We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pleasant Experience” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kodai - By The Lake, A Sterling Holidays Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Kodai - By The Lake, A Sterling Holidays Resort
Ranked #8 of 75 Hotels in Kodaikanal
Hyderabad, India
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Pleasant Experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2013

We booked this resort for 4 nights based on a good Rating by Trip Advisor & we are glad we made this choice. Our first experience on arrival at the Resort, after check- in, was an enjoyable ride in the Golf Cart from the Reception to our Room - up the winding pathway lined with green, landscaped lawns & colourful flowers so pleasing to the eye. The Room was clean & well appointed and house keeping staff was always willing to address any concerns we had.
Food at the Multi Cuisine Restaurant was a culinary delight. We tried a different cuisine every day & each of them was a treat made even more enjoyable by courteous & personalised service. Breakfast Buffet (served in a different Restaurant) was a good spread each day though there is a room for improvement as far as service & staff training is concerned. What is heartening, however, is that they were receptive & the Restaurant Manager welcomed & accepted the feedback gracefully promising to take corrective action.
The Resort does not really have a view of the Lake and its "Kodai by the Lake" tag is in fact some what deceptive as one starts expecting to walk on to the Lake Road as you step out of the resort. The fact is that it's a long 20-30 Minute walk to this Central Area or 7 Road Junction etc. If you do not have a transport even for going to this point you would better be in the right Walking Gear.
All said & done, it was an enjoyable experience and we would love to come back again with family/ friends and recommend this to travellers visiting Kodaikanal.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KamalSukhija
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

727 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    311
    271
    82
    35
    28
See reviews for
448
137
5
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (218)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Bangalore
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2013

- My experience @ Kodai - By The Lake was nice and satisfactory.
1. Location: Ease of access - The property is located near the lake.
2. Maintenance: Landscaping is good and the Rooms are maintained properly.
3. Food: Value for Money - I really loved the food and their service was outstanding.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gs_Trips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai (Madras), India
Level Contributor
36 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2013

This hotel is by the lake mean is 500 meters away from the lake and you might not be able to view the lake by any chance from the Hotel. Way to Hotel is really poor. This is called a resort but i dont see this as a resort except for the rooms and this doesn't have place to play or sit and relax. Its just room. They have a play room in the hotel where TT table & carrom is available rest everything is chargeable.

I along with my team had been there for a meeting and leisure trip. We had made booking through corporate desk and asked for a meeting hall for 4 hours. The information was not given to hotel staff and we wasted 3 hours sitting in lobby. Rooms specified by the Corporate Desk and the rooms given by the hotel management were totally different.

But the Room provided was really neat & great. Rooms have heater & Microwave owen.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mailanantha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghaziabad, India
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2013

Great exp at hotel. Stayed for 4 days and experience was really great. Have play area for kids and adults. Very nice and supportive staff. Highly recommended for family trip as this is located at a central place near lake.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Prem_phulara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai, India
Level Contributor
51 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

Kodai by the lake.... a sterling resorts recently refurbished resort.
A class apart from other Hotels or Resorts in Kodai
The Interiors , the Linen, The LCD, The Microwave, The Kettle, The Rocking Chair, The Couch, The toilets, the wall mounted Room Heaters, The Utensils, The battery car, The ATV ... Not one has been missed ... you name it you have it.

Room Tip: Top Rows of cottages... have a great view of Kodai lake
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chennaisats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plano
Level Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2013

The hotel is located centrally and has a reasonable size parking area for cars.

The hotel property has a pleasant landscape. But the access to the hotel, few hundred feet away from the lake, is not that appealing.

The property has a decent play area for kids in the lower level and a variety of holiday activities.

The lunch and dinner buffet at the restaurant is expensive and the food is ok.
The breakfast buffet, included in the room rate, had good selections.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Raj N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2013

Based on a friend's recommendation we stayed at this Resort during our 2 nights trip to Kodai. The Resort is at good location and pretty well built and maintained. We had a small issue during our stay as some bad smell in the room kept us disturbed whole night. Staff tried to hide the reason for such an issue and even pretended to be ignorant about it. While talking to the GM we got to know that they have STP issue and we were left with no choice but to stay in the same room during our second night stay as well. Food is another big issue there and we believe that they really have to do something drastic (may be change the chef) to improve the food quality.

We would also like to highlight that even though a couple of large groups had created ruckus in the dining area and most of the resort , a couple of resort staff took good care of us.

Would recommend people to stay there for location, however please dont have much expectation about food and other services.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vikram S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SterlingHolidays, Owner at Kodai - By The Lake, A Sterling Holidays Resort, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Dear Sir,

Greetings from Sterling Holidays! We are happy to hear your positive comments on our resort location. However we concerned about your disappointment regarding room maintenance and F&B services.

Your feedback has been shared with the resort management and every step is being taken to improve our facilities and services. Quality of the Food we serve is of high priority for us and we strive to ensure that we serve finest quality food and beverages at all the resorts.

Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback. We sincerely hope you will visit us again and give us an opportunity to serve you better.

Sincerely,
The Sterling Holidays Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kodaikanal hotels
2.7 mi away
Kodai - By The Valley, A Sterling Holidays Resort
1.0 mi away
Kodai Resort
Kodai Resort
#3 of 75 in Kodaikanal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 617 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Carlton
The Carlton
#5 of 75 in Kodaikanal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 492 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Hill Country Resorts Kodaikanal
1.5 mi away
Le Poshe by Sparsa
Le Poshe by Sparsa
#2 of 75 in Kodaikanal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 316 reviews
3.2 mi away
GRT Nature Trails - Kodaikanal
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kodai - By The Lake, A Sterling Holidays Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kodai - By The Lake, A Sterling Holidays Resort

Property: Kodai - By The Lake, A Sterling Holidays Resort
Address: 44, Gymkhana Road, Kodaikanal 624101, India
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > Kodaikanal
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Kodaikanal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Kodai - By The Lake, A Sterling Holidays Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 104
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your Kodai - By The Lake, A Sterling Holidays Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sterling Resorts Kodaikanal Lake View Hotel Kodaikanal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing