We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good one for leisure trip”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Kodai - By The Lake, A Sterling Holidays Resort
Ranked #9 of 78 Hotels in Kodaikanal
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 13, 2009

Good one for weekend leisure trip .. Very good one for breaks from city life .. Location, Food, staff every things was nice

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Balachandar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (793)
There are newer reviews for Kodai - By The Lake, A Sterling Holidays Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

781 - 787 of 793 reviews

Reviewed June 18, 2009

We were given a gift accomodation for 2 nights and three days at sterling lakeview by my hubby's aunt who is a member of this resort. When we reached the resort and presented our voucher with excitement, they handed over the keys of the room and that was my last time of excitement to step-in in a reputed sterling resort. The moment we entered the room ...my all dream vacation was shattered ...it was horrible...dont have words to express...afetr 10 minutes maximum of keeping our luggage we stepped out to the reception and they siad this is the one for which we have the booking. we asked them to upgrade us to a better cottage..we will pay the difference...and the answer was that rooms are not availaible. Me and my hubby left ina cab and after seing 1 or 2 finally checked in at Kodai Resort Hotel...and when my hubby went back to lakeview to check out with the luggage...they tried to convince him..and showed him a better room...but there was no point now as we havd already checked ina different hotel...they are cheaters...!!

My idea is being a peak season they dont let out better rooms to members guests...as they wont get money out of it...and in return they let out better rooms to tourirsts who are non members from whom they will get money for the accomodation...and with members or their guests...only there vacations will be utilised...!!

Should never take membership of this Sterling...and if u want to become...themn become memberrs of CLUB MAHINDRA...they are too good...telling u out of my personal experience...!!

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Aney17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2009

Sterling resorts Lake View at Kodaikanal didnt quite reach upto our expectations. The resort is good but the room quality needs to be improved. The tea served for room service was not at all hot and even after pointing it out the same was not rectified. The food was also average. This was one of the resorts which highly let us down though we did enjoy what Kodaikanal had to offer. In the midst of Kodaikanal is a huge lake and a footpath is constructed round about the lake and it takes more than an hour to walk around it. It was raining when we were walking around it and we did not have a way out! We reached the hotel all drenched and shivering. There is Sai Shruthi very close to this resort where SaiBaba gives darshan to his devotees.
An average resort but still not all that bad is what Sterling resorts in Kodaikanal is all about.

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ssnaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2009

bought mobile from mobile store hyderabad with Rs 5000/ assured gift voucher in which every voucher has free holiday package of Rs 5000/- value.. when i tried to book the holiday package they asked for three dates and three places mentioned in the voucher.. total combination was 9. out of this 9 choices they can book only one.. so they have confirm me the booking in the kodai kanal and asked for Rs 599 as processing fee. I had submited the Rs 599 DD and received the confirm booking 10 days before the date...
Now here the problem starts...
As per my voucher first of all they have not given me the Hotel mentioned in the gift coupon (Lake View, Kodai Kanal) which is quit disappointing for our holiday package.. as it was far from the kodai kanal centre everytime we have to go far for anything..... other thing i would like to mention is as per voucher i should have been given a hotel room worth Rs 5000/- package as per mobile store promotion scheme.. after confirming the booking almost one month before from my side and 10 days before by Hotel people (starling vally view, kodai kanal).. I have been given a room of poor quality and bad even better rooms were available as off season time (july 3)... After two days at the time of check out the room rent was only 1200/- per day so the total bill for two days was Rs 2400/- which should be Rs 5000/- as per voucher value... its realy a pathetic promotion services offered by Countrywide.. . and Mobile store... services of hotel was very bad... its was really a very Bad experience for us... I will not recommend anybody ..after having such a bad experience.. room offered was half of the price room and that too was in different hotel..... I don’t think this these are the core of a service industry (Hotel)....

Hope after writing this review people can understand the situation of Sterling Resort..... and Mobile Store.. These companies are making fool of all the people... and cheating.. so don’t buy product and services from these companies
regards Vishal

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Vishalhyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2009

We covered the Ahmebabad-Coimbatore route by air and headed towards Kodaikanal by road. It took just four hours drive uphill and we were in Kodai town, 2,133-m high amidst educational institutions and a bustling market of hill-plantain fruits and plums.

The drive down the gymkhana road towards the resort behind the Berijam lake, spread over an area of 24 hectares was a pleasant one. The resort had great reception area. The staff though a bit confused was good. The beautiful flowers in the campus and the infrastructure of the resort looked inviting. We finally settled down in our first floor apartment and tried our best to get things organized in the room. The room service in charges had to be coxed to set up our kitchenette. There was no tea-coffee available in the room as expected in several other resorts we had visited and the kids were tired and hungry. Soon we understood the new rules of this resort which were different as compared to the others that we had visited. But after the initial hiccups and refreshments, we decided to finally explore the campus.

The resort offers a variety of facilities ranging from play area for children, good terrace for camp fires, good activity room and dining area. The kids were having a blast by the evening as soon they found good friends and the ambience was absolutely child friendly. Each day activities were displayed on the board. The food served in the restaurant was good. Walks uphill and down the hotel reception, activity area and the dining room left us with refreshed, oxygen rich lungs.

Kodaikanal is like any other hill station, overcrowded at places, yet beautiful for the nature lovers. We had a great time exploring the woods, the silent valley, dolphin nose, boating in the lake, watching the stud farms …and walking down the town for cheese and marshmallows.

Overall we had a memorable time in Kodai…thanks to the Sterling resorts for all the comfort and care.

  • Stayed: November 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Travelspecial
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2009

The location is excellent, though from some cottages you cant see the lake :(
Rooms are good and service average.
Food good.

  • Stayed: March 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank BJSMumbai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2009

nice hotel amenities are good,market is nearby view is good. only thing if u are with a kid book blankets in advance and for urself too.

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IndiaNatasha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kodaikanal hotels
2.7 mi away
Kodai - By The Valley, A Sterling Holidays Resort
0.9 mi away
Villa Retreat
Villa Retreat
#1 of 78 in Kodaikanal
1,159 reviews
0.9 mi away
Kodai Resort
Kodai Resort
#7 of 78 in Kodaikanal
671 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Carlton
The Carlton
#11 of 78 in Kodaikanal
553 reviews
1.1 mi away
Treebo Altius Nest
Treebo Altius Nest
#8 of 78 in Kodaikanal
324 reviews
3.2 mi away
Great Trails Kodaikanal By GRT Hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kodai - By The Lake, A Sterling Holidays Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kodai - By The Lake, A Sterling Holidays Resort

Address: 44 Gymkhana Road, Kodaikanal 624101, India
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > Dindigul District > Kodaikanal
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Kodaikanal
Price Range: $75 - $160 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Kodai - By The Lake, A Sterling Holidays Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 104
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Kodai - By The Lake, A Sterling Holidays Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sterling Resorts Kodaikanal Lake View Hotel Kodaikanal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing