We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice resort with awesome Beach jp no. 175235955”
Review of MGM Beach Resorts

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
MGM Beach Resorts
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Muttukadu
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 19, 2014

I was in Chennai for training at RBI staff college. On third day , that is today only, the faculty decided to have outbound activities related to leadership, motivation . They chose MGM RESORT for this purpose. We came to resort at 8.30 Am and welcomed by good welcome drink . Then we were provided with nice tasty breakfast. Then we started our activities near beach and the look was awesome. Resort also has a wonderful swimming pool. Lying on canopy near pool and watching sea was delightful. Rooms were also good. Lunch was awesome with loads of varieties. We completed our activity till 5 and headed back to our hostels at Anna Salai. MGM is really treat to watch . Recommended for all.
JET PRIVELLEGE NO 175235955

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Reetesh S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MGMHotelsIndia, General Manager at MGM Beach Resorts, responded to this reviewResponded February 20, 2014

Dear Guest,

It fills my heart with joy and words impeccable that we express our gratitude to guests such as you .
These kind of motivating feedbacks makes us work even more harder to ensure TOTAL HAPPINESS at all our guests at all times.

Our entire team is very happy to have served you during your stay with us.
Team MGM look forward towards welcoming you back.

With Warm Wishes and Regards.
Sunil Tandon
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (807)
There are newer reviews for MGM Beach Resorts
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

618 - 624 of 807 reviews

Reviewed February 18, 2014

Had a really pleasant stay in the MGM beach resort. Being a private beach resort one can really shun off the security related problems. This place is completely guarded 24x7. So no problem ladies. The suite where we stayed was club suite which was of complete comfort and the valentine day celebration was awesome. It was a dream honeymoon i have ever imagined. Received loads of compliments and the staffs were very friendly. The check in and check out was hassle free.
Overall it was a perfect honeymoon destination which we had imagined.

thank you mgm management!

Room Tip: Block 1 club suites are recommended for honeymoon couples.. :)
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Veenakarthik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MGMHotelsIndia, General Manager at MGM Beach Resorts, responded to this reviewResponded February 20, 2014

Dear Guest,

It fills my heart with joy and words impeccable that we express our gratitude to guests such as you .
These kind of motivating feedbacks makes us work even more harder to ensure TOTAL HAPPINESS at all our guests at all times.

Our entire team is very happy to have served you during your stay with us.
Team MGM look forward towards welcoming you back.

With Warm Wishes and Regards.
Sunil Tandon
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2014 via mobile

It was our family get together and we had a memorable stay. Thanks to the manager Haja Mohideen for providing a wonderful hospitality. The swimming pool staff were friendly and we enjoyed the food service by the pool side. The Grandeur Suite was awesome complete with a jacuzzi. The rooms were large and very throughly enjoyed our stay.

Will visit again.

Cheers.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
Thank Sollynewzealand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MGMHotelsIndia, General Manager at MGM Beach Resorts, responded to this reviewResponded February 13, 2014

Dear Guest,
It fills my heart with joy and words impeccable that we express our gratitude to guests such as you .

These kind of motivating feedbacks makes us work even more harder to ensure TOTAL HAPPINESS at all our guests at all times.

Our entire team is very happy to have served you during your stay with us.
Team MGM look forward towards welcoming you back.

With Warm Wishes and Regards.
Sunil Tandon
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2014

This hotel does not have it. The location is good as it's right on the beach, unfortunately it is too dangerous to swim!
We stayed in an adequate little thatched cottage BUT we had no hot water and the fridge didn't work AND half the plug sockets were not working also! We complained to the management but they did nothing!
The food was okay but nothing special. Don't make the mistake we did and order a bottle of wine. It tasted of vinegar and we sent it back. luckily for us we did, as we found out it would have cost us £45 and this was a cheap wine!!!!
The hotel is more suited to families as there is an amusement park attached, fortunately there was very little noise and it didn't disturb us.
We wanted to go into Mamallapuram for a few hours and we found it was a little further than we thought. We booked a taxi from the resort it appeared on the surface to be expensive. 1800inr but quite by accident we found out that we had it for four hours, no one at the hotel told us this, so we were able to use it to go from place to place.

Room Tip: don't go there but if you do the thatched cottages are newer but make sure the hot water is work...
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 19catkiss19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MGMHotelsIndia, General Manager at MGM Beach Resorts, responded to this reviewResponded February 13, 2014

Dear Guest ,
Firstly , I would like to thank you for time you have spared to share your experience with us.

We are indeed very grateful to you , to have helped us to throw light on areas which valued guests like you expect at our resort.

Your valuable feedbacks have been shared with the concerned departmental heads and assure you that corrective action has been initiated.

We believe in the principal that Guests is the most important person at our premises and it is our endeavor that we will continue to work towards total guests comfort at all times.

Looking forward to welcoming you again at our resort.

With Warm Wishes and Regards.
Sunil Tandon
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2014

The location of the MGM Beach Resort is really nice at a beautiful beach (where unfortunately it is not possible to swim). The setup of the rooms in little bungalos is nice, rooms are clean and ok. Service is partly nice and ok (the catering service at the conference room was oustanding). But unfortunately this is not true for all parts of the hotel. Several people from our group complained about internet not functioning. There were lots of promises to change that, but no change occured during the week (being on business trips functioning internet is essential to me).
The staff at the restaurant/bar is very often completely ignoring the guests. I have rarely seen such an unattentive restaurant staff.
Also for changes in the invoice I had to struggle for months to get them done. Despite the beautiful location of the place I would not want to go back there.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chiemgauer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MGMHotelsIndia, General Manager at MGM Beach Resorts, responded to this reviewResponded February 6, 2014

Dear Guest ,
Firstly , I would like to thank you for time you have spared to share your experience with us.

We are indeed very grateful to you , to have helped us to throw light on areas which valued guests like you expect at our resort.

Your valuable feedbacks have been shared with the concerned departmental heads and assure you that corrective action has been initiated.

We believe in the principal that Guests is the most important person at our premises and it is our endeavor that we will continue to work towards total guests comfort at all times.

Looking forward to welcoming you again at our resort.

With Warm Wishes and Regards.
Sunil Tandon
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2014

Had been there as part of an office get together and had a wonderful time! The buffet spread was good. Great location with the cleanest beach stretch i have seen in all of Chennai. Go there for the perfect get-away from all the city bustle.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shreyarkrish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MGMHotelsIndia, General Manager at MGM Beach Resorts, responded to this reviewResponded February 6, 2014

Dear Guest,
It fills my heart with joy and words impeccable that we express our gratitude to guests such as you .
These kind of motivating feedbacks makes us work even more harder to ensure TOTAL HAPPINESS at all our guests at all times.

Our entire team is very happy to have served you during your stay with us.
Team MGM look forward towards welcoming you back.
With Warm Wishes and Regards.
Sunil Tandon
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2014

Stayed at the Resort for two nights during a reunion meet. Check in was quick and the staff was courteous and friendly. Being a foodie I made my way quickly to the Resort's Restaurant for diner and was completely put off with the food. It was not at all good and not up to the mark. I thought I will wait for the breakfast to decide upon my observation. Room was comfortable and nice, the air conditioner was good. Again breakfast in the morning let me down completely. The organisers of functions put the music so loud that all the rooms Echo with this music. The Thai massage is something one should try as it is really amazing.Once again I would like to advise to the travellers that if you are looking for relaxing near the beach and a good room please visit this resort but if you love food you are better off going out to some good restaurants outside the premises.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
Thank Piyush J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MGMHotelsIndia, General Manager at MGM Beach Resorts, responded to this reviewResponded February 6, 2014

Dear Guest ,
Firstly , I would like to thank you for time you have spared to share your experience with us.

We are indeed very grateful to you , to have helped us to throw light on areas which valued guests like you expect at our resort.

Your valuable feedbacks have been shared with the concerned departmental heads and assure you that corrective action has been initiated.

We believe in the principal that Guests is the most important person at our premises and it is our endeavor that we will continue to work towards total guests comfort at all times.

Looking forward to welcoming you again at our resort.

With Warm Wishes and Regards.
Sunil Tandon
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Muttukadu
5.8 mi away
MGM Eastwoods
MGM Eastwoods
#81 of 400 in Chennai (Madras)
99 reviews
14.2 mi away
Grande Bay Resort and Spa
Grande Bay Resort and Spa
#3 of 27 in Mahabalipuram
403 reviews
12.8 mi away
Radisson BLU Resort Temple Bay Mamallapuram
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Vivanta by Taj - Fisherman's Cove
6.3 mi away
InterContinental Chennai Mahabalipuram Resort
15.7 mi away
Chariot Beach Resort
Chariot Beach Resort
#8 of 27 in Mahabalipuram
439 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to MGM Beach Resorts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MGM Beach Resorts

Address: 1/74, East Coast Road | Chennai, Muttukadu 603112, India
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > Chennai District > Muttukadu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Muttukadu
Price Range: $79 - $141 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — MGM Beach Resorts 3.5*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Perfect Gateway- Sun-drenched Beaches & an Oasis of Calm…Golden sands run like a luminous ribbon, gift-wrapping the exquisite MGM Beach Resorts, even as lapping waves of the Bay of Bengal gush in to caress the jagged coastline. Imagine 30 acres of lush, sprawling lawns, dotted with over 88 charming cottages, rooms and suites. Tall coconut trees stand as sentinels, overlooking the winding pathways, undulating lawns and colourful flowering shrubs. The traditional architecture boasts of majestic Mangalore-tiled sloping roofs, gently dissolving into the horizon. The end result is a charming, back-to-basics yet urban resort for you to unwind.MGM Beach Resorts first opened its doors to hospitality, way back in 1993. With over 17 years of experience in this sector, apart from spectacular views, sun-drenched beaches and memorable holidays, we offer you only the best: warm hospitality, modern amenities, attentive service and professional expertise. Come holiday with us to experience a tranquil vacation or a delightful weekend getaway…We provide you with the ultimate romantic Wedding Destination. If you’ve always dreamt of a wedding by the beach, with lacy waves and a distant horizon forming the backdrop, then MGM Beach Resort prides itself at making this a reality. Whether it’s a bachelorette party, a stag-do, a sangeet under a canopy of stars or the wedding ceremony itself, just fix the date, and leave the rest to us…Business is our business! Choose MGM Beach Resorts as the venue for a conference, a business meet or for hosting a business dinner. Our three well-equipped conference halls, mini boardrooms and a functional business centre can accommodate your business clients and needs. We offer you state-of-the-art corporate facilities backed by impeccable service, and we mean business! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your MGM Beach Resorts reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mgm Beach Hotel Muttukadu
Quality Hotel Mgm Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing