We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great combo of work and pleasure”
Review of MGM Beach Resorts

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
MGM Beach Resorts
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Muttukadu
Certificate of Excellence
Mumbai
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“A great combo of work and pleasure”
Reviewed March 9, 2013

MGM resort offered an excellent stay and conference facilities. The staff was helpful and took good care. if the staff was little sensitive to the guests it would have helped however it is a minor glitch in this excellent property. The location is excellent.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jain_jim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ajai K, VP - MGM Hotels and Resorts at MGM Beach Resorts, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback on the Trip Advisor on your recent stay at our hotel. I will convey the positive aspects of your stay to the team who will be enthused to meet and exceed your expectations every time you stay with us.

I have also noted the issues you have highlighted with concern and will ensure that corrective action is taken as soon as possible.

We look forward to welcome you back and assure you our best services at all times.

Best regards,

Ajai Kacker
VP – MGM Hotels and Resorts
09566055535
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

791 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    301
    287
    102
    49
    52
See reviews for
350
145
7
132
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (211)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Bangalore
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviewed February 26, 2013 via mobile

Five of us went over here about a week ago to beat the hustle and bustle of the city and believe me it was just that. When they say that they are rooms facing the beach , they mean it ( a few of them, if your lucky to get it ) . We checked in the evening and were booked in to the club suites.

Upon check we were offered welcome drinks and the cold towel and after all the formalities were taken to our rooms. When we got there we didn't first like the location of the rooms because they were behind the hotel and plus their were some corporate events taking place and the music was just too loud. Headed back to the reception to get out rooms changed but the front desk staff just wasn't courteous and said that they weren't any good rooms available .

The manager of the hotel Mr Haja was called who was really sweet enough it upgrade us after getting to know our situation. But then again our upgraded rooms wasn't too far away for the music .

We asked him to downgrade us to better rooms and then we go the rooms right opp the beach the restaurant , wow this couldn't get any better, right next to the pool, beach and beach front coffee shop .

Go during the night for a beach walk and you will see turtles coming on to the beach to lay eggs. A very rare sight for us if you ask me.

Overall we really buoyed our stay and some
Of the staff were really helpful and the beach being so clean and guarded.

I highly recommend the place and ask for the rooms facing the beach ( the thatched roofs club suites)

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Saif A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ajai K, VP - MGM Hotels and Resorts at MGM Beach Resorts, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback on the Trip Advisor on your recent stay at our hotel. I will convey the positive aspects of your stay to the team who will be enthused to meet and exceed your expectations every time you stay with us.

We look forward to welcome you back and assure you our best services at all times.

Best regards,

Ajai Kacker
VP – MGM Hotels and Resorts
09566055535
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2013 via mobile

If you are looking for horrible place and ignorant staff. MGM is the place to go.
They care less for indians. You can see them run behind any foreign groups though. So if you are indian, avoid visiting this place.
They made us wait for over 2 hrs before they checked us in.

The rooms were not great for the money and did have cheap toiletteries. The rooms did not even have towels. In total we hired 3 room and we had 4 towels across the 3 rooms. After repeated calls and visits to reception, they still never brought any towels to the room.

Room service, non existant. Anything you want, just go get it yourself. There are so many staff all over the place, wonder what they are doing.

Lunch buffet, pricey and poor. Food was not refilled in time and even never refilled in many cases. Felt let down for having even tried their buffet. In the end we went out for dinner with the whole group.

On checkout when complained, they did not even seem to care. He just gave a complaint form and asked me to fill it in. Basically he did not want to lend a ear.

Avoid this place if you are looking for pleasant stay.

Siva

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
6 Thank Siva S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ajai K, VP - MGM Hotels and Resorts at MGM Beach Resorts, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback on the Trip Advisor on your recent stay at our hotel. I will convey the positive aspects of your stay to the team who will be enthused to meet and exceed your expectations every time you stay with us.

I have also noted the issues you have highlighted with concern and will ensure that corrective action is taken as soon as possible.

We look forward to welcome you back and assure you our best services at all times.

Best regards,

Ajai Kacker
VP – MGM Hotels and Resorts
09566055535
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodside, California
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2013

When I first arrived here, I was pretty disappointed. Lots and lots of deferred maintenance - nothing really works anymore. But as I stayed for a few days, the place sort of grew on me. It's certainly a nice big piece of property, in a very nice setting. Like most things, it's a matter of expectations. If you arrive thinking "Beach Resort, Hawaii Style", you will be very disappointed. The place is a bit run-down, and feral dogs roam the beach. But if you are thinking "a nice little out-of-the-way place outside the craziness of Chennai", you'll find that it is that.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BretWaters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ajai K, VP - MGM Hotels and Resorts at MGM Beach Resorts, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback on the Trip Advisor on your recent stay at our hotel. I will convey the positive aspects of your stay to the team who will be enthused to meet and exceed your expectations every time you stay with us.

I have also noted the issues you have highlighted with concern and will ensure that corrective action is taken as soon as possible.

We look forward to welcome you back and assure you our best services at all times.

Best regards,

Ajai Kacker
VP – MGM Hotels and Resorts
09566055535
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level 5 Contributor
40 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2013

We stayed at MGM resort from th 4th jan 2013 and checkout on 6th jan 2013. They have clean rooms but the shower dosent have hot water, you can have a bucket bath with hot water. The staff were very polite and food was of average quality.They have a breakfast buffet which was good but lunch buffet was very average. As for being a beach resort, the beach is very vwery dirty and there was no effort from the hotels side to clean it.
From the hotel we booked a car to drop us to Pondicherry which was a ripoff but they gave us a very bad old Tata Bolero with bad suspension and charged us Rs 4000/- saying that we are giving you a discount of six hundred as the charges are rs4600/-.The driver was good and showed Mahabalipuram which falls on the way , which was a saving grace.So don t book any car from the hotel reception desk as it will cost my only rs 2350 maximum, as on our way back from Pondichery to chennai city we were charged only rs2650/ longer distance, that too a better and brand new tata indigo.I will not reccommend this resort to any one.Check the net and book your car directly as you will pay much less and will get a better car.

Room Tip: take the rooms facing the lawn as the sea beach is at a distance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank palit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ajai K, VP - MGM Hotels and Resorts at MGM Beach Resorts, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback on the Trip Advisor on your recent stay at our hotel. I will convey the positive aspects of your stay to the team who will be enthused to meet and exceed your expectations every time you stay with us.

I have also noted the issues you have highlighted with concern and will ensure that corrective action is taken as soon as possible.

We look forward to welcome you back and assure you our best services at all times.

Best regards,

Ajai Kacker
VP – MGM Hotels and Resorts
09566055535
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2013

This is a grossly over-priced place. Be aware that their 'Club Suite' is not at all a Suite but is just a regular room. The way they name is extremely mis-leading and hence they get away with the atrocious prices for the same. They have some really good rooms right next to the beach at the same price but they reserve it for groups. My advice is that unless have money to spare please avoid this place.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ssumakant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ajai K, VP - MGM Hotels and Resorts at MGM Beach Resorts, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback on the Trip Advisor on your recent stay at our hotel. I will convey the positive aspects of your stay to the team who will be enthused to meet and exceed your expectations every time you stay with us.

I have also noted the issues you have highlighted with concern and will ensure that corrective action is taken as soon as possible.

We look forward to welcome you back and assure you our best services at all times.

Best regards,

Ajai Kacker
VP – MGM Hotels and Resorts
09566055535
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai (Madras), India
Level 6 Contributor
230 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed January 18, 2013

We stayed at the MGM beach Resort at Chennai Jan 13-14th 2013. The Stay was Great. The Hotel is on a Fantastic Location. has a Good Beach and a Pool. The Rooms were OK, but the bedding could have been better. Food was great. Enjoyed our Stay...Will be back soon.

Room Tip: Try the Club Suite Rooms they are located better and have privacy
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CyrilGubbi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ajai K, VP - MGM Hotels and Resorts at MGM Beach Resorts, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback on the Trip Advisor on your recent stay at our hotel. I will convey the positive aspects of your stay to the team who will be enthused to meet and exceed your expectations every time you stay with us.

We look forward to welcome you back and assure you our best services at all times.

Best regards,

Ajai Kacker
VP – MGM Hotels and Resorts
09566055535
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Muttukadu
14.4 mi away
Radisson BLU Resort Temple Bay Mamallapuram
14.2 mi away
Grande Bay Resort and Spa
Grande Bay Resort and Spa
#3 of 27 in Mahabalipuram
393 reviews
5.8 mi away
MGM Eastwoods
MGM Eastwoods
#81 of 398 in Chennai (Madras)
99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Vivanta by Taj - Fisherman's Cove
6.3 mi away
InterContinental Chennai Mahabalipuram Resort
6.1 mi away
VGP Golden Beach Resort
VGP Golden Beach Resort
#232 of 398 in Chennai (Madras)
92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to MGM Beach Resorts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MGM Beach Resorts

Property: MGM Beach Resorts
Address: 1/74, East Coast Road | Chennai, Muttukadu 603112, India
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > Chennai District > Muttukadu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Muttukadu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — MGM Beach Resorts 3.5*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Perfect Gateway- Sun-drenched Beaches & an Oasis of Calm…Golden sands run like a luminous ribbon, gift-wrapping the exquisite MGM Beach Resorts, even as lapping waves of the Bay of Bengal gush in to caress the jagged coastline. Imagine 30 acres of lush, sprawling lawns, dotted with over 88 charming cottages, rooms and suites. Tall coconut trees stand as sentinels, overlooking the winding pathways, undulating lawns and colourful flowering shrubs. The traditional architecture boasts of majestic Mangalore-tiled sloping roofs, gently dissolving into the horizon. The end result is a charming, back-to-basics yet urban resort for you to unwind.MGM Beach Resorts first opened its doors to hospitality, way back in 1993. With over 17 years of experience in this sector, apart from spectacular views, sun-drenched beaches and memorable holidays, we offer you only the best: warm hospitality, modern amenities, attentive service and professional expertise. Come holiday with us to experience a tranquil vacation or a delightful weekend getaway…We provide you with the ultimate romantic Wedding Destination. If you’ve always dreamt of a wedding by the beach, with lacy waves and a distant horizon forming the backdrop, then MGM Beach Resort prides itself at making this a reality. Whether it’s a bachelorette party, a stag-do, a sangeet under a canopy of stars or the wedding ceremony itself, just fix the date, and leave the rest to us…Business is our business! Choose MGM Beach Resorts as the venue for a conference, a business meet or for hosting a business dinner. Our three well-equipped conference halls, mini boardrooms and a functional business centre can accommodate your business clients and needs. We offer you state-of-the-art corporate facilities backed by impeccable service, and we mean business! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your MGM Beach Resorts reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mgm Beach Hotel Muttukadu
Quality Hotel Mgm Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing