We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Terrible experience”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Highland Parade

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Highland Parade
Ranked #62 of 75 Hotels in Kodaikanal
India
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Terrible experience”
Reviewed April 16, 2010

Highland Parade- Kodaikanal The Valley Club

Last year we went to Kodaikanal and stayed in this place. It is 7500 ft above the sea level.
The resort is little far from the main bus stand and offered pick-up(no droping) facility for free. The onset when we reached at premises, it was eye catching panoramic view of green valley of kodai.
There we've been alloted a room called deluxe (no A/C). As soon as we entered inside it was stinking allover and full of seepage. I felt like vomiting so my hubby went to reception and asked them to change our room. At this they changed the room but no wonder it was more or less with the same conditions.
We paid them already online for advanced booking and they were not ready to refund the money so couldn't left it. Room service was very unfit as well as food.
There is nothing great about this resort except its location, please avoid it by all means.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank doralovetovisit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    14
    8
    2
    22
See reviews for
34
22
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bangalore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2010

I did not enjoy my stay at this hotel. The ambience is not at all good. One fine morning they started the rennovation of the 1st floor of the room where we were staying in the ground floor. Its terrible. People go to relax & instead they are torturing with horrible sounds. They do not bother to check if guests are staying in any of the rooms in the block. The management is just terrible. It seem that there is no process to follow. Restaurant is not that great & rates are much higher than other good restaurant in Kodaikanal.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank SSaha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Kodaikanal hotels

Mumbai
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2010

the location is among the valleys.

Nice sightseeing spots nearby

Has a restaurant, swimming pool and other recreation facilities

room service is excellent.
overall a great place to spend weekend with family

its a good place for young couples too to spend their romantic weekends

  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank justchilling5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2010

It was good experience, good ambience. Some tough time, but overall it was good experience

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank moorbird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
52 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2009

Had been with my wife to this place as my friend recommended it, the room was nice and big, the views were amazing, i really had some great time with my gf turned to my wife there, the small garden with the view of the valley was cool, but the restaurant was ok the food was managable, i went there to spend some time with my wife iMe and my wife wanted to get to a nice place in India, so made sure that we got some food from outside or ate outside, I would recommend it to people who like scenic views from the room

  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rganti9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2009

Very Very Bad experience ever had in my Life. Complete my travel was screwed,

I have searched on line for the hotel in Kodai, but could not find any. Then i have called one of the Travels person, whose name is SIBI. Initially they played good game with me. For 2 day he told me that there is no room available, but in the last movement he called me and told he got the room, it a resort and very good one. Initially he told it will be Rs 3400 for 2 days stay. I thought ok for 2 days its fine. But after 4 hours he called me and told the rate he told was for one day not for 2 days, then i told just cancel the room booking i dont want to go to Kodai. Then he told i will check and come back to you. after some time he called and told me there is one more room in Highland Parade. but the charges will be 2500 per day, and finally he gave me the room for 3400 for 2 days. I have checked it on line the room charges in this hotel is around 1,200 - 1,400.

Hotel location is very good, but the rooms are very bad, its like some Jantha hotel in bangalore, where you dont have a good Toilets, rather rooms are very bad condition. One instance there is no Power cord to charge your mobile, i asked why there is no power cord in the room, answer is this building is very old thats why we dont have power cord. Food was very bad, its one of the worst fool i ever had. Please Please avoid going to this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank FunnyGuys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chennai
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2007

hi,

Recommending viewers to to a privileged member of Highland Holiday Homes.

1) Front office staff breifing about the resort was excellent at time of check'd in

2) quality and the Quantity of the food was good,

3) Room price was reasonable accordingly,

4) Facilites like in door games was really impressing,

5) Sight seeing organised by the resort manager had a lot off information about kodaikanal.

6) Very prompt & courteous staff's working, helped us in arranging the things needed.

7)I can strongly recommend the viewers to be member of this resort.

Best Regards,

Abisheik.

  • Liked — best location
  • Disliked — none
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank shanChennai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kodaikanal hotels
0.4 mi away
La Flora Highland Paradise Resort
0.2 mi away
Kodai Sunshine Hotel
Kodai Sunshine Hotel
#33 of 75 in Kodaikanal
57 reviews
1.0 mi away
Woodlands Resort
Woodlands Resort
#49 of 75 in Kodaikanal
36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Elephant Valley Eco Farm Hotel
1.4 mi away
TLV Resorts
TLV Resorts
#29 of 75 in Kodaikanal
19 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Carnival Resort
The Carnival Resort
#16 of 75 in Kodaikanal
156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Highland Parade? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Highland Parade

Property: Highland Parade
Address: Kurinji Andavar Koil Side Road | Highland Holiday Home, Kodaikanal 624101, India
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > Kodaikanal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Kodaikanal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Highland Parade 2.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
View is awesome, Good Valley View Room. staff was good and they will helpful . Spacious parking. Quite place with lots of tranquility with a great view from the room itself . 24 hours electricity and hot water through electric geyser. Rooms are bigger as they are traditional. Very Reasonable Pricing. Highly recommended for anyone who like to stay in Kodaikanal very safely ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Highland Parade reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Highland Holiday Home Hotel Kodaikanal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing