We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You can stay on a vacation at this hotel!”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Rameswaram
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
TTDC Tamil Nadu Hotel
Ranked #7 of 19 Hotels in Rameswaram
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
149 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“You can stay on a vacation at this hotel!”
Reviewed November 30, 2012

We stayed two nights in this hotel, which is on sea shore and close to the temple!
The hotel has huge area for children/ family to play with large number of neem & cocunut trees all around! Security is OK.
Waking up to the early morning chirping of birds gives a nice feeling!
Nice cross ventilation due to the proximity of Sea.
Elect supply is totally unreliable but TTDC was prompt in switching on Genset!
Food in the hotel is OK - with complementary B'fast thrown in!
Rooms could have been kept cleaner & TTDC should look in to this aspect.

Room Tip: Manage a room in first floor with Sea View
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank KS R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

261 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    71
    105
    57
    18
    10
See reviews for
192
25
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Chennai
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2012

I was said that TTDC is the best hotel and hence made a made the bookings for 2 rooms ( a Non AC 3 bed & Non AC 2 Bed) at the TTDC office at their Chennai Office a month back without giving a thought. I did read the reviews and found that there are only few hotels in Rameswaram . Their Check In & Check Out timings is 10am. The train from Chennai reaches Rameswaram by 5am in the morning and i did insist the booking personnel for a early Check In. On reaching the came the 1st bomb.. No Rooms ! & they accommodated all 5 of us in a Mini AC room ( on a request since we had a 3year kid). Our plan was to go to Agintheertham in early in the morning and hence we just needed a room to keep our luggage. On the rooms, the pics posted will tell you the story... "DIRTY" is one word to describe it. Even when we came back by 2pm our room was not ready. We had to push them couple of times to get it. After lots of follow ups the 2 bedded room was ready but not the other one. They requested us to manage 3 of us in the Mini Double room ! The next day they made us shift to other room since the guest at this room had come. All Chaos !!!! The only thing that is positive is the restaurant. Its kind of OK when compared to other eateries.While TTDC claims that the rooms are sea facing, the flip side is that there is a grave yard behind !!!! ( behind the blocks where they have 3 bedded rooms ).. & ask for sea facing rooms only . The place closer by to the temple and an auto from the hotel would cost you 30/-. They also arrange you a Jeep to Dhanuskodi for 1150/- and a Travera to Devipattinam at 2450/-. The staff's are very very casual by the way...Overall a very bad experience :(-

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank SK1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai (Madras), India
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2012

The major advantage for this hotel is the location and proximity to agni theertham and the Ramanathaswamy temple. Both of them are within a distance of 200-300 metres (approx) from the hotel. The hotel is located very near to the sea. The hotel compound is spacious and has a small play area for children and ample space for car parking. The maintenance could have been better though.

The rooms are not too big and the bed not too wide but for the price that they charge I would say that charges are reasonable. The buffet lunch (serves south indian only )and complimentary breakfast provided at the restaurant was also good.

The hotel staff were helpful and arranged for a jeep to go to Dhanushkodi. They can also arrange for a vehicle for sightseeing in and around Rameswaram and Ramanathapuram.

Overall - a good place to stay and in budget.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank yrajesh111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
31 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2012

a beautiful property it is where you can actually relax for a couple of days after the darshan and find time to explore this island . nice lawn and spacious rooms . but the service is terrible . no room service and very little choice in the restaurant

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank ritzwings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newdelhi
Level Contributor
144 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 206 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2012

this hotel is running on sheer location , add to that huge open green belt that it has , add to that the sea facing balconies. . . . rest of the services hardly deserve a mention because the general attitude is very casual . i shall request ttdc to extend meal timings for the fixed menu or atleast provide a la carte option in restaurant . there is no room service ???? why should i not get room service just because i am on pilgrimage and not on luxury honeymoon ???? come on ttdc , atleast provide morning tea 4 - 6 am . how can you be oblivious to the fact that most of pilgrims leave for agni teertham between 4 and 6 am .

Room Tip: take first floor ac rooms - sea facing balconies
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank avsharma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
India
Level Contributor
95 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 401 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2012

We stayed here in a non-Ac mini deluxe room for a day while visiting the Rameswaram temple. The property is split into two parts with the restaurant in-between. The booking was made online. As usual we had to reconfirm the reservation again and again. The check-in and check-out was 1000 h. However, we reached a bit late around 1300 h, and the room was kept ready for us. The procedure at the reception was efficient. But we were in for a shock. We reached our room in the first floor and found birds around. The bed pillows were hard like a rock. The room had a nasty smell. The fittings were poor. We were told to keep the windows shut as birds could enter and take away the items! The TV did not work. The bathroom was a horror. The western commode was stained. The buckets were dirty. The wash basin looked as if it was not cleaned at all. The taps were leaking and water flow could not be stopped. I opened the cold water tap and immediately water flowed from the shower overhead. The intercom in the room did not work. Light fittings and the fan were non-functional. There was no response to the complaints. The employees were rude. The restaurant was smelly. There were cockroaches roaming under the tables and a colony around the wash basins. Food was buffet with a pretty bad taste. I decided to quit the place. The only advantage was its proximity to the temple and the beach with heavy littering around.

Room Tip: Avoid the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Cancer_Moon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai (Madras), India
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2012

I stayed here in mid of June 2012. I booked this hotel deluxe room with AC for 1200 per day for two days online. after reaching there I know I have to pay for the taxes. but unfortunately they revised the fares and the same room costed for 1600 per day. I though if I know this fare earlier I could have booked another room probably just deluxe room without Ac. but after including the taxes it costed arount 1900 per day. A bit costly. but I thought it is holiday so dont worry about money.
It is really good experience in rameswaram. The hotel is located at near to see. the see view is very nice. it has lot of space. you can play out side the room. it as children park area which is also well maintained. the restaurant is delicious. you will get decent meal and breakfast there. everything will be changed at MRP only. Restaurant, you will get good meal for 60-100 Rs. depending on the day they will fix the rate. it is very clean and well maintained.
the rooms are very good. but small in size. geyser works only in the morning that too not very hot water will come. so you may have problem if you are very particular about.
Overall it is a best pick I would recommend.

Room Tip: Book the deluxe room, it is a value choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Pavan_Kumar_Perali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rameswaram hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel MCM Towers
Hotel MCM Towers
#4 of 19 in Rameswaram
333 reviews
0.3 mi away
Jiwan Residency
Jiwan Residency
#6 of 19 in Rameswaram
204 reviews
1.9 mi away
Daiwik Hotels
Daiwik Hotels
#3 of 19 in Rameswaram
584 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hotel Nnp Grand
Hotel Nnp Grand
#8 of 19 in Rameswaram
49 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hyatt Place Rameswaram
Hyatt Place Rameswaram
#5 of 19 in Rameswaram
15 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Harish
Hotel Harish
#12 of 19 in Rameswaram
47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to TTDC Tamil Nadu Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about TTDC Tamil Nadu Hotel

Property: TTDC Tamil Nadu Hotel
Address: Near Agniteertham, Rameswaram 623526, India
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > Ramanathapuram District > Rameswaram
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 19 Hotels in Rameswaram
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The only beach resort in the island.Operating since 1975.A government of Tamilnadu undertaking. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing