We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Family Holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sterling Kodai Valley
Ranked #11 of 84 Hotels in Kodaikanal
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 5, 2013

Stayed at the Valley View Resort by Sterling last weekend with my wife and kids aged 11 and 14. Its a great place, so quite and serene ,the greatest attraction of course is the lovely breeze that blows through out the day and the weather.
The food is great and the service is simply outstanding. The activity center is great for the kids and they had a blast. The employees are very friendly are are genuinely concerned about the guests.
Would definitely recommend it for a great holiday.

Room Tip: Ask for the newly renovated rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sujoydas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (527)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

425 - 431 of 528 reviews

Reviewed June 4, 2013

We are Sterling timeshare members, and we have just spent one week (May 26-June2) at Kodai Valley View. Thanks to the friendly and accommodating front office staff, especially Cheshtha, we were allotted a super room (No. 226) with perhaps the best of views -- from our second floor balconies we could gaze on, and revel in, the scene (and scenery) before us as we sipped our teas or read our books.

We also enjoyed the ministrations of the F&B staff (F&B executive Ramesh was particularly helpful with his recommendations) and the housekeeping staff (I must mention Indrani here).

Kodai Valley View is about 4 km from the congested town area, and after spending a few hours sightseeing or driving around and near the lake or visiting the shops on Anna Salai Street, it was always a relief to head back to our room and settle down on the living room sofa in front of the television or curl up in bed with a good book (or with my Kindle Fire).

We wanted R&R in Kodai. And we got it at Sterling Kodai Valley View.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the valley -- we truly enjoyed the view from No. 226 (see photographs).
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RameshDPrabhu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2013

With the name sterling itself providing some comfort before even booking, we were pleasantly surprised with what we got. The place is a little away from the main city which i feel is its USP.
We were a family of 4 and stayed at a suite room. It was more like a home in itself, complete with even a functioning owen.
The rooms are neat and clean and the room service is very prompt and everyone in the resort is very pleasant.
Going to the restaurant itself was like a nature walk in the morning.

The only down side i found was them charging per night for even the driver stay room.
But other than that, we had a whale of a time.

PS: Mobile connectivity is pretty poor and wifi is also not available throughout the resort. So prepare to be cut off from the world( which i was very happy about), atleast while u r in the resort.

Room Tip: If you are going as a group, try the suite rooms. Good privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sooraj_23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013

I am from Avalon Technologies,Chennai. We were there for our conference meeting on21st April 2013. We were around 200 people. The conference meeting hall was very fabulous.The location of the conference hall was remarkable. The rooms where we stayed was clean and the staff services also good. Especially Mr.Mashook Ahmed, Sales Manager of this hotel was such a great person who arranged every thing for us with out any delay. He took a special care on us.The way he behaved to others with a cute smile was unforgetable. Our stay was very nice and the climate was also very beautiful. The resort location is highly wonderful and the staff of the resort was very good and their service with smile was always rememberable.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank jayapalmurugan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2013

Sterling Holidays have two properties at the Hill station. If you get a booking at the "Valley View" property then make sure you have a transport with you. The property is 8 KMs from the city centre. The hire charges for even a 4 KM drive down to the nearest market place will cost Rs 250 during the season. That is, if you were to negotiate with the cabbie outside the gate . The travel desk charges Rs 300!.

I am informed that the rates out of the season may be 30% less. Still a steep unwanted expense

The staff try their best - but the management needs a revamp and a more customer centric approach.

Incidentally this summer ( 2013) there is an acute water shortage in the hill station. Whilst the staff ensured that there was water at all times, the locals warned us against eating outside food , and avoid risking a water borne disease. So bring along the provisions and spend the forenoons in cooking !

Room Tip: Insist by going through the map of the property "on line" that you get rooms in the front...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank velamur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights. LOts of renovation going on, luckily we got renovated rooms. The room we stayed was clean and of decent size considering it was a studio guestroom(as they call it).The view from the room window was good . ONe of the room we stayed in did not have fan ,so we enquired the reception staff by calling from the room and she was like there is no fan in whole of the resort which was a lie (one room had fan) or may be she dint know about the resort properly . Location of the resort is very good , it has good views of the surrounding valleys,true to its name , but its quiet far from the main kodaikanal city(5-6 kms) and the road leading to the resort is not good. The reception area is worn out and is not welcoming . Overall it was ok .

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip
2  Thank smravindra81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2013

We were there with family during New Year's eve. Except for the surprise welcome, we had a terrible stay. The rooms were in very poor condition, there was hardly any thing available in the rooms as is promised in promotions and information published. The kitchenette was empty and devoid of any thing. We had to call for everything repeatedly and the House keeping was too occupied to respond. The staff were rude particularly in the Holiday Activities section and misbehaved and humilated the guests.

The New Year's eve was a big disappointment. For the whole night and the whole of next day till we left, there was continuous nuisance with loudspeaker blaring at high decibles from hill top and echoing the same in the entire valley and nearby villages. Though it is illegal in India to use loudspeakers in public after 10.00 PM, nothing could stop it.

The resort executives expressed helplessness and all the guests suffered for the whole night and next day.

Sterling claims to be renovating its resorts and reviving itself. Though the resort was not renovated, at least some aminities and the staff could have been good. This was the worst Sterling experience we ever had. Even during its worst phase few years, we had better experience at Sterlings.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank A O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SterlingHolidays, Owner at Sterling Kodai Valley, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2013

Dear Sir/Madam,

Greetings from Sterling Holidays! We are deeply concerned about your experience during your stay at Kodai - Valley View. We have made note of your feedback regarding the room and services and we assure you that we will look into it and take necessary actions to ensure this doesn't repeat again.

We have made a serious note of our staff’s behavior and it has been shared with the resort management and subsequent action will be taken on them.

We deeply value your feedback and want to thank you for taking the time out to let us know your views.

Sincerely,
The Sterling Holidays Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kodaikanal hotels
2.7 mi away
Sterling Kodai Lake
Sterling Kodai Lake
#9 of 84 in Kodaikanal
840 reviews
2.5 mi away
Villa Retreat
Villa Retreat
#1 of 84 in Kodaikanal
1,212 reviews
2.3 mi away
The Carlton
The Carlton
#6 of 84 in Kodaikanal
628 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Great Trails Kodaikanal By GRT Hotels
0.3 mi away
Hill Country Kodaikanal
Hill Country Kodaikanal
#18 of 84 in Kodaikanal
402 reviews
1.7 mi away
Le Poshe by Sparsa
Le Poshe by Sparsa
#2 of 84 in Kodaikanal
493 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sterling Kodai Valley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sterling Kodai Valley

Address: Attuvampatti Pallangi Road | Villapatti, Kodaikanal 624101, India (Formerly Kodai - By The Valley, A Sterling Holidays Resort)
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > Dindigul District > Kodaikanal
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Kodaikanal
Price Range: $54 - $137 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sterling Kodai Valley 4*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the plush green valley and neat terraced gardens appears the most unusual architecture – an entire hotel in the shape of a ship, a leaf-shaped accommodation block, a lotus-shaped business block, and an array of dome-shaped rooms. Welcome to Sterling Kodai Valley, a resort where you fall in love with nature all over again. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Hotwire and Orbitz so you can book your Sterling Kodai Valley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sterling Hoiidays Valley View, Kodaikanal Hotel Kodaikanal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing