We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Horrible experience at hill country”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hill Country Resorts Kodaikanal
Ranked #17 of 78 Hotels in Kodaikanal
Certificate of Excellence
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Horrible experience at hill country”
Reviewed April 17, 2014

Very expensive!!! horrible rooms. Drainage leaking, bulbs not working pathetic rooms!!! Please spend your money in some other property. Food is very expensive and no variety, this place is far from the city and you will feel you are trapped!!!!

Room Tip: Avoid this plance
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Srivathsan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hill c, Guest Relations Manager at Hill Country Resorts Kodaikanal, responded to this review, November 17, 2014
We sincerely regret the inconvenience faced you during your stay at the resort. We want to assure you that the staff at the resort were questioned about your concerns. We would also like to mention here that we checked through all of our maintenance records and we haven't found any compliant placed by you regarding drainage leaks or change of bulbs during your stay at the resort. Also, the charges of the resort for the services it provides are similar to any other resort/hotel of the same category on a hill station. However, we see your concerns seriously and will do the needful to make the stay of our guests a comfortable and memorable one. Thank you Sir for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

391 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    169
    130
    65
    14
    13
See reviews for
204
90
4
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi, India
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2014

I was here for 2 nights in Mar'14 thru Club Mahindra. It was a wonderful stay with an amazing Bon fire and DJ arranged for the night. The emcee who made us play games was very good. The food was amazing and was value for money. Excellent location, away from the normal hustle bustle with a great view of the valley & mountains.

Room Tip: Look for cottages and garden facing rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sumeet_chadha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hill c, Guest Relations Manager at Hill Country Resorts Kodaikanal, responded to this review, November 12, 2014
Thank you sir for the review, it is of immense value to us. We are overjoyed to read your fantastic holiday experience at Hill Country. Looking forward to serve you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyderabad, India
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 13, 2014

The resort was built with a rich inspiration from western- English art. Loved the property.
The service quality was just good.
I recommend going with Sterling resorts,instead of going with this resort.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Prasanth S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2014

We stayed in this hotel for 2 days and believe me it was worth spending money in this hotel. Excellent room, very well behaved and helpful hotel staff, excellent view.
The only drawback which I felt was the quality of food in their restaurant. The price is too high as compared to the quality of food which was very ordinary, so we forced ourselves to eat outside after we had dinner on day 1.
The best part is the location of the hotel and the view from the room, it is very far from the Kodai town. You would actually be seeing the whole valley when you open the window curtain from your room. I would definitely recommend this hotel for staying when you visit Kodaikanal. But my personal suggestion is to eat outside in Kodai town restaurnat which I felt served much better quality food at lower cost.

Room Tip: I stayed in one of the deluxe rooms and I was very satisfied with the room and the view from the win...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank deblin18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hill c, Guest Relations Manager at Hill Country Resorts Kodaikanal, responded to this review, November 12, 2014
Thank you sir for the review, it is greatly appreciated. Your review will help us improve our services and also help us make the stay of our guests at the resort a memorable one. We will sure address your concerns about the food quality and make it better. We are thrilled to know that you had an excellent stay at Hill Country and we are looking forward to serve you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bangalore
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2014

stayed at Hill Country, Kodai with my family for 2 nights, 8th to 10th March 2014, amazing resort hotel, impeccable maintenance and seems like time stands still here.
Villas are refurbished I guess, quite cosy and comfortable. view is not great as its in a valley but not a major drawback as such, the mountains seen from reception area and common areas make up for lack of view.
Food quality and presentation is top class but expensive. decent indoor game options, nice place to do nothing.
would love to return.....

Bhaskar Reddy
9900237554

Room Tip: D-6 where i stayed had a good view, else choose the ones that are little higher up for improved view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bhaskarmr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hill c, Guest Relations Manager at Hill Country Resorts Kodaikanal, responded to this review, November 12, 2014
We are so overjoyed to read your review and to know that you enjoyed your vacation at Hill Country. It is the encouraging words of guests like you which adds value to the resort and we greatly appreciate it. Thank you sir for the review, it is of immense value to us. Looking forward to serve you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 14, 2014

I have stayed two days in Feb 16th and 17th in deluxe room and have mixed feelings.
What is not good:
1. Nearly 5 to 6 kms away from city
2. Room cleaning and maintenance is not up to the park, toilet are really bad smelling
3. We can take one bucket hot water a.t a time and needs to wait 20 to 30 mins to take other bucket of hot water
4.Room service boys also disturbed for knocking my door twice and thrice for others orders
5. They kept dustbins, cots and cleaning items in front of main door of room, this is not exepected

Whats Good
1. Breakfast is good
2. garden is good though it is small

Overall I can say not worth for the money

Room Tip: Deluxe rooms here are not good
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kprasadarao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore
1 review
Reviewed March 8, 2014

Location - 6-7 Km from the City Center. Located at downhill with a beautiful valley view. Difficult to come back to hotel, late in the evening. Kodai Resort would have been a better choice considering location( located in city centre ,beside coakers walk).
Food - Since the hotel is in remote location therefore you need to be dependent on Hotel. Food Quality is very good, but bit expensive.
Rooms - Well, i personally feel, the tariff is way too high considering the interiors of the rooms, the Deluxe rooms are very basic, no wooden flooring, ordinary bath fittings, small size rooms. CRT TV etc.
Amenities - Snooker ( very ordinary table) and PlayStation(CRT TV) are chargeable. TT, Carrom, Chess and Snakes and Ladders are FREE!!

Overall an expensive deal.


  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amit N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kodaikanal hotels
2.7 mi away
Villa Retreat
Villa Retreat
#1 of 78 in Kodaikanal
1,144 reviews
2.8 mi away
Kodai - By The Lake, A Sterling Holidays Resort
2.6 mi away
Kodai Resort
Kodai Resort
#5 of 78 in Kodaikanal
665 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Kodai - By The Valley, A Sterling Holidays Resort
2.5 mi away
The Carlton
The Carlton
#11 of 78 in Kodaikanal
530 reviews
1.8 mi away
Treebo Altius Nest
Treebo Altius Nest
#8 of 78 in Kodaikanal
318 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hill Country Resorts Kodaikanal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hill Country Resorts Kodaikanal

Property: Hill Country Resorts Kodaikanal
Address: Attuvampatti, Kodaikanal 624101, India
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > Dindigul District > Kodaikanal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Kodaikanal
#4 Spa Hotel in Kodaikanal
#8 Romantic Hotel in Kodaikanal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Step into a world of timeless charm at the Hill Country Holiday Resort, Kodaikanal. Indulge in a luxurious escape to this exquisite 5 acre, country-style retreat set amidst lush greenery, with a breathtaking view of the breathtaking Palani Hills. Prepare to be inspired and don't forget to pack your cameras! Delight in our pampering facilities and traditional Ayurvedic Wellness Center and Spa. Flexible when it comes to offering comprehensive variety of tours and tailor made packages. From adventure to romantic getaways, M.I.C.E (Meetings, Incentives, Conferences, Exhibitions) or just some quality time away with the family, you'll find everything you need right here at Hill Country Kodaikanal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your Hill Country Resorts Kodaikanal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hill Country Resorts Kodaikanal Hotel Kodaikanal
Hill Country Hotel Kodai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing