We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“As per Price Hotel is Average”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hill Country Kodaikanal
Ranked #18 of 85 Hotels in Kodaikanal
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 8, 2014

The resort is looks good and the ambience is also good. But Food was not up to the mark as compare to the price. Food is very costly. It is better have lunch and dinner outside. Room is also not good as compare to the price. For enjoying any amenitie you have to pay. Too expensive.

Room Tip: Avoid Delux Room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hinglaj S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hill c, Guest Relations Manager at Hill Country Kodaikanal, responded to this reviewResponded November 11, 2014

Thank you sir for the review, it is highly appreciated. We have noted your concerns and would like to mention that our charges with regards to stay and food are at par with any other well maintained resort/ hotel of the same category on a hill station. Every hotel charges for each service/ amenities it provides, we too follow the same norm. However, we view your concerns seriously and will do the needful to enhance the holiday experience of our guests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (404)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

214 - 220 of 404 reviews

Reviewed May 7, 2014

It was a wonderful place to unwind. We enjoyed the resort. It was so relaxing and the service has been fabulous. The staff is very friendly and helpful. The quality and taste of the food is awesome. Buffet dinner had descent spread. The hotel is slightly over priced but seems to be okay for the level of service and maintenance they do.

The lawns are neatly maintained and is a pleasure to sit in the balcony and watch it. They have a minimal outdoor and indoor kids play area. Which needs some attention. Travel desk has been prompt.

Room Tip: Choose the rooms with Valley view. I got the room at 1st floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BijoyKT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hill c, Guest Relations Manager at Hill Country Kodaikanal, responded to this reviewResponded November 11, 2014

We are overjoyed to read your review and to know that you enjoyed your stay at Hill Country. The resort is privileged to serve you and takes pride in knowing that you and your family had a relaxing vacation at the resort. We have noted your concerns and we assure you that prompt action will be taken to make the resort a better place. Thanks for your review, looking to serve again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2014

The resort is looks good and the ambience is very good. My 4 year old son enjoyed running around the resort and playing in the small play area they have. The staff is also quite courteous. But I felt that it somewhere lacks the class for the money we pay. The rooms were definitely not worth the money. For the deluxe room I booked, the room was neat and clean but bit cramped. The dinner buffet was average, but the price you pay for that is overwhelming!

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nitin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hill c, Guest Relations Manager at Hill Country Kodaikanal, responded to this reviewResponded November 11, 2014

Thank you sir for the review, it is appreciated. We are glad to know that you found the resort to be good. We have also noted yours concerns and hence, would like to mention that the charges of the resorts in terms of rooms, food and other services provided are on par with any other well-maintained resort/ hotel of the same category on a hill station. However, we are committed to make the resort a better place and will do everything possible to make the stay of our guests a memorable one.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2014 via mobile

The location was excellent..
The lawn and the resort was maintained very well.. It was so great.... Enjoyed the view.. Place was clean...
Still there were few things which I felt can be done from the management side..
Inspect on the furniture and equipments provided in the room...
TV plug had an issue and it was not solved completely till we check out even after a fix... Not sure either is it not fixed properly or issue with the TV itself
Provide some air fresheners in the bathroom and bedroom
One litre drinking water bottle can be provided as a complimentary..
Sofas were not at all comfortable.. Please replace it..
A TV can be provided inside bedroom also...
Food quality can be improved with regard to the taste... Didn't meet the expectation..
Dining hall/restaurant was too small.. We have to wait on queue for breakfast till the person leaves the table... It was so embrassing position when somebody is looking for you to vacate the place..Breakfast Buffet varieties were good.

Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank maha l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2014

Stayed with my family for two nights at Hill Country, Kodaikanal end of March 2014. Very well maintained resort. A little away from the lake or the centre of Kodaikanal. Can be a plus for some, a minus for some. Cannot expect any great valley views because of the location. Chose to have food outside apart from complimentary breakfast as we felt it was expensive. Our cottage was very neat and well furnished. Overall had a pleasant experience at the resort.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Rajesh B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hill c, Guest Relations Manager at Hill Country Kodaikanal, responded to this reviewResponded November 12, 2014

Thank you sir for the review, it is highly appreciated. We are glad to know that you enjoyed the stay at the resort. Looking forward to serve you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2014

This was the worst experience that we have had as members of Club Mahindra. Hill Country is an affiliate resort that has some rooms set aside for Club Mahindra members. We had booked a studio. The room overlooked a hill that was being used to dump old playground items....very disappointing. We were told that this was part of the rooms put aside for us members.
This is an extremely basic resort that does not match up to the others run by Club Mahindra. The linen used in this resort is very old and tired...the towels are threadbare in places. Very expensive food of average quality.
No signs are posted anywhere in Kodai, it is thus a complete adventure just finding the place! The staff is very nice and courteous but the resort disappoints overall.

Room Tip: The studios for Club Mahindra members are very disappointing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Suparna-Sudeep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2014

The Hotel location is the best. Nice view, food. An overall execellent stay. Hotel staff is nice. But need to improve on language. Most do not understand hindi. But thats ok.

I would recommend my friends and family to stay.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AdnanAbedi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hill c, Guest Relations Manager at Hill Country Kodaikanal, responded to this reviewResponded November 12, 2014

Thank you sir for the review, it is highly appreciated. We are glad that you had an awesome experience at the resort. Looking forward to serve you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kodaikanal hotels
0.3 mi away
Sterling Kodai Valley
Sterling Kodai Valley
#11 of 85 in Kodaikanal
535 reviews
2.7 mi away
Villa Retreat
Villa Retreat
#1 of 85 in Kodaikanal
1,231 reviews
2.8 mi away
Sterling Kodai Lake
Sterling Kodai Lake
#8 of 85 in Kodaikanal
885 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
The Carlton
The Carlton
#5 of 85 in Kodaikanal
638 reviews
0.4 mi away
Great Trails Kodaikanal By GRT Hotels
2.1 mi away
Hotel Kodai International
Hotel Kodai International
#16 of 85 in Kodaikanal
379 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hill Country Kodaikanal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hill Country Kodaikanal

Address: Attuvampatti, Kodaikanal 624101, India
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > Dindigul District > Kodaikanal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Kodaikanal
#4 Spa Hotel in Kodaikanal
#8 Romantic Hotel in Kodaikanal
Price Range: $50 - $220 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hill Country Kodaikanal 3.5*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Step into a world of timeless charm at the Hill Country Holiday Resort, Kodaikanal. Indulge in a luxurious escape to this exquisite 5 acre, country-style retreat set amidst lush greenery, with a breathtaking view of the breathtaking Palani Hills. Prepare to be inspired and don't forget to pack your cameras! Delight in our pampering facilities and traditional Ayurvedic Wellness Center and Spa. Flexible when it comes to offering comprehensive variety of tours and tailor made packages. From adventure to romantic getaways, M.I.C.E (Meetings, Incentives, Conferences, Exhibitions) or just some quality time away with the family, you'll find everything you need right here at Hill Country Kodaikanal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your Hill Country Kodaikanal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hill Country Resorts Kodaikanal Hotel Kodaikanal
Hill Country Hotel Kodai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing