We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“For the money I paid it was neat and Clean Rs.590+tax”
Review of JC Woodville Manor

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
JC Woodville Manor
Cochin
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“For the money I paid it was neat and Clean Rs.590+tax”
Reviewed June 25, 2011

I personally felt this hotel was ok for the money i paid for the rooms.Rooms were neat and clean and had western toilets.It was centrally located which is what i wanted particularly.Basic facilities were good like hotel water-geysers in the room.A TV on top of the wardrobe.Phone to call the reception,Clean filter water was placed in the reception.They even provide hot water for drinking.Sleep quality was basic.There was a std/isd booth near the reception.They dont have a restaurant .
Overall my stay was good for the money i paid.

Room Tip: Decent hotel for budget travellers..
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mukeshnair001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    7
    10
    5
    11
See reviews for
13
11
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
36 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2011

A small budget hotel without a restaurant and [power back up.. was a last minute boooking as nothing was available.. difficulty in getting hot water.. approach road was dug up full of slushy mud

bathrooms just passably clean and so were the rooms..

wouldnt recommend it

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Atulwalia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Kodaikanal hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
kerala
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed April 26, 2010

With well furnished rooms and dormitories, and a central location, ideal choice for the budget traveler and families who wish to enjoy Kodai at excellent value for money.

Food was nice and staff was great and there was this lovely climate which makes this very great.

It is great value for money and rooms was spacious.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank justrockz7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aaaadf
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2010

One cannot sleep properly in this hotel. Very bad odor was coming from our room, we requested for a change in room and got another one but that was also smelling bad. Hotel staff doesn't understand Hindi so we were not able to communicate with them properly. Another major problem was that this hotel is situated opposite to the Bus stand due to which there is a constant irritating noise generated by the sound of Bus Horns. Also there was too much pollution in the surroundings of the Hotel.

  • Stayed August 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2009

Guys, i had a very very bad experiance in Kodai Kanal. I thought that Make mytrip will have tie ups only with good and decent hotels, but they even have tie up with third class lodges. On make mytrip.com website you will find these lodges as hotels withe few amenities, but when you will reach their, you will end up in a third class lodge.

I booked two rooms through make my trip in a hotel named JC Woodville Menor in Kodai Kanal. I searched on internet but did not find any review about this hotel(lodge). This is actually a lodge with no facility. list of lack of facilities as follows:

1. No parking facility
2. Intercom is there but not working at all.
3. Bathrooms will be dirty.
4. Rooms will have no colour all you will find is wet walls which will stink.
5. No room service, you need to cry for each and every thing.
6. No Hot water as the geazer will not work in the room, you will need to ask room service boy (if you find him in lodge) to bring one or two buckets of hot water.

My suggestion would be not to book this lodge, even do not book with MAKEMYTRIP.COM, as they are worst in services.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rahul_Rahul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2009

We stayed in the Family room in this Hotel during the Peak Season of April 2009.The Room had 2 rooms inbuilt where 4 Can stay with comfort. As every one knows , we can hardly find fans in any place in Kodaikanal and same applies here. The room was very cool, as we cant walk inside without floaters. The bathroom was very average with a Ancient Water Heater which is very difficult to operate.
Water is totally yellow in color and I dont know whether its the same all over Kodai. Room service is also OK type. When I said that the Water Heater is not working, he took me to the dormitory room in the 2nd floor and asked me bath in the bathroom there. Thank God the Room was totally empty with all 10-15 beds Vacant.

The best thing about this hotel is its Locality.Its there in Stone's throw distance from all places, very next to Bus Stand.
Regarding Food, Please go to Hotel Astoria which is very next to this place.Excellent Vegetarian Hotel with Very Nominal Price.
I felt like eating in a Chennai Hotel(I reside in Chennai).

I recommend this Hotel for people who dont care much about the room facilities and just want to stay.

Go for it!!!!

  • Liked — Locality
  • Disliked — Room Amenities
  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank CoolGuyChennai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
northern England
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2008

I booked this through a backpacking website. I am backpacking on a trip through India and I selected this hotel for my stay in Kodaikanal because it had a dorm. However, when I arrived the receptionist told me that I could not stay in the dorm because only groups could book it. In that case, WHY does the website and booking agents allow individuals to book one dorm bed?

I suspect one of two things happened here - either they looked at this white woman and wanted to squeeze more money out of me (I mean this is India and all foreigners have unlimited cash and can afford to stay in the most expensive hotel rooms) and refused to let me have the dorm bed because a standard single is over three times more the price, OR, as is common practice in India, they advertise dorm beds online purely in order to get people going in on false pretences. Either way, I am not happy about this and I reduced the number of nights I stayed there due to the high cost of the room.

Also, I handed in some laundry as there is absolutely nowhere to do so in the rooms. I explained to the receptionist that my situaton was desperate and I had no other clean clothes than the ones I was wearing. He told me the clothes would be back in the afternoon. When I returned to the hotel in the early evening, I was told my laundry would arrive in the morning. Next morning I asked for my laundry - it would arrive in the evening they told me. I was so angry about this as I really didn't have any clean clothes. As a backpacker, I am packing light and normally this is not a problem as I can do my own washing quickly.

The room is of an okay standard. When I went in, the bathroom was filthy with a very dirty toilet and muddy floor. I requested it to be cleaned and it was done straightaway. There is not actually a shower - just a bucket and jug. There is hot water, which is very unusual for India.

I don't really recommend this place for backpackers travelling light on a budget. This place is fine however for mid range travellers and groups, preferably with lots of luggage.

  • Liked — Central location
  • Disliked — NOT suitable for backpackers
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank milliebell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kodaikanal hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel JC Grand
Hotel JC Grand
#61 of 76 in Kodaikanal
19 reviews
0.2 mi away
J's Heritage Hotel
J's Heritage Hotel
#60 of 76 in Kodaikanal
50 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Spring Valley
Hotel Spring Valley
#40 of 76 in Kodaikanal
141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Treebo Abirami residency
Treebo Abirami residency
#28 of 76 in Kodaikanal
187 reviews
0.0 mi away
Spring Valley Residency
Spring Valley Residency
#37 of 138 in Kodaikanal
32 reviews
1.1 mi away
Park View Residency
Park View Residency
#12 of 138 in Kodaikanal
38 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to JC Woodville Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JC Woodville Manor

Property: JC Woodville Manor
Address: Opp Bus Stand | Woodville Road, Kodaikanal 624101, India
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > Dindigul District > Kodaikanal
Amenities:
Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #53 of 138 Specialty Lodging in Kodaikanal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — JC Woodville Manor 1*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Currently closed for renovation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your JC Woodville Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing