We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Value for money”
Review of Hotel Bala

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Kodaikanal
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Bala
Ranked #49 of 76 Hotels in Kodaikanal
coimbatore
Level 6 Contributor
198 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“Value for money”
Reviewed August 8, 2012

situated just opposite to the Bus stand.has a good parking space.restaurant serves only breakfast during off season.helpful staff.reasonably clean toilets.hot,rather warm, water almost round the clock

Room Tip: Ask for a carpeted room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sivaglobal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    12
    4
    2
    3
See reviews for
12
3
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bengaluru, India
Level 5 Contributor
34 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2012

If you are in Kodai for a more touristy thing and want to stay at a Central Location, hotel bala is a good choice. Located bang opposite the bus stand and 5 mins walk from Coakers, 10 mins from the lake and in the main market, its a good location for those looking to take guided bus/taxi tours of Kodai. If you are looking for a calm and serene place to enjoy the hillside, stay away from this locality.
Rooms are average and you get for what you pay. Thought they claimed hot water, we never got any.
I spent most of the time outside the hotel, so would not comment on the hospitality of the staff.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank KunalM84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamshedpur, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2012

I stayed there in the time frame of May 2010. Ther location is very nice. Just opposite Central Bus Stand. Its walkable distance from Lake and Cokers Walk. We used to have daily talk to cokers. The tarriff is resonable for budget travellers. There is cafe only (Breakfast only. No lunch and Dinner). But they have room service. And you don't need to eat there. Go walk around 5 min outside hotel you will find number of good restaurant/small hotel. Plus lot of travel agency outside hotel which will give you competitive rate for your local and surrounding tours. The hotel is good with basic amenities(TV+water). But there is no recreation facilities like carrom, table tennis etc. But at that price it is good hotel. I strongly reccomend for Budget traveller + for family as well. Quite safe. They have small parking facility as well. Remeber there is no fans in the hotel which you require some time in after noon. In night its OK.

Room Tip: For Family with 2 kids. Family room is recommended. Ask fro front facing room. back facing room is h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tiwarysantosh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Visakhapatnam, India
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2011

This hotel is exactly opposite to bus stop. It is centrally located and near to this hotel, you have ATMs, Nice veg and non veg restaurants, local sight seeing tour operators etc. Rate wise this is okay. I stayed in a big family room in August 2011 which has 2 double beds. Toilets are clean. The manager Mr.Radha Krishnan is very helpful. He arranged for us local sight seeing cab, AC bus ticket to chennai. I surely recommend people to stay in this hotel.

Room Tip: with family, there is a deluxe double room with two double beds which is very good to stay with all...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank pavankumar2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ahmedabad, India
1 review
Reviewed January 28, 2011

My name is nishit. we have reached kodai on 24th october,2010 and stay till 26th. hotel bala is a good hotel for stay in kodaikanal. nice place in nice location. the bus station is just front of the hotel. reasonable room rates. Hotel can also give good room service.we had a very great experience over there, Pleasant hotel atmosphere, excellent room service & So on. One more important thing,

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nishit007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nagercoil
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2010

I stayed with my friend during August. The tariff is quite reasonable. The room we stayed is clean and comfortable. Unterrupted water supply with option to fetch warm/hot water round the clock. Hot water line is extended to wash basin also. Car park is not spacious enough to hold more cars. However during off-seasons, that space would suffice. The big advantage for the travellers is that the hotel is just opposite to the bus station. The lake and Byrant park are situated at a distance which could be covered on foot. Although the hotel has a restaurant on the first floor (veg), there are plenty of restaurants (mess/medium range hotels) around this hotel. Market area is also located down the lane. Service is good. The service men are very kind and nice to behave.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank harmonyNagercoil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coimbatore, India
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2010

nice place in nice location. i would love to go again and saty agin there. i would also like to recomen others to go and stay

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bnnanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kodaikanal hotels
0.2 mi away
Hilltop Towers
Hilltop Towers
#14 of 76 in Kodaikanal
224 reviews
0.1 mi away
Richwin Hotels
Richwin Hotels
#12 of 76 in Kodaikanal
225 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel JC Grand
Hotel JC Grand
#60 of 76 in Kodaikanal
19 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
United-21 Resort, Kodaikanal
United-21 Resort, Kodaikanal
#51 of 76 in Kodaikanal
120 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Pleasant Stay
Hotel Pleasant Stay
#44 of 76 in Kodaikanal
84 reviews
1.5 mi away
Holiday Home
Holiday Home
#15 of 76 in Kodaikanal
188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Bala? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bala

Property: Hotel Bala
Address: 11/49 Woodville Road | Opp.Central Bus Stand, Kodaikanal 624101, India
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > Dindigul District > Kodaikanal
Hotel Style:
Ranked #49 of 76 Hotels in Kodaikanal
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Bala 3*
Number of rooms: 57
Also Known As:
Bala Hotel Kodaikanal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing