We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Kodai - By The Lake, A Sterling Holidays Resort
Ranked #9 of 78 Hotels in Kodaikanal
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 30, 2010

The resort is a beautiful place to stay at the hill station. I had selected a 2 night package. The hotel has a lovely view. The staff service is very good. Rooms and food are average. The siteseeing options from the hotel are nearby. Overall a good hotel

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NMA28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (793)
There are newer reviews for Kodai - By The Lake, A Sterling Holidays Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

754 - 760 of 794 reviews

Reviewed June 30, 2010

One of the good locations in Kodaikanal, very close to the lake and several other attractions. However, the approach road to this resort is in a bad condition (i had great difficulty driving from the main road to the resort entrance!!). The amenities in the resort is very old, badly needing a change. The resort on the whole is badly maintained.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kiranananth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2010

Our stay at Sterling Lakeview resort was a fairly comfortable one even though there are some areas which need improvement. The staff are friendly and courteous. The rooms are just alright and cleaning service needs to improve. The resort is just 10 minutes from the lake and all restaurants are situated close by, but the road leading to the resort is not a concrete one and hence becomes very slushy during rainy season. We did have some programmes and get together in the evenings,which kept us occupied.Hope to have a better stay next time,as some face lift is being given to the resort now.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sekarindia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2010

We wanted a hotel which could provide us good scenic view, ambience, cost effective, attached with restaurant in Kodai. After our stay we found Sterling Resorts,Kodai is one such place.

Following are its plus:-
- Service friendly
- Easy access to all places in Kodai
- Nice tasting food in the restaurant
- Scenic View from rooms
- Cost not so high

Thank you very much for making our stay so pleasant!!!

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank p2pills
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2010

You will enjoy the view of the lake if you have taken the lake view room. The best part is the rooms are having room heaters which are useful at late night when the weather become too cold. The hotel food is good but you don't have much verity.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HillStationLover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2010

I can never forget this Hotel in my life, as this was the hotel me and my wife went for our honeymoon. The hotel was located ina nice place suitable for sight seeing and had good view points. The climate was extremely good and the hotel staff were very cordial. Its a nice place to go as we had our own private cottage. The food rate was little bit high and it was worth the money we spent. Overall, this hotel was extremley good.

  • Stayed: September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank srini_jana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2010

Outside view is very good,room service is excellent .Food is healthy and hygienic

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled with friends
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KALIACoimbatore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kodaikanal hotels
2.7 mi away
Kodai - By The Valley, A Sterling Holidays Resort
0.9 mi away
Villa Retreat
Villa Retreat
#1 of 78 in Kodaikanal
1,161 reviews
0.9 mi away
Kodai Resort
Kodai Resort
#7 of 78 in Kodaikanal
671 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Carlton
The Carlton
#11 of 78 in Kodaikanal
558 reviews
1.1 mi away
Treebo Altius Nest
Treebo Altius Nest
#8 of 78 in Kodaikanal
324 reviews
3.2 mi away
Great Trails Kodaikanal By GRT Hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kodai - By The Lake, A Sterling Holidays Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kodai - By The Lake, A Sterling Holidays Resort

Address: 44 Gymkhana Road, Kodaikanal 624101, India
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > Dindigul District > Kodaikanal
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Kodaikanal
Price Range: $77 - $166 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Kodai - By The Lake, A Sterling Holidays Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 104
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Kodai - By The Lake, A Sterling Holidays Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sterling Resorts Kodaikanal Lake View Hotel Kodaikanal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing