We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient and Good rate”
Review of Maharaja Hotel

Maharaja Hotel
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Rameswaram
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Maharaja Hotel
Ranked #20 of 20 Hotels in Rameswaram
Reviewed April 12, 2012

Hotel Maharaja is very near to the West Entrance of temple. The location is best. We were a family group and rented four rooms. Our room was in the 3rd floor of the hotel. The rooms were neat and the toilets are not so bad. It is an old hotel. There were some maintenance works in the hotel. So in the rooms of ground and 2nd floors were not comfortable due to dust. The price of rooms were not so high. Our non a/c rooms charged Rs.475/- only. The staff were very co-operative and room service was also good.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ajik120
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (12)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

9 - 12 of 12 reviews

Reviewed March 30, 2011

Hotel maharaja is located probably at the best place in rameshwaram. The temple is located at 100 meteres from the hotel. Lord shiva chants start the morning with devotion to the almighty. Devotees gather at the temple to take a look at the Phosphorus idol of lord shiva. Due to location advantage one can go to the temple bare foot and not worry about loosing it anywhere. In the morning devotees go to the sea which is right behind the temple take a dip and come to the temple after changing clothes and offer their prayer.
Room service of the hotel may not be the best and sometimes attendants are late on call. Avoid hotel food completely since they do not have good cooks in the kitchen or sometimes hotel may just order your food from outside and charge you insane prices and also for the fact that if you take a walk in the market, will surely find many nice food joints which offer basic but freshly cooked food at reasonable prices.
Rooms have basic amenities but comfortable enough for a short stay of 3 days. After that you may find too many complaints for the staff to handle since due to lack of cleaning the room start to smell and crumble for resources.
All in all if you are ardent lord shive devotee these things may not matter a great deal.

Room Tip: Ask for a balcony room for temple view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank Gnyaneshwar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2010

After paying money in advance hotel room was not vacant, we waited for long time to get our rooms.
Overall hotel was ok

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RaviKhatri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2010

This Hotel is one of the oldest, Famous and Excellent hotels in Rameswaram and just 30 seconds away from the main Temple Gate. Good Accomodation.Room ranges from Rs: 450/- to Rs715/- for A/C.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank imkamani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rameswaram hotels
0 mi away
Daiwik Hotels Rameswaram
Daiwik Hotels Rameswaram
#5 of 20 in Rameswaram
621 reviews
0 mi away
Hyatt Place Rameswaram
Hyatt Place Rameswaram
#1 of 20 in Rameswaram
95 reviews
0 mi away
Hotel Nnp Grand
Hotel Nnp Grand
#9 of 20 in Rameswaram
52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Hotel Vinayaga
Hotel Vinayaga
#13 of 20 in Rameswaram
179 reviews
0 mi away
Hotel Harish
Hotel Harish
#12 of 20 in Rameswaram
49 reviews
0 mi away
Hotel Ashoka
Hotel Ashoka
#7 of 20 in Rameswaram
27 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maharaja Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maharaja Hotel

Address: 7 Middle Street, Rameswaram 623526, India
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > Ramanathapuram District > Rameswaram
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 20 Hotels in Rameswaram
Price Range: $7 - $16 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 68

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing