We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Heaven in Chennai”
Review of MGM Beach Resorts

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
MGM Beach Resorts
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Muttukadu
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 15, 2010

cannot ask & expect for a better stay with my family. Right from the time i entered resort to the time and checked out, things were fabulous. Rooms, Food & the most important the staff at every level was excellent. Life guards at beach, swimming pool trainers, ayurvdice massage was good and one of the best i've ever had as i travel all over the world.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Sunil71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (804)
There are newer reviews for MGM Beach Resorts
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

736 - 742 of 804 reviews

Reviewed June 18, 2010

Location is at the beach. Villa's are very clean and moderen decorated. Evening dinner, buffet stile has everything you want, from Indian, to pasta, fish, lots of it. MGM Beach Resort is situated at Muttukadu on the entertainment hi-way of Chennai, the East Coast Road. resort is well maintained.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank nealdhotguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2010

The location is really exotic and the restaurants and bars are well placed in the beachside....The rooms are really good but there seems to be an issue with the maintenance and the service standards......The hotel/resort needs to leverage on its locational advantage by improving upon their standards of customer service and food quality served.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kris_1972Mumbai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2010

MGM beach resort is situated near Muttukaadu Boading and MGM theme park, so its a good place to stay with family and children so there are so many options for extra activities to be done. MGM has a beautiful beach behind it, and the restuarant also have very tasty and delicious food. The swimming pool is always clean and neat. The room service is good and the people deal you with a great smile and good hospitality. Its a great place to spend your weekend away from the city stress.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank kutty_king
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2010

We had a 2N3D stay at MGM and overall the stay was good. The services and amenities are not up to the mark, especially for the price they charge.

Me, my wife and daughter had booked a Club Suite (Rs. 5500) during the mid-week
when there is not too much of a crowd. To our surprise, we had to change four times
to different suites, all for having a working TV, A/C, internet (Wi-Fi) and a decent bath
with a bathtub.

As we spent the entire first day and part of the next moving from one suite to another,
we finally decided we will do away with internet (we would go down to the reception to
browse) and the bathtub and settled for a suite on the 1st floor.

The location is absolutely fabulous and they have vast and spacious area which is not
being taken advantage of. Though the staff were all the time trying to be helpful in
making us comfortable, they seemed to be more reactive. They were all the time
struggling to get the infrastructure up (this during mid-week, when there's hardly any rush).

Their restaurant 'Sea-Crest' served good food but the ambience took a beating. Though
right on the sea-shore, they haven't tried to do away with the old dilapidated structures
or renovate it. The furniture also needs a total re-furbishing.

I wouldn't really visit the place again. GRT Grand is a better place, I beleive, even if you
pay a little more.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Kurien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2010

Had been to this very good resort that is about 30kms from chennai with my extended family that had 3 couples and about 6 kids for a weekend jus b4 christmas'09.
Our lookout was to have a pleasant stay within chennai as we couldnt make a far trip and I feel it was the best choice we made.
Yes it is a little expensive but certainly worth every penny..
Has a very well maintained swimming pool, play area and surprisingly well maintained indoor games arena.
Rooms were spacious enuf with good ambience supported by decent service.

Added attractions being free access to private beach like and net door to a awesome themepar-MGM dizeee world.
The best thing is the very good food served.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank cvikas007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2010

It is one of the best resort near to chennai. resort by the side of the sea. can enjoy a lot.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pradeepsundeep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Muttukadu
5.8 mi away
MGM Eastwoods
MGM Eastwoods
#81 of 400 in Chennai (Madras)
99 reviews
14.2 mi away
Grande Bay Resort and Spa
Grande Bay Resort and Spa
#3 of 27 in Mahabalipuram
401 reviews
12.8 mi away
Radisson BLU Resort Temple Bay Mamallapuram
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Vivanta by Taj - Fisherman's Cove
6.3 mi away
InterContinental Chennai Mahabalipuram Resort
15.7 mi away
Chariot Beach Resort
Chariot Beach Resort
#8 of 27 in Mahabalipuram
438 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to MGM Beach Resorts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MGM Beach Resorts

Address: 1/74, East Coast Road | Chennai, Muttukadu 603112, India
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > Chennai District > Muttukadu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Muttukadu
Price Range: $82 - $141 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — MGM Beach Resorts 3.5*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Perfect Gateway- Sun-drenched Beaches & an Oasis of Calm…Golden sands run like a luminous ribbon, gift-wrapping the exquisite MGM Beach Resorts, even as lapping waves of the Bay of Bengal gush in to caress the jagged coastline. Imagine 30 acres of lush, sprawling lawns, dotted with over 88 charming cottages, rooms and suites. Tall coconut trees stand as sentinels, overlooking the winding pathways, undulating lawns and colourful flowering shrubs. The traditional architecture boasts of majestic Mangalore-tiled sloping roofs, gently dissolving into the horizon. The end result is a charming, back-to-basics yet urban resort for you to unwind.MGM Beach Resorts first opened its doors to hospitality, way back in 1993. With over 17 years of experience in this sector, apart from spectacular views, sun-drenched beaches and memorable holidays, we offer you only the best: warm hospitality, modern amenities, attentive service and professional expertise. Come holiday with us to experience a tranquil vacation or a delightful weekend getaway…We provide you with the ultimate romantic Wedding Destination. If you’ve always dreamt of a wedding by the beach, with lacy waves and a distant horizon forming the backdrop, then MGM Beach Resort prides itself at making this a reality. Whether it’s a bachelorette party, a stag-do, a sangeet under a canopy of stars or the wedding ceremony itself, just fix the date, and leave the rest to us…Business is our business! Choose MGM Beach Resorts as the venue for a conference, a business meet or for hosting a business dinner. Our three well-equipped conference halls, mini boardrooms and a functional business centre can accommodate your business clients and needs. We offer you state-of-the-art corporate facilities backed by impeccable service, and we mean business! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Cancelon, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your MGM Beach Resorts reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mgm Beach Hotel Muttukadu
Quality Hotel Mgm Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing