We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Property with great potential , could be improved.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sterling Kodai Lake
Ranked #8 of 86 Hotels in Kodaikanal
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 21, 2010

The resort is an old one situated in a prime location in Kodai.Sadly the potential is ignored and management tries to run it like a standard "drive in drive out" property. Though the town of Kodaikkanal is just 2 km away with it's varied dining and shopping options nobody at the reception knows anything about the town or the surrounding area. They just sell you the standard "package" and try to get you to buy stuff at their shop. It is disgraceful that over half of the employees at the resort do not speak the local language (Tamil). Other points:

Restaurant: Overpriced bland food with little variety.

Activities: Standard , you don't need to go to Kodai to play Bingo.

Cottages: Old and worn out but comfortable and spacious. Needs a facelift.

Service: Average , employees seem not too happy with management. They work well but don't seem involved. Example: Housekeeping cleans my cottage perfectly but doesn't take the effort to pick up a discarded water bottle three feet from the front door.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SridharToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (886)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

866 - 872 of 886 reviews

Reviewed January 20, 2010

I planned to have a break from my regular routine and Planned to visit KodaiKanal one of my friend suggested Sterling Hotels and i booked in advance. When i visited the place (kodai) where the Hotels is situated, i feel as if i am in heaven the mist has covered till my knees and the greenary around took my Hearts to extent like i am floating on air. The nature scenic view is awesome i forgot all my tension and responsibilities and enjoyed like anything and gone to my childhood days, i have decide henceforth to make a regular visit over here.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Kambham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2010

I planned to have a break from my regular routine and Planned to visit KodaiKanal one of my friend suggested Sterling Hotels and i booked in advance. When i visited the place (kodai) where the Hotels is situated, i feel as if i am in heaven the mist has covered till my knees and the greenary around took my Hearts to extent like i am floating on air. The nature scenic view is awesome i forgot all my tension and responsibilities and enjoyed like anything and gone to my childhood days, i have decide henceforth to make a regular visit over here.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Kambham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 17, 2009

I am happy the way I was treated in this hotel. Room services were of top class.
My stay here was really very nice. Rooms were very good and specious, neat and clean. Location is really very good and easily accessible from the main city. Services were very prompt and nice. It was really worth for the money. Amazing food quality.
Staff was helpful and the hotel was quite clean. Next time I visit this city I'll surely stay in this hotel.

Stayed: October 2008
Thank sudha45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2009

When i reached the hotel expecting to check into a suite but i was in for a shock. Apparently my booking was miscommunicated and what was available for me was a standard single room, the lowest rung of booking. To be honest it wasn't completely the hotel's fault - it was a mistake from the Trip Advisor's website end as well.

But that wasn't the end to it. the bed was wet and soggy and we got up in the morning, we had bug bites all over us and looked like right out of a marshy jungle. there wasn't any advice or first aid or advice available when we asked for it.

since the rooms are spread out, the room service took a really long time - we had to wait for 30 minutes or more for a cup of tea and the service in general was government service type

The bathroom had dirtier bucket than the one usually finds in public bathroom.

The only good part was that the hotel was so horrible that we ended up spending much more time outside and had a real good time!

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jonseagull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2009

Rooms: Looks very spacious and very nice
Bathrooms: Clean and neat
Location: Awesome... just outer of the city. Calm place. Best for HM.
Food: cost moderate - moderate quality

  • Stayed: April 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Sunil G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2009

this resort we stayed by timeshares, we had a gr8 time and facilities like gym, sauna bath, dance, events very nice.
maily we liked the location of the resort, near lake, we hve experienced a morning and evening cycling the lake,

  • Stayed: January 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nandhu123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kodaikanal hotels
2.7 mi away
Sterling Kodai Valley
Sterling Kodai Valley
#12 of 86 in Kodaikanal
535 reviews
0.9 mi away
Villa Retreat
Villa Retreat
#1 of 86 in Kodaikanal
1,231 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Carlton
The Carlton
#5 of 86 in Kodaikanal
638 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Great Trails Kodaikanal By GRT Hotels
1.4 mi away
Le Poshe by Sparsa
Le Poshe by Sparsa
#2 of 86 in Kodaikanal
514 reviews
0.9 mi away
Kodai Resort
Kodai Resort
#9 of 86 in Kodaikanal
703 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sterling Kodai Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sterling Kodai Lake

Address: 44 Gymkhana Road, Kodaikanal 624101, India (Formerly Kodai - By The Lake, A Sterling Holidays Resort)
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > Dindigul District > Kodaikanal
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Kodaikanal
Price Range: $49 - $119 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sterling Kodai Lake 4*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sterling Kodai Lake gives you a first hand opportunity to spend quality time at the star shaped Kodai lake which magnetically attracts tourists from far and wide destinations. The plush rooms, landscaped gardens and everything in between is designed to complement the English style villas that dot the quaint hill station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Hotwire so you can book your Sterling Kodai Lake reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sterling Resorts Kodaikanal Lake View Hotel Kodaikanal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing