 19 Hotels in Rameswaram
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The only beach resort in the island.Operating since 1975.A government of Tamilnadu undertaking. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing