We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (107)
Filter reviews
107 results
Traveler rating
14
29
22
19
23
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
14
29
22
19
23
See what travelers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
73 - 78 of 107 reviews
Reviewed January 13, 2013

As a part of our Kerala trip, we stayed in this hotel. From the pictures, it seemed a great place to be but we were very disappointed.

Locaiton: The hotel is located near one of the most popular beaches, Ashok beach. But don't be misguided as some reviews say, it's a "private beach". It's not a private beach. It's completely public crowded beach. It takes around 200-300m walk to reach the beach. The path is not well maintained either. It stinks and dirty. Because of that you can't visit the beach in the night even if you want to. The rooms aren't well maintained either. The look very old and in need of maintenance. While checking out, I even heard some guests complaining about bugs/cockroaches found in their room.The nearby property, KTDC Samudra, is much better managed than this.

Service: This was probably the worst part of the stay. The room we were provided was stinking until they had to use air freshener. The hot water wasn't coming in the bathroom. The housekeeping came and kept repairing for an hour, when we were wasting our time there just waiting. After which he told us that we'd have to shift the room. The new room had the same stinking. After some time, the A/C started leaking in the new room. The shower wasn't working well and in spite of requests, it was never fixed until we left. Overall, killed our experience.

Food: We opted for MAP plan (includes breakfast and dinner). From the looks of it, the buffet had variety, but overall the food was not satisfying at all. If there is one good item, rest assured, it'd be empty at the table. Most of the standard food like corn flakes, were of below par quality.

Overall, during our stay one of their representatives was asking us to opt for Country Club membership. After such a poor service, I doubt anyone would go for the membership.

Room Tip: Do not choose standard rooms to say the least. Poorly maintained and suffocating
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank nishitd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2013

We stayed for 3 nights in the resort during December.The stay was plaesant ,room was clean and had good aesthetic furniture.Food was also moderately priced and good.The main attraction was that the secluded patch of Kovalam beach called Ashoka beach was only a stones throw from the backside of the resort and was least crowded unlike the main Howah beach in Kovalam.We used it like a private beach.The two swimming were well maintained and good.Most importantly we checked some other hotels and tariff in two hotels in Kovalam,the two other hotels with lesser facilities were charging almost double of what this hotel was charging us.@ 3000/night it was quite reasonable during the period.We recomend it as a good 3 star hotel in Kovalam

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank karthikeyan1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2013

We were given this on an RCI exchange so it was free for us. the reviews are probably justified but it would take very little for them to make this a lot better. First the management at the front desk were very helpful, and I cannot fault them. They changed our first room when we asked (it overlooked the restaurant and smelt), the second was much nicer. But I have to say the toilet didn't look it was cleaned and the sink was cracked badly. And there was almost never hot water in the shower. The air conditioning was incredibly noisy but they did improve that a bit for us. And there are no partial kitchen facilities at all - but we did have a fridge. But no kettle. And attempts to get hot water just failed most days. Our telephone didn't work ever. The towels smelt (we think from the spa) but they did change them when asked. The spa treatments were good - but my second one was ruined by the massuese being interuppted (by a boyfriend?) at the door about 10 plus times. The location was off the beaten track - you had to take a tuk tuk - but this was not difficult or expensive and we quite liked the chance to see the back streets. The restaurant was poky and unattractive so we avoided that - that's a definite area for improvement. And no bar. Just a little extra spent on this place would bring it up to scratch. We were well warned by the reviews so took an "exotic Marigold" approach - Staff were great and that made a huge difference.

Room Tip: Avoid the restaurant block
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GoldenGapper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2013

It was our last 2 days stay of honeymoon trip in Country Spa. The first thing we saw after entering to room was cockroaches...! Terrible...!
No phone connectivity... TV was not working...! No towels in the room...!
Everytime we had to run to the reception for assistance. We purchased some fruits from local market and what we requested was 'An empty plate'... The restaurant manager told, "We provide plates only with the food..!' Worst experience at the end of our honeymoon trip.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank dr_purushottampatil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2013

As a member of RCI for many years and having experienced RCI affiliated resorts in India and abroad, this one was such a let down. The location of the property was so poor and it started with absolutely no signages on the entire way from the airport and if we had not hired the car from the resort we would have had a hard time finding the same.
The beach they say is 5 mins away. Yes that is true, if you want to reach the same you have to chance a broken ankle or something, such is the way to the beach with steep climb up and down and ZERO lights.
The condition of the rooms was so poor and ill maintained with threadbare towels, rough, yellow and seemingly unwashed bed sheets. They were not even changed for the 4 days that we were there. The light fixtures and the furniture fitting which were borken were not even replaced. The staff has no concept of housekeeping and the same was done at 8pm in the night one day and that also on our returning from a whole day excursion.
As for the restaurant we made a mistake of eating on day one, with uncleaned tables, unfilled food trays, no glasses for water unless reminded, cold food etc, etc. it was a bad experience
All in all look for other options .............

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Neepa N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abdul_Qadiri, Manager at Country Spa Wellness Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded June 13, 2016

Dear Guest,

At the outset, please allow me to apologize for the delay in responding to you.

We are sorry to know about your unfavourable experience at our hotel and thank you for taking out the time to let us know.

It is our endeavour that every guest of the CCIL has an outstanding experience each time they visit any of our hotels. On the rare occasion when this does not happen, we are extremely grateful for the chance to make up for it.

We hope that this experience will not repeat itself and that all your future visits to our hotels meet the high standards that are expected of the CCIL.

We thank you once again for allowing us to serve you and look forward to welcome you back soon.

If I can be of any assistance in the meanwhile please do let me know.

Warm regards,

Abdul Qader
Resort Manager
Country Spa Wellness Beach Resort
Ashok Beach,Kovalam.P.O
Thiruvananthapuram-695 527
email:headopskovalam@countryclubmail.com
Contact :0471 6610606
Mob: +91 08089007676

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews