We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Romantic getaway”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Country Spa Wellness Beach Resort
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Kovalam
Gurgaon, Haryana, India
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Romantic getaway”
Reviewed December 19, 2012

My husband and I visited Country Spa Wellness Beach Resort, Kovalam from 17th to 20th August 2012. We had made reservations in advance and had requested for a beach facing room. As promised, we got a great view of the beach. The room had an old world charm about it, with wicker and old wood furniture. It just added to the ambience of the stay. The room was clean and all the necessary amenities were available. The resort is literally a stone's throw from the beach. So you can just go for a stroll as and when you please. We went for a swim in the pool at the resort. It was clean and well maintained. The food at the resort was decent. The staff at the reception desk is very friendly and helpful. When we inquired about ways to move around the place and places to visit, they were good enough to arrange for a cab or a rickshaw with a trustworthy driver to take us sight seeing and shopping. Unfortunately, I didn't have the time to visit the ayurveda centre. Overall, the stay was lovely and I'm looking forward to visiting again, this time for a longer stay so that I can really enjoy the resort.

Room Tip: Ask for a beach facing room. These are away from the public areas of the resort. So you can enjoy so...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aarti_sc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    28
    20
    17
    23
See reviews for
59
26
3
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi, India
1 review
Reviewed December 11, 2012

I am staying in the resort for FIRST time.Both instances it was mainly to use the Ayurveda massages which they are famous for.We availed 7 days package in Ayurveda there.It was very good and was under the supervision of a doctor.The rooms were clean and good but not very spacious.The food was good and reasonably priced.The breakfast buffet perhaps had a good choice for their Indian clients but our choice was limited to breads,sausages and a couple of other. Continental items,but nothing to complain about,and was priced reasonable.Beach was very near to their back gate eventhough the path down to the beach was little steep we enjoyed plenty of time in the beach.The swimming pool was well maintained and clean.The overall experience was refreshing and pleasant

Room Tip: "Go for it....Best one." "Service at its best"
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank devchabbra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ahmedabad, Gujarat, India
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed November 27, 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights here. Hotel rooms are old and not clean. Service is not good. Staff is very less and the can't manage multiple requests at time. Though check in time is 12 noon we reached there at 2 PM still they have not cleaned our rooms. There was one extra bed in my room and the take more than 1 hour to take away after my request. I have to call them 2 - 4 times to do it. We have to wait for 30 mins out side because room was not clean even it's 2 pm and we had advance booking for our room. I will not prefer this hotel for couples or family.

Room Tip: Please do not choose rooms near their generator room. There is so much noise around. Try to choose g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VatsalDesai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
drsibi, General Manager at Country Spa Wellness Beach Resort, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
Dear Mr.Vatsal,I am sorry to hear that you were not satisfied with your stay in our resort,but the check in time as mentioned in the review is not right and our check in time is 2 pm and check out time is 12 noon to which we stick on precisely.And your reservation request has come to us with an extra bed so that we have placed and extra bed in advance to your room.But we have noticed the generator area to be noicy and has already started the work of acoustic enclosure rework to sort the problem.Sorry for the inconvenience.
Dr.Sibi.M.S
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Kovalam hotels

Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed November 7, 2012

I had been here with my family in October 2012, we had booked 2 superior rooms. The resort is slight difficultt to find out as it is located in residential area. The rooms are quite good & spacious, the food quality is excellent with vast variety mouth watering dishes for breakfast & dinner, room service too good but house keeping all the more worst as they do not immediately report after the complain. I stayed here for 1 day.. They have Spa & body message which are average & charging high money, swimming pool maintained very neat, 1 person is after the cleaning of the pool....Beach is also 3 mins walkable distance....

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank starlet2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
drsibi, General Manager at Country Spa Wellness Beach Resort, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
Dear Sir,We are delighted to hear that we have matched your expectation.Thank you for the encouraging feedback.
Thanks
Dr.Sibi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trivandrum
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2012

I am a lifetime member of Country Club and a regular visitor of Country Spa Kovalam. Me and my wife accompanied with my cousins visit the club every weekend for swimming. I had recently hosted my birthday party here for my friends. We were about 10-15 in numbers and had a great time. At first though had some confusion regarding the use of AC hall, the staffs were polite enough to sort out the problem pretty fast. The food was very good and the room was neat and spacious. I also utilize the ayurvedic spa sessions here and am pretty satisfied with it. The only difficulty I have encountered here is regarding the food serving time here. As a regular visitor I would request the management to serve food a bit more earlier. (now dinner is served only by 7:30 pm). I would request that at least a session of foods be made available a bit earlier so that we can have a soup or some snacks after enjoying at the pool! Anyways I am a happy customer!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Navin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2012

I booked this Resort (4 Rooms) during last week of September 2012. I was told by RCI that this Resort was recently renovated and is receiving some excellent reviews. Definitely NOT!!!

The Deluxe Apartments meant for RCI Members are situated at a pathetic location just 10 meters away from the entrance to the resort. The only view that you will get from your rooms are people coming in and going out of the resort. People expecting beach view since they claim this a Beach Resort will be in for a shocker to start with. They do not have anything for entertainment except for 1 Swimming Pool. Resort sponsored activities can be enjoyed only in dream in this resort.

Partial Kitchen is just limited to a microwave oven and coffee maker. How do they expect the visitors to use them without a single cutlery? No Plates, Spoons, Glasses and utensils available. Upon multiple requests, they gave a few of them with great hesitancy. Air conditioning did not work in 2 of the 4 rooms that I booked. They could not repair it for almost a day and the second day, they repaired just one. We had to live without AC in one of our room for the whole holiday. Pathetic!!!

Resort Staffs do not know the meaning of HOSPITALITY. None of them even have a smiling face to begin with… Their approach towards the visitors made me think are we here for charity or on paid vacation? Do I need to say more?

Room Tip: I will not suggest travellers to select this resort at all!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Surya79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abdul_Qadiri, Manager at Country Spa Wellness Beach Resort, responded to this review, June 13, 2016
Dear Guest,

At the outset, please allow me to apologize for the delay in responding to you.

We are sorry to know about your unfavourable experience at our hotel and thank you for taking out the time to let us know.

It is our endeavour that every guest of the CCIL has an outstanding experience each time they visit any of our hotels. On the rare occasion when this does not happen, we are extremely grateful for the chance to make up for it.

We hope that this experience will not repeat itself and that all your future visits to our hotels meet the high standards that are expected of the CCIL.

We thank you once again for allowing us to serve you and look forward to welcome you back soon.

If I can be of any assistance in the meanwhile please do let me know.

Warm regards,

Abdul Qader
Resort Manager
Country Spa Wellness Beach Resort
Ashok Beach,Kovalam.P.O
Thiruvananthapuram-695 527
email:headopskovalam@countryclubmail.com
Contact :0471 6610606
Mob: +91 08089007676
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grimsby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2012

This was the worst place i have ever stayed in! From the minute we arrived at the gates with their pealing paint, I thought things were not looking good. We had been used to a week of being greeted by refreshing drinks, garlands and hot flannels. Here we were greeted by a man who stared at us as he peered at our passports, it only got worse! We were taken to our accomodation which had a musty smell as soon as we walked in, the bathroom was disgusting with mould in the grouting, nearly everything was old battered and shabby, nothing was well maintained, the kitchen units as well as the bathroom needed pulling out and starting again! The fan looked as if it was about to fall off the cealing. We asked to move and to be fair they did offer us two rooms in a different part, all be it with a view towards the sea which included a barbed wire fence around the property!. This second property had a treck of many stairs to reach it, also there was a filthy door which I think lead into the retaurant kitchen! We therefore declined the second offer and stuck with the first one purely because we were awaiting the arrival of a family member that evening, otherwise i would have been gone like a shot. We then tried to settle in to accomodation no1, to discover there was dust on the floor including hair, we asked for someone to clean it, they sent a young lad with a big mop, no bucket to rinse with! My husband asked that he used a dustpan and brush first, poor little fellow came back with a dustpan but no brush, he had to use his fingers to pick up the dirt!! A little later to my absolute horror I discovered long black hairs aroud the outside of the toilet bowl these did not belong to any member of my family! Once again the same little lad was called to clean the place, he removed them and cleaned around with his bare hands and a cloth, no gloves to protect him, nothing, how disgusting. Later we went to the restaurant, another filthy place where the tablecloths hadn't been changed, the furniture was grubby and I'm sorry to say the buffet food was dried up and unappealing, once again it scored on being the worst Indian meal.
I had to sleep in that dirty place that night, I would have rather slept in a tent under the stars.

Next day with the arrival of another member of our party we were moved again, this time into two cottages, this was marginally better, despite the cockroach on the floor, and to be absolutely fair the staff did their best to keep these cottages clean and provided us with clean bedsheets and towels daily for the rest of our stay. The staff also did their best to keep the cottages as clean as they could, we did return one evening to a broken window and they were going to move us again but with persuasion the problem was resolved. The swimming area was OK but there was only one lounger. This is a place that was perhaps very nice once, but it s terribly run down and needs a complete revamp to breathe new life into it. I have no idea who owns it but it would appear he just doesn't care, or maybe the group timeshare owners don't have any money!! If you are used to western or decent standards do not stay here.

Room Tip: Just don't bother
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anne s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abdul_Qadiri, Manager at Country Spa Wellness Beach Resort, responded to this review, June 13, 2016
Dear Guest,

At the outset, please allow me to apologize for the delay in responding to you.

We are sorry to know about your unfavourable experience at our hotel and thank you for taking out the time to let us know.

It is our endeavour that every guest of the CCIL has an outstanding experience each time they visit any of our hotels. On the rare occasion when this does not happen, we are extremely grateful for the chance to make up for it.

We hope that this experience will not repeat itself and that all your future visits to our hotels meet the high standards that are expected of the CCIL.

We thank you once again for allowing us to serve you and look forward to welcome you back soon.

If I can be of any assistance in the meanwhile please do let me know.

Warm regards,

Abdul Qader
Resort Manager
Country Spa Wellness Beach Resort
Ashok Beach,Kovalam.P.O
Thiruvananthapuram-695 527
email:headopskovalam@countryclubmail.com
Contact :0471 6610606
Mob: +91 08089007676
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kovalam
377.3 mi away
Beach Hotel Neelakanta
Beach Hotel Neelakanta
#22 of 52 in Kovalam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 206 reviews
377.1 mi away
The Leela Kovalam Beach
376.6 mi away
Uday Samudra Leisure Beach Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
376.7 mi away
Hotel Samudra KTDC
Hotel Samudra KTDC
#4 of 52 in Kovalam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 540 reviews
377.1 mi away
Turtle On The Beach
Turtle On The Beach
#6 of 52 in Kovalam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 899 reviews
377.4 mi away
Sagara Beach Resort
Sagara Beach Resort
#15 of 52 in Kovalam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 546 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Spa Wellness Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Spa Wellness Beach Resort

Property: Country Spa Wellness Beach Resort
Address: Ashoka Beach, Kovalam 695527, India
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > Kovalam
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Kovalam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Country Spa Wellness Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It is a beautifully Landscaped Health & Wellness Resort with a Mix of Good Old Traditional Treatments of Ayurveda to the Latest Modern Floating Spa based Hydrotherapy Treatments. It is besides the World famous Kovalam’s Ashoka Beach. We are RCI Worldwide Affiliated Resort catering to the Domestic & International Traveller needs. We are associated with the Best in the Ayurvedic Industry for Technical Expertise. We have a beach view Roof top Restaurant & an AC Restaurant. An open air Auditorium with lush greenery & seating Facility. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your Country Spa Wellness Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Spa Wellness Beach Hotel Kovalam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing