We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely location but poor maintenance”
Review of MGM Beach Resorts

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
MGM Beach Resorts
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Muttukadu
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 24, 2013

I was returning to this hotel after many years along with my family. When the kids were small, we used to go to this hotel very often. The location is fabulous for short weekend trips and the beach is very nice. The property is large and spread out. Many years ago, the number of rooms were not much and the service and maintenance were very good.
I was disappointed with the room this trip. We checked into two new suites and both were very disappointing. The bathrooms were very poorly maintained and the toilet seats had permanent stains. The air conditioning in one of the rooms was not able to cool the room. There were very limited choices in television channels too and even the IPL game was not available.
The food was the most disappointing part. It used to be quite good, but things seemed to have taken a turn for the worse. The dinner and breakfast was quite tasteless though the spread was good.
The only positive factor remains the staff, who are still very friendly and helpful.
It seems that the management may be looking to cater to more conference and meeting groups than to families and that is sad as this is an excellent property. There are way too many rooms now and there seems to be a total breakdown in maintenance and upkeep.
I would not recommend this property for a family beach trip.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tommasoinn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ajai K, General Manager at MGM Beach Resorts, responded to this reviewResponded April 28, 2013

Dear sir ,

firstly , let me thank you for being one of our privileged guest .

we are happy to note that you have like the hospitality extended by our team.

it is our assurance to you that , we are in process of continuously upgrading our property , so as to extend best possible comfort to our guests.your valuable suggestions will also be incorporated in this regard.

looking forward towards ,having a continued relationship with you.

thanks and regards.

H.JAYA SHA NKAR GUPTA
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (852)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

710 - 716 of 852 reviews

Reviewed April 9, 2013

Thumbs up :
Beautiful property
The beach is very beautiful and clean..not at all crowded
Pool is pretty good too
Rooms were nice and clean..well planned

Thumbs down :
Poor service
Our bathroom was stinking
We ordered something..were brought something else, without even being checked with
Had to wait for over an hour for 4 cups of coffee
Staff was least apologetic
It was way too overpriced for the pathetic service.

We enjoyed the place only because we had very good company.

Room Tip: We were in the Park facing room..which we loved.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank PriankaMitra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ajai K, General Manager at MGM Beach Resorts, responded to this reviewResponded April 13, 2013

Dear Madam ,

Firstly , I would like to thank you for the valuable time you have taken to share your experience with us.

We are happy to note that you have liked our beach resort , rooms and the swimming pool.

your valuable feedbacks have been shared with the concerned departments and actions have been initiated in order to ensure enhanced guest comfort.

it is our assurance to you that we will continue to work harder in order to meet up to your expectations next time you stay with us.

thanking you once again,

H.JAYA SHANKAR GUPTA
GENERAL MANAGER

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

First the plus-es

Resort location is good. We stayed in the Park View room and the room layout and decor was excellent. Food (breakfast and dinner buffet) is decent. Live music at Dinner was wonderful - sitar and tabla.

And the negatives.

Service: Whatever is good at this resort is negated by the pathetic service.
Reception: We had booked 2 Park View rooms (we were 2 couples). We booked the room in advance paid in full. 1 day before our arrival we called the resort and once again the morning before we arrived. Yet we were made to wait an hour before we got the first room. The second one got ready a good 2 hours later and that too after so many calls. For the kind of money they charge one would at least expect courteous staff. But no, they were even plain rude acting as though they were doing us a favor.
Room Service: They took 90 minutes to bring coffee that too after 3 remainders. Most of the time the room service calls went unattended. A few times someone picked and simply cut the call (this was before we got through to order our coffee).
Room maintenance: We were horrified to find hair in the shower drains when we checked in. Its pathetic to see others mess - at 6500 a night you would atleast expect the rooms to be clean.

Another major issue at the resort is the crowd. There were women clad in full track suits in the pool and those of us who wore swimsuits were ogled at unbashedly. After a while I regretted not booking Ideal or Radisson Temple Bay.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Keerthana_Sethu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ajai K, General Manager at MGM Beach Resorts, responded to this reviewResponded April 13, 2013

Dear Madam ,

firstly , I thank you for your valuable feedbacks shared with us.

these will be of great assistance for our entire team in order to work towards meeting guests expectations.

it is our endeavor that we will work harder towards enhanced comfortable stay with us the next time you stay with us.

thanking you once again .

H.JAYA SHANKAR GUPTA
GENERAL MANAGER

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2013

Checked in on the 14th March 2013 . Got the cottage closest to the beach and the one next to it. The rooms are okay, showing signs of wear and tear. The air-conditioning was not working in one of the rooms (we had taken two rooms).

It has its own private beach where our kids really enjoyed. The sea is a bit rough, so swimming is a no no. There is a good sized lawn where the kids could play around.
Apart from this there is nothing much great about this hotel/resort. The food isn’t great, the gym is quite sub standard though big in size. I did not check out the spa as the rest of the set up did not impress at all.

Would not recommend this to anyone. The only good thing about this hotel is the location and the friendly staff.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank FranklinRalte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ajai K, VP - MGM Hotels and Resorts at MGM Beach Resorts, responded to this reviewResponded April 4, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback on the Trip Advisor on your recent stay at our hotel. I will convey the positive aspects of your stay to the team who will be enthused to meet and exceed your expectations every time you stay with us.

I have also noted the issues you have highlighted with concern and will ensure that corrective action is taken as soon as possible.

We look forward to welcome you back and assure you our best services at all times.

Best regards,

Ajai Kacker
VP – MGM Hotels and Resorts
09566055535

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2013

MGM resort offered an excellent stay and conference facilities. The staff was helpful and took good care. if the staff was little sensitive to the guests it would have helped however it is a minor glitch in this excellent property. The location is excellent.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jain_jim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ajai K, VP - MGM Hotels and Resorts at MGM Beach Resorts, responded to this reviewResponded April 4, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback on the Trip Advisor on your recent stay at our hotel. I will convey the positive aspects of your stay to the team who will be enthused to meet and exceed your expectations every time you stay with us.

I have also noted the issues you have highlighted with concern and will ensure that corrective action is taken as soon as possible.

We look forward to welcome you back and assure you our best services at all times.

Best regards,

Ajai Kacker
VP – MGM Hotels and Resorts
09566055535

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2013 via mobile

Five of us went over here about a week ago to beat the hustle and bustle of the city and believe me it was just that. When they say that they are rooms facing the beach , they mean it ( a few of them, if your lucky to get it ) . We checked in the evening and were booked in to the club suites.

Upon check we were offered welcome drinks and the cold towel and after all the formalities were taken to our rooms. When we got there we didn't first like the location of the rooms because they were behind the hotel and plus their were some corporate events taking place and the music was just too loud. Headed back to the reception to get out rooms changed but the front desk staff just wasn't courteous and said that they weren't any good rooms available .

The manager of the hotel Mr Haja was called who was really sweet enough it upgrade us after getting to know our situation. But then again our upgraded rooms wasn't too far away for the music .

We asked him to downgrade us to better rooms and then we go the rooms right opp the beach the restaurant , wow this couldn't get any better, right next to the pool, beach and beach front coffee shop .

Go during the night for a beach walk and you will see turtles coming on to the beach to lay eggs. A very rare sight for us if you ask me.

Overall we really buoyed our stay and some
Of the staff were really helpful and the beach being so clean and guarded.

I highly recommend the place and ask for the rooms facing the beach ( the thatched roofs club suites)

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Saif A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ajai K, VP - MGM Hotels and Resorts at MGM Beach Resorts, responded to this reviewResponded April 4, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback on the Trip Advisor on your recent stay at our hotel. I will convey the positive aspects of your stay to the team who will be enthused to meet and exceed your expectations every time you stay with us.

We look forward to welcome you back and assure you our best services at all times.

Best regards,

Ajai Kacker
VP – MGM Hotels and Resorts
09566055535

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2013

If you are looking for horrible place and ignorant staff. MGM is the place to go.
They care less for indians. You can see them run behind any foreign groups though. So if you are indian, avoid visiting this place.
They made us wait for over 2 hrs before they checked us in.

The rooms were not great for the money and did have cheap toiletteries. The rooms did not even have towels. In total we hired 3 room and we had 4 towels across the 3 rooms. After repeated calls and visits to reception, they still never brought any towels to the room.

Room service, non existant. Anything you want, just go get it yourself. There are so many staff all over the place, wonder what they are doing.

Lunch buffet, pricey and poor. Food was not refilled in time and even never refilled in many cases. Felt let down for having even tried their buffet. In the end we went out for dinner with the whole group.

On checkout when complained, they did not even seem to care. He just gave a complaint form and asked me to fill it in. Basically he did not want to lend a ear.

Avoid this place if you are looking for pleasant stay.

Siva

Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
6  Thank Siva S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ajai K, VP - MGM Hotels and Resorts at MGM Beach Resorts, responded to this reviewResponded March 1, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback on the Trip Advisor on your recent stay at our hotel. I will convey the positive aspects of your stay to the team who will be enthused to meet and exceed your expectations every time you stay with us.

I have also noted the issues you have highlighted with concern and will ensure that corrective action is taken as soon as possible.

We look forward to welcome you back and assure you our best services at all times.

Best regards,

Ajai Kacker
VP – MGM Hotels and Resorts
09566055535

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Muttukadu
2 mi away
Vivanta by Taj - Fisherman's Cove
12.8 mi away
Radisson BLU Resort Temple Bay Mamallapuram
15.7 mi away
Chariot Beach Resort
Chariot Beach Resort
#6 of 29 in Mahabalipuram
510 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 mi away
InterContinental Chennai Mahabalipuram Resort
13.1 mi away
WelcomHotel Kences Palm Beach
WelcomHotel Kences Palm Beach
#1 of 29 in Mahabalipuram
241 reviews
14.2 mi away
Grande Bay Resort and Spa
Grande Bay Resort and Spa
#3 of 29 in Mahabalipuram
449 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to MGM Beach Resorts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MGM Beach Resorts

Address: 1/74, East Coast Road | Chennai, Muttukadu 603112, India
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > Chennai District > Muttukadu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Muttukadu
Price Range: $98 - $160 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — MGM Beach Resorts 3.5*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Perfect Gateway- Sun-drenched Beaches & an Oasis of Calm…Golden sands run like a luminous ribbon, gift-wrapping the exquisite MGM Beach Resorts, even as lapping waves of the Bay of Bengal gush in to caress the jagged coastline. Imagine 30 acres of lush, sprawling lawns, dotted with over 88 charming cottages, rooms and suites. Tall coconut trees stand as sentinels, overlooking the winding pathways, undulating lawns and colourful flowering shrubs. The traditional architecture boasts of majestic Mangalore-tiled sloping roofs, gently dissolving into the horizon. The end result is a charming, back-to-basics yet urban resort for you to unwind.MGM Beach Resorts first opened its doors to hospitality, way back in 1993. With over 17 years of experience in this sector, apart from spectacular views, sun-drenched beaches and memorable holidays, we offer you only the best: warm hospitality, modern amenities, attentive service and professional expertise. Come holiday with us to experience a tranquil vacation or a delightful weekend getaway…We provide you with the ultimate romantic Wedding Destination. If you’ve always dreamt of a wedding by the beach, with lacy waves and a distant horizon forming the backdrop, then MGM Beach Resort prides itself at making this a reality. Whether it’s a bachelorette party, a stag-do, a sangeet under a canopy of stars or the wedding ceremony itself, just fix the date, and leave the rest to us…Business is our business! Choose MGM Beach Resorts as the venue for a conference, a business meet or for hosting a business dinner. Our three well-equipped conference halls, mini boardrooms and a functional business centre can accommodate your business clients and needs. We offer you state-of-the-art corporate facilities backed by impeccable service, and we mean business! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your MGM Beach Resorts reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mgm Beach Hotel Muttukadu
Quality Hotel Mgm Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing