We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a decent & peaceful retreat”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hill Country Kodaikanal
Ranked #19 of 86 Hotels in Kodaikanal
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 5, 2012

good location n architecture ...better to go there as a group of atleast two famlies cos it is aloof n pretty lonely.food was pretty good & the kids can have some entertainment with t.t ,pool & gaming zone.all pretty well maintained.

need to improve the staff in nos & also quality

Room Tip: all rooms i guess are pretty much same ...there are deluxe rooms for 4 pacs which will be very spaci...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank vivas123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hill c, Guest Relations Manager at Hill Country Kodaikanal, responded to this reviewResponded November 24, 2014

Thank you sir for the review, it is highly appreciated. We are glad that you had a memorable holiday experience at Hill Country. Looking forward to serve you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (404)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

315 - 321 of 404 reviews

Reviewed October 8, 2012

I had my trip on the last weekend. The resort is very good with beautiful landscaping. The view of the hill especially sunset and sunrise from the room is amazing. The food is tasty and other facilities such as spa & indoor games makes it more enjoying.

I also want to mention that the staff are helpful and flexible. they allowed us late checkout which made our trip more comfortable.

On the negative side, its a bit away from the city which can be positive for those who want to enjoy the serene and calm atmosphere and good view. Overall it was a wonderful experience staying in the resort.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank abhikedia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2012

We are member of club mahindra and recently went to kodai and stayed in hill country. But sorry to say this, their service is not at all good as club mahindra, particularily they are very poor in welcoming guest and the most worst thing is no proper guy( not well trained ) in the reception and also they dont know how to treat the guest, ( your treatment will be very worst when you are checking out ). Rooms are ok but very minimal accessories, everything we have ask daily to provide otherwise they don't keep. Resturant they charge more for buffet but with very less dish. Finally my conclusion is, this resort does not fit for club mahindra status and i got disappointment very much with reception while checking out.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank suganya70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2012

The Good( would deserve a 4 rating on account of these)
1. Excellent view of the mountains and passing by clouds and mist - as a city dweller this kind of view really warms the cockles of your heart and is so refreshing
2. Rooms comfortable and well maintained. complimentary coffee/ tea and minimal bathroom accessories( pretty less for a 4 star property)
3. big property with ample space to walk at leisure.
4. Food very nice and tastefully prepared.
5. friendly hotel staff with some exceptions
6. Has a ayurvedic massage center
7. Hotel arranges for some group activities on weekends like bonfire, disco

The bad( 3 rating)
1. Sporting facilites(table tennis, carrom, chess) are not well maintained.
2. You got to pay for certain sporting facilities( like pool/ fussball table). crazy!
3. Food/ drink is expensive( this is one area the hotel does not miss out on showing its a 4 star property)

The Ugly( 2 rating)
1. resort is 6km from Kodai city. Each time you want to travel to the city you get fleeced by the taxi charges( 200 bucks for one way). How does the resort survive I am not sure.
2. It advertises on travel sites as having a bar when in fact there is none. They serve alcohol only as room service.
3. Business center is a farce. They have an old looking table that mounts a rather outdated PC - another advertisement stunt.
4. Had problems with the tariff plan I opted for. It wasnt clear what you are being charged for. Also the Deluxe room i opted for had no sofa set which is advertised on makemytrip as room facilities

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Ashutosh A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2012

We are club mahindra members and so stayed at this resort. Very disappointed as club mahindra has downgraded itself by linking up with this resort. It does not have the high standard of club mahindra. We have stayed in munnar, coorg, goa . They were excellent! To start with the reception itself is nothing,there are no brochers,no proper seating. At the suite,The bathrooms are pathetic. The so called kitchenette is very poor in supplies of cutlery. No wipes or dish soaps etc. the guest bed in the living is awful and not at all comfortable. The position of TV to seating is bad. The TV channels are pathetic. Worst is the resturant. The food prices are exhorbitant! Thank god we did not bring a guest. With Club mahindra in mind we went and were terribly disappointed. The property is excellent,though, but the rooms, resturant etc are not.

Room Tip: It is not suitable for seniors at all. As club mahindra has some rooms only which are away from the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vasanti51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2012

Resort is 6km away from the noise of kodai city bus stand on pallangi road. The resort welcomes you with a awesome view of the valley. The elevation and setting inside the resort is really nice. We stayed in the deluxe room and was decently spaced. The travel desk at the resort arranged sight seeing at nominal price. As mentioned by previous reviewers the food is a big let down due the price tag attached to it. Buffet breakfast costs approx 450 rupees per person which is not worth for the spread offered. All items are priced really high. Room service was pathetic. You need to constantly ping and remind them of your requests. Some basic necessities like hot water kettle and hair dryer were not available in the room and you need to ask for it. The bar menu sucks big time. They took an hour and 4 reminders to send a bottle of beer. Despite the minor glitches we loved the stay and enjoyed every bit of the nature.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank kalpskris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hill c, Guest Relations Manager at Hill Country Kodaikanal, responded to this reviewResponded November 24, 2014

Thank you sir for the review, it is highly appreciated. We are glad that you had a memorable holiday experience at Hill Country. We have noted your concerns and assure you that the needful will be done to provide our guests the best holiday experience. Looking forward to serve you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2012

I booked this online after reading the good reviews and looking at the pictures and while it was nice I expected more from it based on the other reviews.

What was nice: The location is very nice. It is a group of semi connected buildings overlooking the valley. The buildings themselves are very attractive, made from stone. The landscaping and gardening is wonderful. We saw many lovely and interesting plants. We also worked with the travel desk (Rajas Travel) (I think the man's name was Korto) to book cars for our touring. He was very helpful and one of the friendliest people there, although I am not sure he actually worked for the hotel. Room service was fast and good.

What needs improvement: The rooms are outdated and there is no comfortable way to watch TV, fortunately we did not want to watch much. The bed is not the most comfortable and as it was cold, there were not enough blankets for warmth and only two pillows for two people which made it hard to sit up and read. The complimentary WIFI was only available in the main lodge and did not consistently work, and to make matters worse there was no place in the main lodge to relax, with a coffee or beer and surf the web. The building was sorely lacking comfortable chairs and tables. Finally the complimentary breakfast was the most sparse selection of any place I have stayed. The coffee was terrible, too thin or too thick.

Overall I would rate this as an average. I have stayed in nicer places and would expect more from this place based on the way they present themselves.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jswTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kodaikanal hotels
0.3 mi away
Sterling Kodai Valley
Sterling Kodai Valley
#12 of 86 in Kodaikanal
535 reviews
2.7 mi away
Villa Retreat
Villa Retreat
#1 of 86 in Kodaikanal
1,231 reviews
2.8 mi away
Sterling Kodai Lake
Sterling Kodai Lake
#8 of 86 in Kodaikanal
890 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
The Carlton
The Carlton
#5 of 86 in Kodaikanal
638 reviews
0.4 mi away
Great Trails Kodaikanal By GRT Hotels
2.1 mi away
Hotel Kodai International
Hotel Kodai International
#16 of 86 in Kodaikanal
379 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hill Country Kodaikanal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hill Country Kodaikanal

Address: Attuvampatti, Kodaikanal 624101, India
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > Dindigul District > Kodaikanal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Kodaikanal
#4 Spa Hotel in Kodaikanal
#8 Romantic Hotel in Kodaikanal
Price Range: $49 - $219 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hill Country Kodaikanal 3.5*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Step into a world of timeless charm at the Hill Country Holiday Resort, Kodaikanal. Indulge in a luxurious escape to this exquisite 5 acre, country-style retreat set amidst lush greenery, with a breathtaking view of the breathtaking Palani Hills. Prepare to be inspired and don't forget to pack your cameras! Delight in our pampering facilities and traditional Ayurvedic Wellness Center and Spa. Flexible when it comes to offering comprehensive variety of tours and tailor made packages. From adventure to romantic getaways, M.I.C.E (Meetings, Incentives, Conferences, Exhibitions) or just some quality time away with the family, you'll find everything you need right here at Hill Country Kodaikanal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire and Priceline so you can book your Hill Country Kodaikanal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hill Country Resorts Kodaikanal Hotel Kodaikanal
Hill Country Hotel Kodai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing