We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Sterling Kodai Valley
Nearby Hotels
$107
$80
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
The Carlton(Kodaikanal)
$125
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Le Poshe by Sparsa(Kodaikanal)
$111
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
JC Residency(Kodaikanal)
$82
$69
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Kodai Resort(Kodaikanal)
$89
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Cliffton Hotel(Kodaikanal)(Great Value!)
$91
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$96
$86
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
$86
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Villa Retreat(Kodaikanal)
$43
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Raahat Inn(Kodaikanal)(Great Value!)
$24
$18
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Reviews (577)
Filter reviews
577 results
Traveler rating
247
198
59
42
31
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
247
198
59
42
31
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshouse keepingf bsterling kodaifront office managerroom serviceholiday activitieshousekeeping staffspecial thanksin room diningactivity roomresort managerspecial mentiongreat resortbuffet spreadrestaurant staffexcellent hospitalitymain city
Filter
Updating list...
498 - 503 of 577 reviews
Reviewed November 27, 2012

I've been to kodai 10yrs back, but what i experienced this time was totally amazing. Of course my trip brought back old memories but the trip this time was far better.. Be it the renovated rooms or the food or the entertainment.. It was all in all a totally wonderful vacation.. All thanks to Mr. Charles the Acting Resort Manager who helped us with everything. He was well versed with everything around kodaikanal. Thanks to the entertainment team for keeping my son entertained at all times. Also, Ms. Khushim's (I'm not very sure of the name - the lady - bakery chef) croissants, puddings and desserts were something to die for. The food was tasty... room service was excellent... rooms were very clean.. Overall a wonderful experience. Would totally recommend!!!!

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Naushmaj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2012

The membership e- booking was made well in advance with a specific request to allot a renovated room ......
After a happy 4 hours drive we reached the resort just before lunch. On checking in, we were very disappointed to hear that renovated rooms were not available and due to the long week end they are completely sold. We had no option but to accept the one allotted to us.
From the outside the place looked very beautiful and all was Good until we entered the room.... it was in a very very bad condition ... the toilet 'omg' it was terribly bad... The charm of rooms have withered off in the past 18 years of operation.
So... at the moment please do not expect much from the rooms of this resort... at least for a year, because this resort with a 150 rooms is under renovation and some 30 rooms have been completely striped and renovated to the core. It was unfortunate that I didn't get one.
But, otherwise... the ambiance, the room service, house keeping, the restaurant, quality of food were all very good. The resort doesn't have a bar but that isn't a problem, beer was served in the room. The spa was too small and in the massage room it was oil everywhere..not good.
After the completion of renovation work the resort will be a 5 star property and the room profile will be much better than in a 5 star hotel... were the words from the staff at the reception.

See photos for the good, bad, and the ugly..

Room Tip: Ask for a renovated room... but most of the renovated rooms are guest rooms which are located very close to the effluent treatment plant and if the wind blows on the wrong direction... the place stinks pretty badly. See the rooms before checking-in.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Mohan_suil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SterlingHolidays, Owner at Sterling Kodai Valley, responded to this reviewResponded February 6, 2013

Dear Sir,

Greetings from Sterling Holidays!

We are concerned that you were dissatisfied with our room allotment and maintenance. We would like to let you know that we have made note of your complaints. We have noted down your feedback on our rooms and recreation services as well. We assure you that we will look into it and take the necessary actions.

We hope that you will visit us again and give us an opportunity to showcase our true standards of service. We deeply value your feedback and want to thank you for taking the time out to let us know your views.

Sincerely,
The Sterling Holidays Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2012

I stayed in this place coz I have a membership of Sterling Holidays. I knew almost all properties of sterling on under renovation(the maintanence was very poor earlier), I went there with an Idea, that I am not going to stay in a better place.

But for my surprise, the GRM room given to me was renovated and I didnt expect such a good room in Sterling. The room was spacious, had a good view of valley through the french window and had a excellent view of the Lawn in the resort once open the door.
Toilet was also clean and good. The bed was also comfortable and gave a peaceful sleep

Guys but please do maintain the same, else sterling would go back to its scary days.....

the room service was prompt and polite and the quality of food was well above the average levels.

I love this property for its terrain with in the property, prefer a room @ the highest lvl of the resort.

the holidays activities which they organise inhouse is also good, ppl who stay could make their stay rememberable.

Since I am a member the tariff is toooooooo low and I bet for the price I paid I cant even imagine to get a room lik dis in Kodai......so its very much cost effective.

Would visit again if they keep up this renovation with proper maintanence......

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Vignesh_Madhavan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2012

Sterling valley view is good enough, if you are willing to overlook poor upkeep and maintenance, especially of the rooms. The property is nice and sprawling and is away from the maddening crowds of Kodai town. But frankly, they could have done so much more with it. Instead what you have is decent sized rooms, ok food, typical average resort look and feel, peeling paint in some of the rooms, stp smell in some other rooms, view around that is mostly just terraced hillside farms ... as I said, its ok, but certainly not a boutique or exclusive hill station feel.

Room Tip: Quality of rooms varies significantly. So does the view. Difficult to point out which rooms are the good ones as they are scattered around.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank msandeep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SterlingHolidays, Owner at Sterling Kodai Valley, responded to this reviewResponded December 27, 2012

Dear Sir,

Greetings from Sterling Holidays!

We would like to let you know that we have made note of your complaints. We have noted down your feedback on our rooms and F&B services. Please be assured that we are making the changes that will showcase our property in a way that earns your appreciation.

We hope that you will visit us again and give us an opportunity to showcase our true standards of service. We deeply value your feedback and want to thank you for taking the time out to let us know your views.

Sincerely,
The Sterling Holidays Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2012

One can get a panoramic view of hills around from this well laid out complex. If you want to be far from the madding crowd and just relax in the sun this is a preferred destination. The lake which is the centre of hot and happening, is about 5 km away and you pay through you nose for a cab ride. The rooms are shabby – we were told that the whole place is under renovation; make sure that the process is over before you visit the place. The electric supply is erratic; but there is a flip side also. Our visit was near about full moon and it was comfortably cold. In a moonlit night without interfering halogens, it was definitely a romantic treat. The food was oily, spicy, neither south Indian nor North Indian style; but the service was good. Though visitors are mostly from places other than Tamil Nadu, the TV provides only a few non-Tamil channels.

Room Tip: All rooms are more or less the same
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Abhijit L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SterlingHolidays, Owner at Sterling Kodai Valley, responded to this reviewResponded September 29, 2012

Dear Sir,

Greetings from Sterling Holidays!

We appreciate your positive feedback. We would like to let you know that we have made note of your complaints.

We hope that you will visit us again and give us an opportunity to showcase our true standards of service. We deeply value your feedback and want to thank you for taking the time out to let us know your views.

Sincerely,
The Sterling Holidays Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews