We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place to stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of MGM Beach Resorts

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
MGM Beach Resorts
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Muttukadu
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
64 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great place to stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2013

A wonderful place to stay, on the beach. Choice of cottages or normal rooms as also row houses. Choice of dining on the beach or indoors including AC restaurant. Great and courteous staff all very helpful, including adapting the menu to suit your taste. Green paths and swimming pool all splendidly blended into the natural surroundings. If one has the inclination to swim in the seas, it is a great experience. Our stay was so memorable that we took a years package for our frequent trips to Chennai, as our son is studying at AMET University, which is just about 3 Kms away. thank you MGM for our stay with you.

Room Tip: Book a cottage for a relaxed holiday
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pralin F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HJayaShankar, General Manager at MGM Beach Resorts, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Dear Mr. Pralin ,


It is a moment of great pride that , you gave us a opportunity to serve you. We are happy to acknowledge the fact that you liked our beach resort .


we assure you that , we will continue to work harder towards guest satisfaction like always.
Looking forward towards meeting you soon .

With warm wishes ,

H.JAYA SHANKAR GUPTA
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

738 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    275
    266
    99
    49
    49
See reviews for
327
136
7
122
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (202)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2013

(I am really surprised why people wrote negative comments about this resort)

I wanted to express my appreciation for the superior service I received during my stay from our arrival on august 16th to our departure on the 19th at the MGM beach resorts.
The staff maintained a positive attitude and ensured we felt welcomed during our stay. Everyone treated us with dignity and respect. I was amazed at the consistency in their performance and willingness to go the extra mile. The staff was well groomed and took pride as representatives of the resort, the food was excellent and so was the service.
In particular Mr Haja the (Accommodation manager) and the executive Chef Mohammed deserve a great deal of praise for their excellent care & service

Kudos to you and your staff for making our stay a great one - I will definitely be staying with MGM again on our next visit to Chennai
I wish the team continued success and growth, your grand resort deserves to shine and be proud forever. Surely it will do so in your care

Warm Regards,
CAPT. RISHI PAWAR

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rishi694
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HJayaShankar, General Manager at MGM Beach Resorts, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Dear Capt. Rishi ,
It fills my heart with joy and words impeccable that we express our gratitude to guests such as you .
These kind of motivating feedbacks makes us work even more harder to ensure TOTAL HAPPINESS at all our guests at all times.
Our entire team is very happy to have served you during your stay with us.
I look forwards towards meeting you in person.
Thanks and Regards,
H.JAYA SHANKAR GUPTA
9840030255
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gothenburg, Sweden
Level Contributor
46 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2013

A decent place, just on the beach and with nice "bungalow-like" rooms (my room was almost on the beach, if it wasn't for the fence. There's a nice pool (didn't try it) and the surroundings are nice and green with hundreds of coconut palm trees. The beach is very nice with great waves crashing in. You can't go into the water, though, as that is restricted (whether that is seasonal or not, I'm not sure).

Now, the downside is really the restaurant and the missing seaside bar. The food is fine but the service is slow and relatively inattentive. The breakfast buffet is focused on Indian breakfast cuisine (which is nice), but when I came there, many choices were missing (again, slow staff and no initiative taken to replenish empty trays...). There's supposed to be a nice seaside bar, but that was closed or cancelled all together. There's a sordid little bar further "inland" behind dark glass panes. This one is not worth a visit!

The room was clean and nice, even if the wifi wasn't really reliable (due to the rain?). The shower didn't have any hot water, but that isn't really needed (the waters is lukewarm, at least).

The reception and its staff was nice. The check-in and check-out procedure was quick and efficient. As I got a cold during my stay, the reception staff also helped me with some painkillers.

Overall, this is a nice place but a little isolated if you don't have a car. Still, if you just want to relax, this is a good place (if you don't mind just spending time around the hotel and eating in the hotel restaurant). Would they open the bar on the beach - evenings by the sea would be even nicer.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Carl Johan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HJayaShankar, General Manager at MGM Beach Resorts, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Dear Mr. Carl

It is a moment of great pride that , you gave us a opportunity to serve you. We are happy to acknowledge the fact that you liked our beach resort .

Your valuable feedbacks have been shared with the concerned departmental head and the team .

we assure you that , we will continue to work harder towards guest satisfaction like always.
Looking forward towards meeting you soon .

With warm wishes ,

H.JAYA SHANKAR GUPTA
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai (Madras), India
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2013

Efficiency at its best...

I had to organise my school reunion with about 8 friends so a friend of mine had told me about MGM resorts hospitality... Had called and made a booking and the staff were prompt in service.... Had booked 3 rooms for the weekend (2 days ) and had a very memorable stay ... From the check in we had a "at home" feeling.... The staff were well trained and courteous to the guests.... The rooms were neatly kept.. The restaurant... the beach... The pool.... All were times well spent.... Overall well managed resort with the staffs being ready to help at odd times also..... I would recommend MGM to people who want to spend quality fun time with friends and family..... Its Money well spent on a vacation here....

Room Tip: Call before your arrival and specify the kind of room u need they will suggest accordingly.... Like...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mohansharmaji
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HJayaShankar, General Manager at MGM Beach Resorts, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Dear Mohan Sharmaji,

Greetings from MGM Beach Resort , Muthukadu , Chennai.

Firstly , I would like to thank you for the time you have taken to share your experience at MGM beach resort.

We are very happy to acknowledge the fact that MGM beach resort has met your expectation levels and that you had a memorable experience with us.

Your valuable feedbacks have been shared with all our motivated team members .

It is our assurance that we will continue to strive towards guests satisfaction at all times.

Hope to see you soon.

With warm wishes

H.JAYA SHANKAR GUPTA
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2013

Booked online ,room allotted was room no 204 ,have stayed earlier on corporate booking till I planned for family outing ,It had water dripping right in front of room , heard noise all night from ceiling reported not resolved as they were not able to fix .On check out no one turned up for luggage assistance , No Apology nor room changed ,It had flies too. Overall bad experience it seems booking thru online customers are taken for granted as earlier stay use to be good .Location is good .Book direct

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank sandeep006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HJayaShankar, General Manager at MGM Beach Resorts, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Dear Mr Sandeep,

Greetings from MGM Beach Resort !

Thank you indeed for your valuable feedback. Its with great concern that we have noted your feedback and shared the same to our team and corrective action has been initiated.

We would like to reassure you that we endeavor constantly to provide memorable experience to all our patrons though we were constrained to offer you options the next day.

We sincerely look forward to another opportunity to exceed your expectation.

With Warm Regards,

H.Jaya Shankar Gupta
General Manager
MGM Beach Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2013

I travelled over a long weekend to MGM beach resort on East coast road, Muttukadu.
This hotel is average. I expected the hotel to have much higher standards based on what they are charging their guests.There seems to be no upgrades since the hotel was built many years ago. The room we stayed in was basic at best. The room service guys were not efficient. Their anwer to many of our questions were "i don't know".
Staff at the morning buffet were slow, did not follow any requests & the space was generally dirty.The food at the breakfast buffet was average in taste & food once over was not refilled.
very unimpressive. I am appalled to know that the management believes that their services are worthy of the hefty sum they charge.Its a unfair exchange where the guests will only feel like they got the short end of the stick.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank printstack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HJayaShankar, General Manager at MGM Beach Resorts, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Dear Guest ,

Firstly , let me thank you for your valuable time taken to share your experiences with us.

It is our earnest endeavor that we work towards Guest Experience at all times. It is so unfortunate that we could not meet your expectation on your recent stay with us.

In order to rectify and provide you better experience on your next visit, we would like to know the date of stay and room number etc to find the root cause and address your concern.
Your valuable feedback has been shared with our team members and we assure you that we will continuously strive to raise the bar .

Looking forward to hearing from you.

With Warm Regards,
H.Jaya Shankar Gupta
General Manager
MGM Beach Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delhi
Level Contributor
58 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2013

Visited over the weekend- is extremely busy n popular at this time. Despite they were able to maintain service n quality. Rooms are cottages- small but comfortable. Nearby play park is an attraction. Food was great- had breakfast and dinner both satisfactory. Beach is great in the morning, restaurant is on the beach. Seafood is fresh and recommended.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Freqtravdel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jaya S, General Manager at MGM Beach Resorts, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
Dear Sir ,

Greetings from MGM Beach Resort ,

It is with great pride that , we at the MGM beach resort , thank you for having given us an opportunity to serve you .

We are happy to note that our resort surpassed your expectation levels in total and that you had a memorable experience.

Your valuable feedbacks have been shared with our entire team .

Looking forward towards meeting you soon .

With Warm Wishes.

H.JAYA SHANKAR GUPTA
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Muttukadu
14.1 mi away
Grande Bay Resort and Spa
Grande Bay Resort and Spa
#2 of 27 in Mahabalipuram
4.5 of 5 bubbles 350 reviews
1.9 mi away
Vivanta by Taj - Fisherman's Cove
5.9 mi away
MGM Eastwoods
MGM Eastwoods
#73 of 386 in Chennai (Madras)
4.0 of 5 bubbles 91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.4 mi away
Radisson BLU Resort Temple Bay Mamallapuram
6.1 mi away
VGP Golden Beach Resort
VGP Golden Beach Resort
#197 of 386 in Chennai (Madras)
3.0 of 5 bubbles 85 reviews
6.2 mi away
InterContinental Chennai Mahabalipuram Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to MGM Beach Resorts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MGM Beach Resorts

Property: MGM Beach Resorts
Address: 1/74, East Coast Road | Chennai, Muttukadu 603112, India
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > Chennai District > Muttukadu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Muttukadu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — MGM Beach Resorts 4.5*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Perfect Gateway- Sun-drenched Beaches & an Oasis of Calm…Golden sands run like a luminous ribbon, gift-wrapping the exquisite MGM Beach Resorts, even as lapping waves of the Bay of Bengal gush in to caress the jagged coastline. Imagine 30 acres of lush, sprawling lawns, dotted with over 88 charming cottages, rooms and suites. Tall coconut trees stand as sentinels, overlooking the winding pathways, undulating lawns and colourful flowering shrubs. The traditional architecture boasts of majestic Mangalore-tiled sloping roofs, gently dissolving into the horizon. The end result is a charming, back-to-basics yet urban resort for you to unwind.MGM Beach Resorts first opened its doors to hospitality, way back in 1993. With over 17 years of experience in this sector, apart from spectacular views, sun-drenched beaches and memorable holidays, we offer you only the best: warm hospitality, modern amenities, attentive service and professional expertise. Come holiday with us to experience a tranquil vacation or a delightful weekend getaway…We provide you with the ultimate romantic Wedding Destination. If you’ve always dreamt of a wedding by the beach, with lacy waves and a distant horizon forming the backdrop, then MGM Beach Resort prides itself at making this a reality. Whether it’s a bachelorette party, a stag-do, a sangeet under a canopy of stars or the wedding ceremony itself, just fix the date, and leave the rest to us…Business is our business! Choose MGM Beach Resorts as the venue for a conference, a business meet or for hosting a business dinner. Our three well-equipped conference halls, mini boardrooms and a functional business centre can accommodate your business clients and needs. We offer you state-of-the-art corporate facilities backed by impeccable service, and we mean business! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Agoda, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your MGM Beach Resorts reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mgm Beach Hotel Muttukadu
Quality Hotel Mgm Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing