We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Kodaikanal Beauty in a Resort”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hill Country Resorts Kodaikanal
Ranked #19 of 78 Hotels in Kodaikanal
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 7, 2013

We had not planned but happened to end up in the Hill Country resort on our trip to Kodaikanal. No doubt it is one of the most expensive resorts in the town but the location is magnificent. A must visit to all nature lovers in the town. While the rooms were expensive for 6.5K per night and were too small for the price. The food was ok and the restaurant was small.. could not accomodate a full capacity guests! Nopt much of recreational activity available. They usually charge you for almost everything you want to do.. like playing badminton or table tennis! But it was so beautiful outside that the scenic beauty makes you forget all what you dint get or are complaining about! You could literally see the clouds over you within the resort. Weather was amazing in month of June-july when monsoons just hit the place. In the end it was nothing but a soothing beautiful experience.

Room Tip: Any room apart from the default deluxe room would be better as this room has space just for a bed a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank piyubht
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (395)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

262 - 268 of 395 reviews

Reviewed June 5, 2013

it was a perfect stay at the wonderfull resort.... The hospitality at the resort is worth experiencing,and the beautiful garden with a sprawling photogenic environment......!!!
away from the main town..but is good when you want to relax .... thanks to trip advisor....

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank koppolusuhas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hill c, Guest Relations Manager at Hill Country Resorts Kodaikanal, responded to this reviewResponded November 24, 2014

Thank you sir for the review, it is highly appreciated. We are glad that you had a memorable holiday experience at Hill Country. Looking forward to serve you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2013

The place has the best scenic beauty and the place is so cool and charming...The service seems to be the best. Once u reach nearby the hotel, the officials will come and receive u, the food service is on time and really have a variety day wise. The bone fire is awesome to enjoy. The children could find enough ems to place with them. The plantation of trees and plants gave a special input for enhancing its beauty........

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PROJJAL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hill c, Guest Relations Manager at Hill Country Resorts Kodaikanal, responded to this reviewResponded November 19, 2014

We are overjoyed to read your review, we take pride in knowing that you enjoyed your stay at Hill Country, it was our pleasure to serve you. Thank you for the feedback, it is of immense value to us. We look forward to see you again at the resort soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2013

It's a resort about 6 Km away from main Kodaikanal town. The calm and quiet atmosphere is very heartening. The resort is surrounded by hills and during our stay we could see the clouds virtually touching us. The temperatures went down to about 14 degrees after a short burst of rain. We regretted that we did not carry any warm clothing thinking that it was the month of May and it would not be that cold.

The studio rooms where we stayed were good enough for two people. They are a little longish in shape (a little square shape would have been better). It had amenities like mini-fridge, microwave oven, room heater, stand for drying the clothes, utensils, cutlery etc. A small balcony could have been fascinating and would have been a great way to enjoy the hilly surroundings. The bed, linen and bathroom was very clean and spotless.

The food in the restaurant was very tasty. The south indian varieties were par-excellence with a choice of chutneys to go with the idlis, vadas and dosas. The sambar and rassam was a treat to the vegetarian guests. For the non-veg eaters, there was chicken chettinad, mutton rogan josh. Fish lovers would suffer a disappointment - it's not a seashore hotel, guys. The food of course is pretty expensive as the management must be taking advantage of the remote location. There is no way you can go to the main town as there are no auto rikshas or taxis you would get in a city like Mumbai, Chennai, Pune, Bangalore or Kolkata. If you must go to the town, you have to hire a cab from the hotel and lighten your pockets by a minimum of Rs. 400.

There are no attractions closer to the hotel. The lake is around 6 Kms and it takes 20 minutes to negotiate the traffic and reach there. For all other attractions you have to hire taxis provides by Raja's Travels (Prop. Abudeen Raja - Cell No. 9842144223 - they have a travel desk at the resort and provide taxis for all types of tours).

Room Tip: All rooms are good. The studio rooms are longish ut good. The minimum tariff (peak season) is Rs. 62...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nitinbrahma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013

This resport is situated at a distance away from the the Kodaikanal town center. But is good when you want to relax and be away from all the hustle . Superb location. Good furnished rooms. The rooms were hygenic and comfortable. The food was also good. Not much variety though. The breakfast is part of the plan and is excellent. There is sn excellent entrtainment committe. WE enjoyed ourselves during the Bon fire and the Karaoke. There is ample space for outdoor games like tennis , children play area . The indoor games is also good with sufficient games like table tennis, chess, carrom,etc.

Note -- the approach road is not very good but is totally worth the 15 mins extra drive.

Room Tip: There is No fan or AC inside the rooms . Its not required ...you can just leave the window open a li...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SudhaPonnalagar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hill c, Guest Relations Manager at Hill Country Resorts Kodaikanal, responded to this reviewResponded November 24, 2014

Thank you Madam for the review, it is highly appreciated. We are glad that you had a memorable holiday experience at Hill Country. Looking forward to serve you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2013

It was our honeymoon and we were thinking of visiting Maldives with later got curbed because of some unavoidable circumstances. But as it was, we had to go someplace ! With reluctance in our hearts, we left for Kodaikanal and just randomly, thanks to TripAdvisor, went for Hill Country Resort. It was, as I think , about 5kms from the Kodai lake. Secluded, rested in peace, and literally! The awesome view of the mountains, the green grass, the beautiful flowers around with all the 256 colors I can imagine (Yes I am an IT engineer), was simply ecstasy at its best ! We roamed around the town (which was a bit boring comparatively, I have to admit) and then walked downhill all the way back with all the alacrity in our heart could consume , only to find a camp-fire lit up, with an audacious but pro performer, conducting light events, gathering each and everybody there ! Have to be one of the bestest moments of my life , with my wife ! :)

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ashutosh_86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2013

Hill Country is one of best option if you are planning a trip to Kodai. We had a nice reception on arrival. The package we went on was awesome. The rooms were clean and spacious. The hospitality at the resort is worth experiencing. It has a beautiful garden with a sprawling photogenic environment. Children Play area and the beautiful lawn are the highlight of this place..We stayed here on Mar 2010..

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kalaignar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kodaikanal hotels
2.8 mi away
Kodai - By The Lake, A Sterling Holidays Resort
2.6 mi away
Kodai Resort
Kodai Resort
#5 of 78 in Kodaikanal
679 reviews
0.3 mi away
Kodai - By The Valley, A Sterling Holidays Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
The Carlton
The Carlton
#10 of 78 in Kodaikanal
572 reviews
0.4 mi away
Great Trails Kodaikanal By GRT Hotels
1.8 mi away
Treebo Altius Nest
Treebo Altius Nest
#8 of 78 in Kodaikanal
330 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hill Country Resorts Kodaikanal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hill Country Resorts Kodaikanal

Address: Attuvampatti, Kodaikanal 624101, India
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > Dindigul District > Kodaikanal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Kodaikanal
#4 Spa Hotel in Kodaikanal
#8 Romantic Hotel in Kodaikanal
Price Range: $56 - $233 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Step into a world of timeless charm at the Hill Country Holiday Resort, Kodaikanal. Indulge in a luxurious escape to this exquisite 5 acre, country-style retreat set amidst lush greenery, with a breathtaking view of the breathtaking Palani Hills. Prepare to be inspired and don't forget to pack your cameras! Delight in our pampering facilities and traditional Ayurvedic Wellness Center and Spa. Flexible when it comes to offering comprehensive variety of tours and tailor made packages. From adventure to romantic getaways, M.I.C.E (Meetings, Incentives, Conferences, Exhibitions) or just some quality time away with the family, you'll find everything you need right here at Hill Country Kodaikanal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hill Country Resorts Kodaikanal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hill Country Resorts Kodaikanal Hotel Kodaikanal
Hill Country Hotel Kodai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing