We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not an ideal place for a quiet getaway” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of JC Residency

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
JC Residency
Ranked #7 of 75 Hotels in Kodaikanal
Salem, India
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Not an ideal place for a quiet getaway”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2014

We stayed for 2 days along with a friend's family and we were looking for a calm stay. This hotel is located in the heart of the town and we were woken up early by the prayers from a mosque and a local church. To make matters worse the next day, festival noise from adjacent temple was disturbing in the night. The ambience of the hotel is good with visually pleasing flora and they conducted campfire in ambitheatre which was enjoyed by the kids. The food was just average with some half cooked food leaving us with upset stomachs. The property has a play area and some indoor games which were below par. But the rooms were too pricey for what they offer and as a matter of fact, most of the Kodaikanal stays are not pocket friendly. The bathrooms were below average and the hot water supply was restricted. We were promised of upgradation to suite in website booking which the hotel declined on our arrival. So talk your terms firmly.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank karthic2345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arokiasamy, General Manager at JC Residency, responded to this review, July 12, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your valuable feedback.
1.Regarding the noise level at the rooms,we are in the process of installing soundproof glasses which will be completed shortly.We thank you for your feedback on the noise level at the rooms.
2.We are glad to know you enjoyed the flora and ambience at the hotel,and the bonfire at the amphitheatre.
3.We will definitely improve on our food quality and taste.
4.All the toilets in the hotel have been renovated and completed on June 2014.
5.Upgrading of the room to a royal suite,it is clearly mentioned on the website if you require a complimentary upgrade you need to mention the code (mentioned on tripadvisor website),we would have definitely upgraded the same.

However in your next visit to kodaikanal you will definitely see many upgradations.Looking forward to your next visit.

Thank you,
Arokiasamy.
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

623 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    308
    224
    56
    13
    22
See reviews for
345
158
5
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (139)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Bangalore, Karnataka, India
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2014

We booked a royal suite in this hotel and when we got there we were given a room with the flush not working and the phone too was not working. When I asked them to change the room they refused saying there were not rooms available. Second time when I asked them to give me a deluxe room atleast , they gave me one. Guess they realized that the flush wont work. This room was clean and everything worked.
Food was ok , not great , but nothing to complain too.

Beware of this one thing though : You will certainly get up everyday at 4am and 6am. The namaz in the mosque right next to the hotel starts at that time. And you will definitely get up to the prayers from the loud speaker. Dont go there if you want to sleep peacefully.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank YashasTanya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arokiasamy, General Manager at JC Residency, responded to this review, July 12, 2014
Dear Guest,

We thank you for your valuable feedback.

1.Regarding the noise level at the room,we are in the process of fixing sound proof windows,which should keep the noise out.We are thankful to you for this feedback.
2.Nice to know you enjoyed the super deluxe room,we will definately look into the phone and flush not working in the room.
3.We will improve on our food quality and tastes.

Looking forward to your next visit.
Thank you
Arokiasamy
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madurai, India
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2014

Myself with my family booked rooms for 3 days there. We were a regular customers to this hotel in Madurai branch. We were attracted by the food there. But the only disadvantage was the supply of hot water. We were promised that we would be provided with 24 hours of hot water facility. But this was not kept up. Otherwise my over all rating would more than that of this.

Room Tip: super dulex rooms in ORCHID block is great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Deivan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunderesan G, General Manager at JC Residency, responded to this review, June 12, 2014
Dear Guest,
We are delighted that you had a great experience while here at JC Residency Kodaikanal.

Our first priority are our guests and I am glad to note that we met your expectations. Our endeavor is to offer comfort with good service and product to all our guests.

I look forward to welcome you back to our hotel.Hoping to give you the best of services and best value for money.

With best regards
Arokiasamy.
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2014

we (my family and friends) checked in to three rooms for 3 days which we booked via makemytrip. While room was clean but they don't clean the same while guests occupying (needs clean everyday while kids around). Also, the only minus point to the hotel room was "towels" are dirty or unclean. I was okay with this as I do carry enough towels during my trips. Our package deal included breakfast and dinner. I didn't expect a good spread for breakfast/Dinner, it was a surprise. usually hotels' package deal meals are below average while JCR provided good wholesome breakfast and awesome dinner (curd was missing all three dinners, they do provide on request). Restaurant staff are very courteous and attentive. JCR serves hot water during all three meals. Menu wasn't repeated except for dall and one gravy (which is absolutely fine).
I would recommend this place if someone looking for medium budget stay with food. in Kodaikanal

Room Tip: Always opt for first floor as ground floor rooms may be more colder though they have wooden flooring...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank VijayPai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunderesan G, General Manager at JC Residency, responded to this review, June 12, 2014
Dear Guest,
We are delighted that you had a great experience while here at JC Residency Kodaikanal.

Our first priority are our guests and I am glad to note that we met your expectations. Our endeavor is to offer comfort with good service and product to all our guests.

I look forward to welcome you back to our hotel.Hoping to give you the best of services and best value for money.

With best regards
Arokiasamy.
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2014 via mobile

Stayed there for two nights, the place is decent, good location and warmth in the hotel staff treatment as well but unfortunately the food needs a lot more than 'improvement' didn't like any of the meals I took there. The local street food is way better, just keep your eyes open when you're roaming around the main market area and you'll definitely find some amazingly delicious and inexpensive food.

Wi-fi internet is a hoax, they give you Wi-Fi only on the reception(seriously ..?).

Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Mohit C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arokiasamy, General Manager at JC Residency, responded to this review, July 12, 2014
Dear Guest,

We thank you for your valuable feedback.Glad to know you enjoyed the ambience and the services rendered by our team.

Regarding the food we have improved a lot on the food quality and taste.New chefs have been appointed to cater to guests from different parts of india & world.
Wifi is provided only in the reception area not in the rooms due to security reasons.

Thank you
Arokiasamy
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2014

JC Residency is just 15 min walk from the lake. We were stayed 2 days and overall it was nice. We had been stayed in suite room on 1st floor, cleanliness is good. I couldn't found any modern facilities in the room, we have provided a room with good glass window. Staffs were friendly ,room and breakfast service was average. We had enjoyed night with music and camp fire, there is quite good palaces for morning walk. Kodaikanal was really awesome. The location,hills,lake, cycle and horse ride, climate,trekking, chocolate,mushrooms -really i enjoyed my stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NaveenThabore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunderesan G, General Manager at JC Residency, responded to this review, June 12, 2014
Dear Guest,
We are delighted that you had a great experience while here at JC Residency Kodaikanal.

Our first priority are our guests and I am glad to note that we met your expectations. Our endeavor is to offer comfort with good service and product to all our guests.

I look forward to welcome you back to our hotel.Hoping to give you the best of services and best value for money.

With best regards
Arokiasamy.
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Faridabad, India
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2014

I stayed in the hotel for two days alongwith my family. The room interiors and size are excellent. Hotel is very clean and having a free zym and recreation room for kids (carrom and table tennis). A park for kids is also there. They have made a small open air platform for enjoying the guests the bon fire or DJ which are conducted by hotel. It also has enough parking space.

I also appreciate the quality of food. On the first day they cooked some spicy food as I belong to North India. But when I told them for less spicy food from the very next day they changed the preparation which suited to my taste.
Excellent staff, variety of food and decent look and cleanliness.

Room Tip: all rooms are equally good
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mangalsk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunderesan G, Manager at JC Residency, responded to this review, June 12, 2014
Dear Guest,
We are delighted that you had a great experience while here at JC Residency Kodaikanal.

Our first priority are our guests and I am glad to note that we met your expectations. Our endeavor is to offer comfort with good service and product to all our guests.

I look forward to welcome you back to our hotel.Hoping to give you the best of services and best value for money.

With best regards
Arokiasamy.
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kodaikanal hotels
1.2 mi away
Kodai Resort
Kodai Resort
#4 of 75 in Kodaikanal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 618 reviews
1.4 mi away
Kodai - By The Lake, A Sterling Holidays Resort
0.6 mi away
Le Poshe by Sparsa
Le Poshe by Sparsa
#2 of 75 in Kodaikanal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Altius Nest
Altius Nest
#9 of 75 in Kodaikanal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 262 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hill Country Resorts Kodaikanal
0.7 mi away
Hotel Kodai International
Hotel Kodai International
#14 of 75 in Kodaikanal
4.0 of 5 bubbles 324 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to JC Residency? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JC Residency

Property: JC Residency
Address: Convent Road | Naidupuram, Kodaikanal 624101, India
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > Kodaikanal
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Kodaikanal
#6 Family Hotel in Kodaikanal
#10 Romantic Hotel in Kodaikanal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — JC Residency 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
JC Residency is a landmark on the Convent Road, located just a km from Kodai Lake. Some of our highlights are:- *Ideally located *Spacious car parking *Indoor games and gym *Credit Card facilities* Spacious rooms *Amphi-Theatre for barbecue diners and bonfires.*Night ride & Estate trip*State of Art-Conference hall (100 pax 'theatre style' & 35 pax 'U shaped'.)The room facilities are as follows:-•Spacious room size with Garden or Mountain views• Pine & Petals- multi-cuisine restaurant, room service•Wi-Fi internet available at the reception•LCD/LED TVs ,Luxurious Queen Size beds with soft pillows & Spring Mattress•Godrej digital safety lockers in all rooms•24 hours Solar hot water•Daily housekeeping. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda and Despegar.com so you can book your JC Residency reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jc Residency Kodaikanal
Jc Residency Hotel Kodaikanal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing